1/14 Eddie - PMPS = 325, +3 = 220, +5 = 195, + 7 = 163

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=111813

Ok Eddie,

This number is great, but I can't push you back off schedule too far!! Any suggestions?? He's been having 14-hour shot duration recently.

AMBG (which is +12 from PM shot) = 125
AMBG + 0.5 = 149
AMBG +1 = 136 - NO SHOT
+10 = 302 (not bad considering no insulin today!)
PMPS = 325 (eyeballed 1.6U)
+3 = 220
+5 = 195
+7 = 163
 
Re: 1/14 Eddie - AMBG - 125 - no shot

I think you've got to skip unless he really jumps before you leave. Then you could try what we call a checken $&@? Dose - a smaller amount that you feel won't take him too low while you are gone. (Sort of like your .8 the other night?

We can keep dropping the dose every time you get a shootable dose. I wonder if his pancreas is helping out a little bit every so often....Ormwhether his pattern with a dose that is too high is a long cycle rather than a low nadir.
 
Re: 1/14 Eddie - AMBG - 125 - no shot

Thanks Sue. I had to feed everyone and leave. I'm guessing he'll pop back up at about +14. Poor guy. I hate letting him sit in high numbers all day, but I don't dare shoot on those numbers without being able to monitor.

I was secretly wondering about the possibility of his P kicking in from time to time as well, but was afraid to say it out loud for fear of jinxing it, if in fact that is the case. I sure hope so, but I don't want to hope too hard on that yet :)

I was all prepared to wear my patience pants while he adjusted to the lower 1.75U dose, but then he's unshootable this morning! What a complicated kitty! He has had low nadirs, late nadirs, and extended duration on the shots. It seems like he's settle into a pattern for a couple days, then do something completely different.

On the upside, his clinical symptoms are so much better. Way less peeing, he's not ravenous all the time, his coat looks much better and he's grooming himself and his roommates like he used to, and he's more active and playful. He even ventured up to the top of the cat stand, which used to be his hangout, which he stopped doing when he started feeling unwell. He used to be the "top" cat, and I hope eventually he is able to return to his rightful place in charge. :)

I'm wondering if he is in fact getting 14 hours for some reason, and if we could consistently see that he is popping back up at +14, if we could safely shoot at +12 while he's still below 200 to try to get some overlap and avoid letting him bounce up into the high numbers for a number of hours until the next shot kicks in. I would not dare try this unless it were over a weekend and we could monitor very closely. See if we could get the ProZinc to overlap like the L insulins. What do you think?
 
Re: 1/14 Eddie - AMBG - 125 - no shot

The whole cat report is excellent. Sounds like he is feeling better!

My best guess is that he needs a little less insulin - that his body is constantly adjusting favorably to the insulin and the diet and he just is consistently requiring less insulin.. When you get the U100s I'd try 1.6 and see what that does. It could be that the 1.5 would work better now than it did early also.

Long cycles most often reflect a higher dose than needed. His pancreas could be jumping in at the end of the cycle, but we usually see that at lower doses, when they seem clearly headed off the juice. Not to say that Eddie couldn't be dancing to his own song!

You could start shooting at lower preshots but we usually suggest that when he is below one unit and you have more data. Shooting one unit at 170 is a different ball game than shooting .2 at 170.
 
Re: 1/14 Eddie - AMBG - 125 - no shot

Great thanks Sue! Would you suggest that I put on the patience pants and continue shooting the 1.75 to see if he settles into it, or moving down to the 1.6 (or an eyeballed fat 1.5 if the U100's haven't arrived) this evening, assuming he's bounced back up?

Thank you for your guidance!
 
Re: 1/14 Eddie - AMBG - 125 - no shot

Depending on your pmps. If he is sky high in the 400s+, probably the 1.75. If he is in the 200-300 range, I might try the lower dose, since the 1.75 on a 374 gave you low numbers this am.
 
Re: 1/14 Eddie - AMBG - 125, +10 = 302

DH just got home and checked BG, and at +10 following no insulin this AM, Eddie is at 302. Not as bad as I expected given he didn't get insulin this morning.

Can we shoot him now and if so, go with the lower 1.6?
 
Re: 1/14 Eddie - AMBG - 125, +10 = 302

You can but your shot in the am could be off. You want to give him 12 hours with the numbers you've been getting
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top