1/13 Ozzy PMPS 161 1st Blue PS!, +1 168, +2 160, +3.2 110, +4.5 82, +5.5 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

Good Morning. Typing from my cell so will add my condo link from yesterday later. I want to just check in and then grab a few more zzzzs..

This morning's PS number was a little surprising. He ran high last night so I thought he would end high. Wonder if he finally dropped down and then rose up to the 227 AMPS or if he just glided down slowly and that is where he ended at the end of his cycle.

So I am kindof anticipating an active cycle today and will be ready. Going to test at +2 because I want to sleep more and so will skip +1. Sorry selfish me.

Ozzy has been fighting Hubby on his BG tests lately. Great- can't help when I need him to take turns. Lucky me. I told him to talk to him sweet and be calm and give him kisseys etc- but he is a guy.. and Ozzy is my baby.. so there it is. It's now my job when he gets fussy even if it is my turn to sleep in. Ozzy got fussy with me too (first time- must be from his residual daddy man handling) but I was able to calm him down and get to business.

Still need some help on the pukey/poopy problem I wrote about on my condo yesterday. Will add a link later when I am back on my laptop.
 
Last edited:
I think a call to the vet is in order, Jo. He could have a food allergy but I don't like to mess around with vomiting and soft stools.
 
I think a call to the vet is in order, Jo. He could have a food allergy but I don't like to mess around with vomiting and soft stools.
Totally agree, Marje....this going on as it is warrants a vetty call. Jo, do you have any slippery Elm, just in case. You can get it in capsules at WM but the best is gotten at health food store, preferably loose and organic. Just a thought if u r out and about .....helping it to stop is one thing..knowing the WHY behind it is quite another.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good Morning. Typing from my cell so will add my condo link from yesterday later. I want to just check in and then grab a few more zzzzs..

This morning's PS number was a little surprising. He ran high last night so I thought he would end high. Wonder if he finally dropped down and then rose up to the 227 AMPS or if he just glided down slowly and that is where he ended at the end of his cycle.

So I am kindof anticipating an active cycle today and will be ready. Going to test at +2 because I want to sleep more and so will skip +1. Sorry selfish me.

Ozzy has been fighting Hubby on his BG tests lately. Great- can't help when I need him to take turns. Lucky me. I told him to talk to him sweet and be calm and give him kisseys etc- but he is a guy.. and Ozzy is my baby.. so there it is. It's now my job when he gets fussy even if it is my turn to sleep in. Ozzy got fussy with me too (first time- must be from his residual daddy man handling) but I was able to calm him down and get to business.

Still need some help on the pukey/poopy problem I wrote about on my condo yesterday. Will add a link later when I am back on my laptop.
The LAST thing in this world that you are, Jo, is selfish!!!! Grabbing little more sleep will help you stay clear headed so you can best help Ozzy.....hey, if u get a minute, please send along a pic of Figgy,the Wonder Civvie !!!
 
The probiotic you can get at Walmart is Florastor. I'd give him 1/2 cap twice a day (bid) mixed in food. I am also a big proponent of slippery elm and I buy the organic, certified loose powder at a health food store. You only need about 1/8 cup for now. If you buy anything but that, you risk it having fillers.

The SEB needs to be given separately by two hours from any other meds or supplements. I usually mix 1/4 tsp with filtered water....enough to make a slurry...and then syringe it.

I'd also try and go back to one food but I'd still call the vet.

Edited to add: the Florastor and SEB are mainly to calm the intestines.

Also...sleep when you can. It is not overrated.
 
Well Ozzy and Figgie let me sleep in and I woke up thinking oh no- I didn't test him soon enough and steer with food so he probably had a big drop. Then I find a 214 at +2.5 so he barely cruised down a little in last few hours. Will test him again around +4 and see how he is doing.

The idea of a food allergy sounds reasonable to me to be causing his pukey/poopy problem. They have been getting a lot of different kinds of food lately. I don't really think it could be from the raw we mix in (could it be?) but we are just going to stick with FF and let them finish the raw and some occassional boiled chicken and see if that helps. He only got FF this morning and so far no vomiting or stinky poo to report on (anti jinx) so we will see. If he continues to have these problems over next day or so, we will definately call the vet.
 
Hey, been wondering about Ozzy's belly and poo situation .....tell hubby this is the level of excitement we operate in here, all day, every day :cool::rolleyes::);).......but seriously, how is he( Ozzy , not hubby ;)) doing in the GI tract area today ????
 
Hey, been wondering about Ozzy's belly and poo situation .....tell hubby this is the level of excitement we operate in here, all day, every day :cool::rolleyes::);).......but seriously, how is he doing in the GI tract area today ????
So far he has been good this morning. No smelly poo or vomit (yet- anti jinx!). Going to keep him on FF and a little raw only for now.

I wonder if it could be related to the freeze dried chicken treats we are using for his post-pokey treat? Hmmmm...he never really was given treats. Anyone have issues with freeze dried foods? I think it's only chicken and that's it. But not sure about what is added during the freeze dry process....Just a thought..
 
Kitty Committee.....'Kitty Cavalry....Kitty Jedi Counsel.....take your choose :cool::rolleyes::cat:
And don't forget 'The Lovely Ladies of Lantus and Levimir" hahah...sounds like from King Arthur's round table or something.. Heheheheh!!

Capture8.PNG
 
Last edited:
So far he has been good this morning. No smelly poo or vomit (yet- anti jinx!). Going to keep him on FF and a little raw only for now.

I wonder if it could be related to the freeze dried chicken treats we are using for his post-pokey treat? Hmmmm...he never really was given treats. Anyone have issues with freeze dried foods? I think it's only chicken and that's it. But not sure about what is added during the freeze dry process....Just a thought..[/QUOTEBecause I love to write data down ( and because I consistently forget) I jot down a quick note of what I feed him to keep track if possible reactions to a different food. He tends to eat the same thing for long periods of time so it's easy for me .
 
I don't really think it could be from the raw we mix in (could it be?)
What protein are you serving?
What about re-freezing? The Rad Cat tubs come in sizes that are larger than I can feed my two kitties in 2 days, so I defrost it in fridge and then put into smaller containers and re-freeze. Any problem with doing that?
I hated that about Rad Cat too. I thawed just a tiny bit, so it was soft enough to cut, but not all the way thawed, then refroze it.

I would recommend doing an input/output log for Ozzy. I did this with my civie who was vomiting. Each day I write down every food he gets for AM and PM, and also poo details and any vomiting. It's important to write down what proteins. I finally figured out the patterns and now avoid lamb, kangaroo, and elk for him. If you have to give higher carb food, check for things like wheat in the ingredients. I had to stop giving Gravy Lovers as HC because the wheat didn't agree with Neko.
 
What protein are you serving?
Right now they get a little raw mixed in with their wet (or Figgie will just eat the raw sometimes alone because he LOVES it). They have rotated between rad cat chicken and turkey as well as some stella's and chewys rabbit morsels.
I would recommend doing an input/output log for Ozzy. I did this with my civie who was vomiting
This is a good idea. Thank you for the suggestion. We are going to keep him on the FFs only with a little raw mixed in and see how it goes over the next day or so. This poo/vomiting situation kind of just started over the last few days.
 
Sometimes it's works to just keep them on one protein, ie. chicken, and see if that works. Then after several days of that an no vomiting, you can add another protein, say turkey.
 
Sometimes it's works to just keep them on one protein, ie. chicken, and see if that works. Then after several days of that an no vomiting, you can add another protein, say turkey.
Great idea. We are feeding them both FFs right now. Should I just stick with chicken for a few days worth of meals and see how it goes? I have a little rad cat raw left in the fridge that I pulled out last night to defrost. Kind of want to get through that so it doesn't spoil because that **** was expensive! Giving most of it to Figgie though because he loves it the most.
 
@Marje and Gracie OMG!! The BLUE PRESHOT IS HERE!! What do we do? He is 161. Been cruising in blues all day!
I have to go pick up my car from dealership (new brakes- $450- I swear I'm gonna be broke here soon!) Will be back in about 30 mins. Shooting a little late.

help!

Will have my cell and read updates.

Thanks!
J.
 
Last edited:
Hey Jo, been in my basement cleaning most of the day and lost track of time ( was having so much fun down there...:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:.......not ) ...so glad to see Ozzy in :cool::cool::cool::cool::cool: and that the pooping and puking has stopped:bighug::bighug::bighug:....tell ya what tho, these 4a.m. Feedings are getting to this ole gal but I am too,paranoid he won't eat from feeder so I set an alarm and do it myself:woot::woot::woot::woot::woot:.....nah, anything for our boys, right :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Didnt think clearly because we were rushing to get out door to pick up my car and just remembered you guys would have probably told me to stall...but im a dufus and gave him food. it was dinner time. He ate about .75 oz and got scared out of kitchen with us clanging out the door.
 
Sorry.....just saw this.

I don't see any reason why you can't shoot the full dose if:
--you have all the testing supplies you need
--you have foods to steer numbers
--you are able and available to test

But I do want to let you know in advance that I have to be in bed by midnight which is 11 your time. I can ask Tricia if she can take over for me when I have to go to bed.
 
Sorry.....just saw this.

I don't see any reason why you can't shoot the full dose if:
--you have all the testing supplies you need
--you have foods to steer numbers
--you are able and available to test

But I do want to let you know in advance that I have to be in bed by midnight which is 11 your time. I can ask Tricia if she can take over for me when I have to go to bed.
Yes, to all the above. So we should go with the full 1.25U then???:nailbiting:
 
Yes, to all the above. So we should go with the full 1.25U then???:nailbiting:
I haven't heard back yet from any west coasters as to whether they can stay with you after 11 your time. I don't want to leave you alone unless you feel 100% capable of steering low numbers on your own.

There's a good chance someone will be around but I can't promise.
 
I have to admit...I'm pretty excited about the blue preshot!!!! I know not to chase numbers, but it came on it's own and it's SO pretty! Just a little nervous about what will follow. Sometimes Ozzy dips and sometimes he just cruises and stays sort of flat. Wonder what tonight will bring (anti-jinx!)
 
I haven't heard back yet from any west coasters as to whether they can stay with you after 11 your time. I don't want to leave you alone unless you feel 100% capable of steering low numbers on your own.

There's a good chance someone will be around but I can't promise.
You guys have taught me what to do. Ok, here is my plan- let me know what you think.
  • give full dose
  • check at +1 and +2 to see if drops quick If so, start steering with small amounts of food to try to flatten him out.
  • If he drops low at either of the above, get a +3 test. If still going low, give some med carb food. Check again in 30-60 mins depending on how low he goes. Maybe give a little more med carb depending on numbers
  • Check again at +5 and.or if he starts getting into the 50-60s, bring out the high carbs.
  • If he drops below 50, karo or honey on gums, test every 15 mins.
  • we have plenty of supplies and hypo kit in arms reach.
What do you think??
 
I think it sounds like an excellent plan although I wouldn't test every 15 minutes unless he drops into the 40s. I also wouldn't use HC unless he hits the 50s early in the cycle or is dropping like a rock.

This is definitely a bounce clearing cycle so it's going to be active......I'm pretty sure.
 
I think it sounds like an excellent plan although I wouldn't test every 15 minutes unless he drops into the 40s. I also wouldn't use HC unless he hits the 50s early in the cycle or is dropping like a rock.

This is definitely a bounce clearing cycle so it's going to be active......I'm pretty sure.
Uh oh! Ok, I think I'm ready for this. We were hoping for blue PSs..and here there are. Time to pull up my big girl pants and learn how to deal with them.
Ok, shooting now.
 
Last edited:
  • give full dose...Check!
  • check at +1 and +2 to see if drops quick If so, start steering with small amounts of food to try to flatten him out.....Check!!
  • If he drops low at either of the above, get a +3 test. ...Check!! ....If still going low, give some med carb food....kind of depends on how fast he's dropping... Check again in 30-60 mins depending on how low he goes. Maybe give a little more med carb depending on numbers
  • Check again at +5 and.or if he starts getting into the 50-60s, bring out the high carbs....no....stick with medium carb unless he actually drops below 50
  • If he drops below 50, karo or honey on gums, test every 15 mins....Below 50 is when you bring out the high carb (FF Gravy Lovers for example) or add a few drops of Karo/honey/syrup to a little low carb...if he drops into the 40's, add more Karo/honey/syrup and/or rub on gums
 
Thank you Marje and Chris for the corrections and guidance! See- my thinking is still based on Vestulin lows.. I am glad to know 50 is not the evil number- good to know. Bookmarking this page for the great advice so I can use it again in the future (I'm sure it will be needed again!!)

A little nervous but mostly excited to see the blue PS...I could not do this without you guys and I feel ready and knowledgeable enough now to handle this after all the amazing and thoughtful advice you have given. And not just to me, I read a lot of the other threads on here too! You all are wonderful!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ok, about 40 mins to go to +1.

Gotta go clean up the kitchen floors by the kitty food dishes. I just mopped them about 90 minutes ago and apparently my kitties don't like them clean! :facepalm:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top