1/13 Tennessee amps 338 +7 338- Convenia shot for UTI- Dosing advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea&Tennessee (GA)

Member Since 2014
Tennie visited the vet this afternoon for a probable UTI. He has been peeing outside the litter box and has had high glucose for about 10 days now. We are also just on the tail end of pancreatitis.

The vet was not able to vet a sample as the little bugger decided to pee just before we left for the vet office. She didn't think that he was overly sensitive in the bladder but decided to give him a shot of Covenia. She also said that I might want to reduce his dose tonight.
We had just increased to 2.5 units on Sunday night and although he is still in the 300's, he has stayed out of the 400's for the past day.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Andrea
 
Hi. I think this is my first post to you. Too bad on not being able to get a urine sample and culture. Covenia is not the best choice for any type of UTI and will stay in his system for well over 2 weeks. If symptoms persist you might need to bring him back for another try and perhaps leave him there until his bladder fills up enough. Is he eating okay? If so I'm not sure why your vet suggested a reduction. Someone more experienced will advise you on that though. I'll have a look at your ss to see if I can figure out why and will be back if I do.
 
The vet just said that because we are treating the uti, it may be best to reduce the dose. He is eating just fine.
I am starting to read about covenia, and see that it is not the best choice in this situation. I will keep that in mind next time!
I have to shoot now because I have to leave for work, so I am going to reduce tonight. I will bring him back up in the am is I dont see any reason to keep the reduction.
 
I think you're better off just sticking with the current dose...Even if he does have a UTI, he was still running too high longer than 10 days ago

If his numbers show him coming down (as if the antibiotic was working), then you might want to decrease, but I'd just stay where you're at until he shows he needs less
 
Hi Andrea! I don't think i've met you yet. Welcome to LL!

Here's your post from Sunday 1/11/15

Punkin had at least one shot of Convenia before I knew more about it. His was also for a bladder infection. The risk with Convenia is primarily that if they have an allergic reaction to it that you can't "stop taking it" because it's in for a couple of weeks. Just keep an eye on Tennie (what a cute name) and watch for signs of allergic reaction.

I think your plan to go back to the regular dose, which i think is 2.5, in the morning is fine. If the AB kicks in you may see his numbers improve and then you can decrease the dose in response. Personally, I wouldn't decrease it in advance. If this AB isn't the right one to deal with the infection, you'd have let him be in high numbers longer than necessary. So I'd treat the BG numbers per the protocol and reduce once you see the numbers telling you to do so.

In the meantime, if he remains high and flat like this, with everything over 300 including nadirs, the Protocol would suggest 6 consecutive cycles (consecutive will mean that you're starting tomorrow morning as cycle 1) you'd want to increase by 0.5u. Once glucose toxicity has developed you usually have to increase the dose aggressively in order to break through and then the blood sugar will come down. I saw Wendy linked the info on GT to you in the last post - it sounds more ominous than it is. It just means the body's gotten adjusted to high numbers and thinks they are normal.

Hopefully the Convenia will do the trick and his blood sugar will come down before the 3 days are up, but just in case I wanted to go ahead and give you the information below.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
I hope you are going to be around to monitor Tennie tonight- My Tiger was given a shot of convenia for UTI this past summer, before I knew that it wasn't the best for UTI's. That night we had our first PJ Party.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top