Laurie and Mr Tinkles
Member Since 2010
Yesterday
Recap
PMPS~128 1.5u -1 drop
+2~138
+3~78 19%
+4~68 gravy
+5~57 gravy + karo
+6~86 LC snack + karo
+10~47
+11~60
+12~50
AMPS~59 (+12.25) S1.5u
+1~53 gravy + karo
+1.5~ 70 gravy + karo
+2~107 8% mini meal
Tinkles surfed green last night, and the incompetent bean slept through the alarms after +6.
I had given him some gravy and karo to boost him before that, and he had a snack with a drop of karo at +6, but he was at 47 when I woke up at +10, so he got some more gravy and karo then. He was up at +11, then down to 50 at +12, so I stalled 15 minutes, then shot a shaved dose when he was at 59. I didn't feed higher carb food at that point because I wanted to see if he was starting to bounce first. His +1 was dropping, so he got some gravy + a dollop of karo, at +1.5 he is at 70...gave more gravy + karo. His first mini meal at +2 was 8%, and I will adjust future mini meals as necessary according to his BG. He's keeping me busy this morning! I'm sure he will bounce at some point, but I'm not counting on it happening this morning.
Newbies....do not shoot at numbers this low, I have a lot of experience with low numbers with Tinkles, and have shot lower than this before. I know his response to MC/HC and karo, have all supplies on hand and will be home to monitor him.
Tinkles is doing great, all P's in place. He's playing with his chirping bird right now.
Ah, the power of fresh insulin! I know it shouldn't matter since the insulin should be potent for at least the full 28 days, but that is not my experience. Every time I open a new pen, it obviously has more potency...lately I just open a new pen after 28 days, if not sooner. Others are able to use their pens longer, but it doesn't work for us. In answer to Christie's question in our condo yesterday: I have no experience with vials. I know some people use the vials for 2 months or longer and it seems to work fine....but if your insulin hasn't been handled very carefully and stored properly, I would replace it once you start to see indications that it is losing potency...higher numbers and inconsistent response are what I usually see when the insulin starts pooping out.
Recap
PMPS~128 1.5u -1 drop
+2~138
+3~78 19%
+4~68 gravy
+5~57 gravy + karo
+6~86 LC snack + karo
+10~47
+11~60
+12~50
AMPS~59 (+12.25) S1.5u
+1~53 gravy + karo
+1.5~ 70 gravy + karo
+2~107 8% mini meal
Tinkles surfed green last night, and the incompetent bean slept through the alarms after +6.
Newbies....do not shoot at numbers this low, I have a lot of experience with low numbers with Tinkles, and have shot lower than this before. I know his response to MC/HC and karo, have all supplies on hand and will be home to monitor him.
Tinkles is doing great, all P's in place. He's playing with his chirping bird right now.
Ah, the power of fresh insulin! I know it shouldn't matter since the insulin should be potent for at least the full 28 days, but that is not my experience. Every time I open a new pen, it obviously has more potency...lately I just open a new pen after 28 days, if not sooner. Others are able to use their pens longer, but it doesn't work for us. In answer to Christie's question in our condo yesterday: I have no experience with vials. I know some people use the vials for 2 months or longer and it seems to work fine....but if your insulin hasn't been handled very carefully and stored properly, I would replace it once you start to see indications that it is losing potency...higher numbers and inconsistent response are what I usually see when the insulin starts pooping out.