1/14 Chispa, 104 AMPS, 125 PMPS, 98 +3

She is diving to the 60s and then bouncing from there. Does she get food at +1 and +2? If yes, you might want to try feeding higher carbs at +1 to reduce the drop at onset. Does she get the RC later in the cycle (after nadir) - that could also contribute to reducing the duration and higher preshots.

Is she getting a 1:4 mix of RC and Weruva like your signature says?
 
Last edited:
Hi Bhooma -- thanks for this. She gets food after her shots (+0) and at +2. I was also feeding at +1 for a while, but it didn't seem to make a difference in the numbers, so I stopped.

I'm still feeding her 1:4 RC (@16%):Weruva (@4%) -- I think that comes out to about 6.5% carbs if my math is correct. I mix them together in storage containers and portion it out so she can't pick out the shredded chicken and leave the RC (it also helps me to keep track of her calories).

I'll try adding an extra spoonful of RC to her feedings that happen early in the cycle to see if that helps.
 
Did we discuss further reducing the % of RC a few weeks back? Is that an option or does her tummy not like it?
 
Her tummy doesn't like it. I've tried reducing gradually, but it's as if there's a certain threshold of minimum RC needed, and as soon as it drops below that she gets diarrhea.

I also found out in her latest bloodwork that her creatinine had gone up to 2.6 -- it was 1.3 in July and had been pretty much steady since she was diagnosed with CKD in 2020. Her SDMA was in the normal range (8) and they haven't done a urinalysis yet (will do when she goes in for dental in early Feb.), but I have been wondering if she became destabilized because I stopped feeding her the kidney diet. Maybe that's just superstition on my part, I don't know, but it's been on my mind.
 
I’m not up to speed on all things ckd but I wonder if adding phosphate binders to her food may help? It seems like it would be worth looking into. Also, it’s possible her creatinine went up since she is needing a dental, so maybe would improve after she gets it? :bighug:
https://felinecrf.org/phosphorus_binders.htm
Thanks, Jackie — it’s a good suggestion, and I actually had her on phosphorus binders for a while, but they told me to stop because her phosphorus levels were actually low. I asked about it again when I got this report, but they said no, her levels were still on the low end of normal, so no binders.

It crossed my mind too that maybe the dental cleaning would restore the balance. That’s my hope; anyway. Her SDMA is still solidly normal; hopefully that’s a good sign (?) …
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Jackie — it’s a good suggestion, and I actually had her on phosphorus binders for a while, but they told me to stop because her phosphorus levels were actually low. I asked about it again when I got this report, but they said no, her levels were still on the low end of normal, so no binders.

It crossed my mind too that maybe the dental cleaning would restore the balance. That’s my hope; anyway. Her SDMA is still solidly normal; hopefully that’s a good sign (?) …
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I’m glad her phosphorous isn’t high, and it sounds like you are doing exactly what she needs! I’m glad her SDMA is still normal, that sounds like a good sign for sure. Fingers crossed the dental helps her FD and brings down her Creatinine. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top