? 1/13 RICO AMPS 202, +4 152 - QUESTIONS ON DOSING & TR

Carol & Rico

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-25-dosing-advice-needed.297394/#post-3235949

Here we are again, following your advice to the T!
As @Wendy&Neko suggested I started Rico with 0.25 so that I play safe in case his BG only increased due to cortisone. As @Bandit's Mom pointed out, switched to TR because I can test him several times a day.

QUESTION 1: If he goes from yellow to blue with 0.25, do I still increase after 3 days? Or do I carry on with 0.25?
QUESTION 2: I remember I had seen some notes on kitties who went back to insulin after remission but I can't find them. Is there a postit about that?

Could you also , please have a look at his latest lab results? THANK YOU!!!!

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
@Chris & China (GA)
 
With TR, we hold the initial dose for 5-7 days to build the depot.

As far as kitties falling out of remission, they are considered long term diabetics. As such, it is a little harder for them to earn reductions with TR. But we also want to be a bit more aggressive (but safe) to try to get them regulated as quickly as possible, to increase the chance of a second remission. You may also see them being more bouncy than the first time on insulin.

Did the vet comment on the labs? I don't know enough to comment.
 
With TR, we hold the initial dose for 5-7 days to build the depot.

As far as kitties falling out of remission, they are considered long term diabetics. As such, it is a little harder for them to earn reductions with TR. But we also want to be a bit more aggressive (but safe) to try to get them regulated as quickly as possible, to increase the chance of a second remission. You may also see them being more bouncy than the first time on insulin.

Did the vet comment on the labs? I don't know enough to comment.

Rico's 5th day of the cortisone effect was yesterday - today he's gone down to blue and I'm hopeful he'll see green in the next two days (paws crossed!) Will I be able to go to "drops" after 0.25 if he's steadily green for a week?

The vet said that everything was fine except for the high protein levels so he wants new tests next week to check with pancreas numbers. The problem is that his diet is based on proteins and haven't found any fruit or vegetable supplements that could help. Any ideas?
 
Last edited:
There are many conditions that can cause a higher level of protein in the blood. The vet needs to figure that out first, thus the more tests. Changing diet may not be the answer. My vet always did repeat blood work if one number was out, to see if it was a one time thing or a trend.
 
Back
Top