1/14 Hogan PMPS 136, +2 131

Hogan

Member Since 2018
Yesterday's post

Hogan's doing very well, he was able to stay low last night and so far today without any HC treats.

Should I stick with his current dose? I know I could have lowered to .50U yesterday, but I wanted to see if I could stay one more day to let the prior higher doses drain. My thinking is to stick with .75U and if he goes low tonight, then I'll decrease to .50U tomorrow morning.
 
Was there much intervention last night with LC or MC food? Because you have lots of data for the short time you have been doing this dance, if he didn't need much intervention for those numbers last night and you are available tonight to monitor - I would hold for 1 more cycle at the .75u and if you get another 80ish number then decrease. By then the numbers are more related to the .75u dose then the 1u dose.

When Jones first started and went down the dosing scale he didn't like to hold the new dose long but the advice I was given always seemed to be to try to hold 6 cycles after a reduction unless he told me otherwise. Which most time he did! ECID though.
 
Like Hogan, Felix was very reluctant to switch to canned. There were about fifty things he looked at as if they weren't food before he finally accepted the one Wellness Core flavor he'll eat, and he still needs FortiFlora on it. Before that, when I needed to get carbs in him quickly, I found he'd eat Greenies with Karo syrup drizzled over them.

Sorry you didn't get any HC treats, Hogan! Keep trying!
Purrs,
Felix
 
Was there much intervention last night with LC or MC food? Because you have lots of data for the short time you have been doing this dance, if he didn't need much intervention for those numbers last night and you are available tonight to monitor - I would hold for 1 more cycle at the .75u and if you get another 80ish number then decrease. By then the numbers are more related to the .75u dose then the 1u dose.

When Jones first started and went down the dosing scale he didn't like to hold the new dose long but the advice I was given always seemed to be to try to hold 6 cycles after a reduction unless he told me otherwise. Which most time he did! ECID though.

Thanks for your advice! I let him graze, so he sort of managed himself in that he would go eat a little of his LC food when he had a green. But I didn't give any MC or HC food.

I will hold the .75U dose then, I definitely see the benefit of trying to hold it for at least 3 cycles.
 
Like Hogan, Felix was very reluctant to switch to canned. There were about fifty things he looked at as if they weren't food before he finally accepted the one Wellness Core flavor he'll eat, and he still needs FortiFlora on it. Before that, when I needed to get carbs in him quickly, I found he'd eat Greenies with Karo syrup drizzled over them.

Sorry you didn't get any HC treats, Hogan! Keep trying!
Purrs,
Felix

It's funny, I noticed your signature after about a week here, and thought "Hmm, Hogan and Felix definitely have similar dietary "likes", I should try some of that Wellness Core she has listed, and wrote it down"! But I couldn't find it at the specialty pet store near me. I will ask them about it, maybe they were just out when I was there as they seem to carry every brand I've read about on here. The minor successes I've had with the frozen and freeze dried raw are turkey, so I'm thinking he might like the Wellness Core you have listed.
 
I was just looking at your SS and noticed that you didn't reduce and this post explained why. The 1 unit was only for 3 cycles . Usually it takes about 4 for a depot to fill. This is the 5th cycle on .75 so this depot should be stable now. You test plenty so I am sure you will catch another under 90.

Hogan is looking really really good!
 
I just read that it's national dress up your pet day, so here's my contribution.

upload_2019-1-14_20-42-2.png
 
Back
Top