1/14 Bryce AMPS 375

Status
Not open for further replies.

Debbie and Bryce

Member Since 2010
New Lantus user - initial BG drop, now spiking. Broke into dry box & bag of breadsticks. Feed more? Keep increasing insulin? Did staying on Vetusin too long really hurt her?
 
Debbie and Bryce said:
New Lantus user - initial BG drop, now spiking. Broke into dry box & bag of breadsticks. Feed more? Keep increasing insulin? Did staying on Vetusin too long really hurt her?


Hello Debbie! Welcome to Lantus Land!

Not sure if you've read the information stickies, but when you have some time, read up and check back often for reference.
They're always there for your benefit!

I had the same feeling coming off caninsulin (Canadian version of vetsulin) but after starting Lantus, things improved as did the overall health of my cat.

Do you have a spreadsheet set up? I don't see a link to one in your signature, you can learn how to set one in the TECH forum, and test it afterwards in the EVERYTHING forum.
Spreadsheets will help everyone see how lantus is working on Bryce, plus you'll need to track the data for future feedback on dose.
In the TECH forum you can also learn how to add an AVATAR (picture) of Bryce.

Please read the stickie viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
Following those guidelines will help you a lot. Plus you will receive valuable feedback and support here in Lantus Land - but you will need a spreadsheet to tally your BG readings. And always feel free to ask anything you're not sure about.

Hope to see u posting often and also remember, one thread per cat per day, anytime you get a reply or have a question just find your thread, also known as a "condo" and when you reply or see a new reply, your condo gets the "bump" to the top of the list.

:)
 
Thank you! Read the protocol doc, and will setup a spreadsheet. I've got all the numbers on a chart at home. We're working closely with a new vet who we really like. Should we be concerned about increasing given the gluttonous consumption of bread sticks on Mon. pm. Does that have to work through her system first? Also, is 2c FF enough at this point (am & pm - 4 total)? Bryce was down to 13.2 lb, but back up to 14. Feeding four different times from 5:30 - 7:15...she could easily eat everything in one gulp. And, how many units could she ultimately get if BG doesn't drop (e.g., what's considered "a lot")? Thanks again...will get a pic out there, too.
 
OK, I'll try and tackle the food question. An unregulated cat is ALWAYS big-time hungry. As the numbers come down into more normal (100s and less) the food consumption will usually come down. Unregulated cats may require more food at first because they are not able to properly metabolize what they are eating.

I feed Morris mini meals throughout the day...1/4 can of Fancy Feast about every two hours for the first 6 hours of the day and again for the first 6 hours of the evening and maybe another 1/4 can at +8 on each schedule....that's a total of 2 cans. Morris was originally 26 lbs. and was down to 17 lbs. before getting sick last week...but that's another topic. :razz:

Forget about the breadsticks...he will metabolize them and they will be gone in a day....you don't increase insulin to make up for feeding errors/sneak attacks on carbs by newly carb-restricted kitties. The most important thing about this insulin in consistency...you must give shots every 12 hours (or as close thereto as you can get) and also feed at the same time(s). You will increase or decrease insulin based on nadir (low point) readings, so it is also important to maintain a spreadsheet with readings at various times so you can pinpoint when the nadir is.

This insulin combined with the people here on the Lantus board (Lantus Land :mrgreen: ) will be your ticket to getting Bryce better! :razz:
 
Hi Debbie,

I'm not sure that I can answer all your questions... but let's see what I can do.

It is normal for unregulated cats to eat lots - because the nourishment doesn't make it to the cells. At this stage or until Bryce is regulated, don't worry about the quantity of food too too much. Keep in mind, however, that his pancreas will prefer not to be overwhelmed by large meals... and you may need room to give Bryce some gravy at some point.

Also... I'm not sure how long Bread sticks last in a cat's system. In comparison, dry food can last a couple of days... just for comparison.

As for the number of units required... well, if you have that answer.... you've just won the jackpot!! Every cat is different (ECID) sorry!

So Bryce is/was on vetsulin.... ok... couple of things... get a broom and sweep all vetsulin thoughts out of your brain... I'm a little kidding, but not really. Lantus and vetsulin operate totally differently... and THIS my friend will be the hard part of the bean (you) training. I mean that in the nicest way of course.... and I hope that you receive it that way too.

How many units of vetsulin is/was Bryce on? When do you want to start Lantus? (maybe you've said it and I forgot already...). That would help determine what dose (other than the typical 1 U) Bryce should start on.

Couple of last things... please make sure that you have a couple of cans of HC (18% carbs or around that - Janet and Binky's list has a few choices) in your house. I mark mine with a sharpie pen as to not confuse them with regular food. Read all the Stickies at the top of the page.... including the one about not rolling your insulin.... post everyday... and ask lots of questions.

i hope this helps and welcome to lantus land!
 
Hi Debbie and welcome.

Debbie & Bryce said:
Should we be concerned about increasing given the gluttonous consumption of bread sticks on Mon. pm. Does that have to work through her system first?
You've already gotten good information. The breadsticks will have to work their way out of Bryce's system and they will probably inflate her BG numbers. But, you'll know what that rise is from. Like Helene indicated, don't increase your dose of Lantus to compensate. This isn't how Lantus works best. You need to keep the dose consistent since dose changes are not based on pre-shot numbers. Dosing is based on nadir.

In addition, the initial dose of Lantus should be given for up to a week in order to build a blood level (aka a depot or "shed"). There is a sticky that describes the shed in more detail.

Also, is 2c FF enough at this point (am & pm - 4 total)?
Diabetes is a wasting disease -- it prevents glucose from entering the cells and being used as fuel. As a result, our kitties are hungry all the time until they get better regulated. You might want to feed more often and in a larger quantity until Bryce's numbers start to come down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top