1/14/18 - Luci - AMPS 216

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Luci

Member Since 2017
Looking back at her numbers for the last week, this is the lowest morning reading I've seen. Good news I hope. I hope this means she's finally responding to the Lantus.

I'm having a little trouble seeing the .25 mark on the syringe. I'm guessing it's the blank space between the 1 mark (bold line) and the next mark (half line)...it's sure a tiny space and I'm hoping I'm getting it right...these are 29 Gauge UltraComfort U-100 Insulin - For single use only.

I read through the Lantus Sticky on fine dosing - couldn't really see anything for finely gauging .25 - any comments/suggestions appreciated.
 
I usually count drops for microdosing. I filled syringe with 1 unit and squeezed out the drops. I count four fat drops to 1u. So for 0.25 I fill syringe to 0.5 and squeeze out a drop. Now Silver is on 2.75 I fill syringe to 3u and squeeze out a drop. Voila 2.75u.
 
I think she showed you yesterday with that green 75 that she's starting to respond to insulin. ;)

The preshot numbers are typically the last ones to come down. Hope Luci keeps it up and you see some blue or green in the cycle today.

You're reading the 1.25 correctly, it is a tiny space and tricky to get just right. Many people here use calipers for measuring the syringe doses, it takes the guesswork out and you'll get a more consistent dose.

Question, your +6 from overnight is lime green and says 2:00, did you get an actual reading there, and if so, what was it?

Hope your back is feeling a little better! :bighug:
 
I think she showed you yesterday with that green 75 that she's starting to respond to insulin. ;)

The preshot numbers are typically the last ones to come down. Hope Luci keeps it up and you see some blue or green in the cycle today.

You're reading the 1.25 correctly, it is a tiny space and tricky to get just right. Many people here use calipers for measuring the syringe doses, it takes the guesswork out and you'll get a more consistent dose.

Question, your +6 from overnight is lime green and says 2:00, did you get an actual reading there, and if so, what was it?

Hope your back is feeling a little better! :bighug:

I'm hoping she comes down too and show us some blues and greens today!

Would you (or someone) mind posting a pic of a calipers and how that might help me get a better idea of where exactly that is - trying to eyeball that 'space' between the 1 unit and the .5 unit is just not easy...I do my best though. Don't want to overdose! Or underdose! I do think we're making progress here though!

The lime green 2:00 AM was for me - I guess you could call that - wishful thinking - meaning if I was able to come to consciousness (lots of times my hubby or I are awake at night - for one reason or another - you know how it is)...but I didn't wake up until 3:30 a.m. - by then it was to late for that reading - I'd had a really bad day and night with my back yesterday. It was difficult even getting to sleep ... and every time I move it's with great effort otherwise my back stabs me! For lack of a better term - with what feels like electricity - so I try to be still...sleeping with a pillow under my knees or between my knees isn't natural either...

Ok, well enough of that...if my back doesn't improve by tomorrow (thinking by a week, it should be getting better)...I'm going to have to start to search for a reputable doctor (not a pill pusher)...easier said than done, no doubt.
 
Below is a photo of 0.25u. There are more photos of micro doses in the Insulin Info & Handling sticky note.

025unit-1.jpg
 
Below is a photo of 0.25u. There are more photos of micro doses in the Insulin Info & Handling sticky note.

025unit-1.jpg

Thank you for this nice close up - however my syringes don't have any markings where that 'blue' highlight is...Is there a different brand I should look for? Or did you mark that pen after measuring with calipers? Apologies for the repeat questions...
 
Thank you for this nice close up - however my syringes don't have any markings where that 'blue' highlight is...Is there a different brand I should look for? Or did you mark that pen after measuring with calipers? Apologies for the repeat questions...

So your syringes do not have half unit markings? What does the box say is the exact syringes you are using or can you post a photo? I will find you the caliper post and link it in a minute
 
trying to eyeball that 'space' between the 1 unit and the .5 unit is just not easy...

Just to be clear, 1.25 would be the space in between the 1 unit marking and the 1.5 unit marking. The space between the .5 unit marking and the 1 unit marking would be .75.

I'm sorry your back is still troubling you, I hope you can find someone to help. We see PTs, accupuncturists and massage therapists for things like that and they help a great deal. My daughter's do ballet so something is always hurting or trying to be injured, including their backs.
 
These are the syringes I have: They have increments of 1 and 1.5 - but there is no marking for halfway between .5's.
 

Attachments

  • ReliOnBox.jpg
    ReliOnBox.jpg
    32.4 KB · Views: 64
  • ReliOnSryingeOne.jpg
    ReliOnSryingeOne.jpg
    39.1 KB · Views: 57
These are the syringes I have: They have increments of 1 and 1.5 - but there is no marking for halfway between .5's.

Those are perfect, the other photo Sienne posted also only has unit and half unit markings, I don't know of any with more than that. The photo Sienne posted was illustrating the plunger is in between the zero line and half unit marking, showing .25, there is no line for it, you have to eyeball it without calipers.
 
The insulin syringes only come in 1.0u and 0.5u increments. If you look at where the bottom blue line falls, that is 0.25u. The bottom of the plunger is overlapping the 0.5u mark on the barrel of the syringe -- it's hard to see!
 
Good morning! So happy to see Luci responding! :joyful: sorry your back is not getting better. The 0.25 was hardest for my eyes too! I marked my own line with a sharpie before drawing the insulin. That helped me. :bighug:
 
Good morning! So happy to see Luci responding! :joyful: sorry your back is not getting better. The 0.25 was hardest for my eyes too! I marked my own line with a sharpie before drawing the insulin. That helped me. :bighug:

Thanks for that tip! I may have to do that - it is really hard to see...and I don't want to give to much...it looks like just a 'smidge' between the lines after the 1 unit...too bad they don't make syringes for tiny dose increments like this - I guess people don't need to fine tune that much?
 
Thanks for that tip! I may have to do that - it is really hard to see...and I don't want to give to much...it looks like just a 'smidge' between the lines after the 1 unit...too bad they don't make syringes for tiny dose increments like this - I guess people don't need to fine tune that much?
They do! Myagi went down to 0.1 and 1 drop. 1 drop is way easier than 0.1. Lol. You stress over it and then get hang of it. :)
 
While we're on the subject of syringes - is there one that you'd recommend over another? What brand is best? I was looking at the AWD website and there are tons of them - I did not see any that say 'increments of .25 or .10' which is why I was looking - we have 29 Gauge needles at this point - just wondering if I should look for a different type for next time. Thank you!
 
I

I'm sure you will soon.
Who knows she may decide to hang out in green for a while today:D

Looks like it's a blue kind of day for Luci - I'm just happy we're not in the yellows - so that's her curve huh? Looks like she swings down at the 3+ and 6+ is the lowest and then she's on the upswing at the 9+...it'll be interesting to see what happens over the next week. I hope I can be here for all the BG times - and not sitting in some doctor's office somewhere...
 
Looks like she swings down at the 3+ and 6+ is the lowest and then she's on the upswing at the 9+
For today yes, but her curves won't always be the same.

Look at yesterday, her low was at +4 and by +6 she was on her way up.

What you can gather from yesterday and today is that a significant drop at +2/+3 heralds an active cycle and she is quite likely to continue to drop, seeing green.

Similarly a drop at +1 can also herald an active cycle, be aware of those when you get your 1 in the evening.


She doesn't look to be coming up as fast today, she may surprise you with a blue pmps. I won't be around, it's bedtime for me, you may want to look at the TR stickies on shooting and handling low numbers, forewarned is forearmed.

Here's the link
LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION: SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS

George usually had his low/nadir at +5/+6, but he nadired as late as +12 and as early as +2. So it's best not to assume that they will always have there lowest number at +6. When George was diagnosed, I was able to be at home with him, and he was very happy to be tested, so I tested a lot (iwas/am a testaholic) if you look at his SS you can see quite clearly how his cycles changed, from one day to the next and over time.
 
If she's below 200, you might want to stall the shot, without feeding and post up for help before !asking your decision.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top