1/13 Sam +4 (+16) 247 (Has not actually had AM shot yet)

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Member Since 2010
Okay, we're headed back up now. Thoughts on what to shoot? If I should shoot? Or wait longer? Or? I'd love any input/ideas.
 
You want a shootable number tonight. If you shoot now, I would give a reduced dose---just to keep the numbers from zooming up.
oh--just to be clear, it is not +4---that would mean you had given the shot.
 
It's not the end of the world if you skip a shot. On the other hand, the numbers to worry about are below 40 (or 35) so this is not dire and a tiny bit of insulin probably would do fine. But you should definitely NOT shoot anything that scares you.
 
Well, he just had them 5 mins before I tested him. Do you think they could work that fast? I'll definitely retest in 30 mins though.

Judy, I guess my concern is shooting now and then what do I do tonight? Shoot at his regular time if the bg indicates? Then I have to think about overlap and that kind of thing. You know what I mean?
 
Yes, you would shoot at your regular time if it is not below your no-shoot number. But don't feel pressure from me to shoot. It is only 1 shot. Nothing in the grand scheme of things. The problem with this testing stuff is that it gives us the idea that we can understand it all and then be fully in control. Not possible, in my experience, anyway. Just have to assume if there is anything important going on it will show up in a pattern of results.
 
The other thing to remember is that your meter can be +/- 20% for any given reading. So basically your last 2 numbers are the same. So it may not be a real step down in bg.

But I think you have to go with your gut and make a decision that you feel comfortable with. Skipping a shot isn't going to be a problem -just may mess up your numbers for a cycle. Course his numbers are fascinating anyway, and make for an adventure. :mrgreen:

Gathering data, gathering data.
 
Almost 2.5 hours after his .2 shot and Sam's at 267. Not sure that shot had much effect, but I'm okay with that. Interested to see what his PMPS looks like.
 
Just did what would be his +6 from that .2 shot and he's at 191. I fed everyone, but Sam snagged a few pieces of the chicken breast I had for dinner, so he wasn't super hungry. His normal PMPS time is coming up, not sure if I should test him again or wait a full hour from this +6 test of 191.
 
Ok, now I see the latest thread :) 0.2 makes sense as a holdover to get you to PMPS time. Alternately, you could have shot a bigger dose and then waited til morning for the next shot (hoping to get a good nadir and long duration again), or skipped the shot and waited til PM, or exactly what you did, a token dose to hold things from going a lot higher.

I'm not sure what the timing is at this point (doesn't seem like the board is on daylight savings?) - did you already give a PM shot?
 
I gave him .3 after getting a PMPS of 291 half an hour later than usual. I'm thinking with his crazy numbers lately, I'd rather go lite tonight than worry about him hypoing while I'm passed out. I've been up since 4ish AM and am ready to crash.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top