1/13 Maverick PMPS 64 +1 67 +2 60 +3 61 +4 71

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/13 Maverick AMPS 70

I was surprised by the lowish AMPS this morning. Maybe it is time to shave his dose. I fed him Ocean WHitefish and Tuna this morning.

Does Maverick seem to like the fishy flavors? I need to try one for Maggie just for a change. Maverick is looking really good with that 70 AMPS.
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick AMPS 70

Nice AMPS for Maverick. My cats seem to like the fish flavors better but I read on a few posts that I shouldn't be feeding them so much fish. Why is that?
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick AMPS 70

Someone posted on Maverick's condo a few days back to not feed it very often because its high in ash. I'm going to feed it once a day until I can find something else he will eat. He eats his Turkey and Giblet better at night with a different food in the daytime. He was getting bored of T&G. But he is a very picky eater.
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick AMPS 70

Jenny posted this also:

Another concern about fish flavored foods:

Polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) are flame-retardant industrial chemicals. PBDEs are found in particularly high concentrations in fish that are high up the food chain and, therefore, in sea food flavor cat foods. Could be linked to feline hyperthyroidism.

I try to stick with chicken, turkey or beef varieties.

Wish I hadn't loaded up on the fish flavour ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick AMPS 70

Oh my, what a nice amps, Karrie. Does he drop fast, so you have to watch him carefully?

In the beginning of this dance, a year ago. Checkers would eat only the fish flavors too. I was able to get him slowly to like the chicken and turkey, but it wasn't easy. I had to flavor it with FortiFlora to get him to eat it. Now I flavor the fish ones with chicken dust, to entice him. He is not a good eater. Weird cat. :lol:
I hope Maverick surfs that beautiful green today. :smile:
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick AMPS 70

What a nice amps! GO MAVERICK! He sure has been looking good lately - so nice to see.

Mannie loves the fish ones too: big big fan of Merrick's Surf and Turf, and FF Fish and Shrimp. I am lucky though - he will eat most anything.

Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick AMPS 70

I likes da fishy flavurs, Mav...but NOT in da mornins!
dey moar a evenin' taste fur me...
binks
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick AMPS 70 - curve question

Doing a mini curve today. I should have gotten a +3 as that is when his nadir used to be. ohmygod_smile

Can eating more than normal impact nadir time? Or would it not matter?

Here are his numbers so far:
AMPS: 70 - no food in two hours prior, however he ate more than he normally would this morning eating 1.5 oz right after AMPS.
+2 87 - he ate another .5 oz right after this reading
+4 69
+2 89

The spreadsheet shows .5sk. I was told not to change this even though when I posted pictures of what I'm giving him I was told it was .25U. And it didn't matter as long as I was consistent with the insulin.
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick AMPS 70 - curve question

:thumbup there just isn't a day that Maverick looks bad ;-)
We just need him to drop low so you can slowly go down the dosing scale & then off the juice :thumbup
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick AMPS 70 - curve question

No such thing as a low for Maverick ohmygod_smile :lol: He wants to earn it the slow consistent green surfer way. So its his own fault he has to give me that sweet feed me face for two hours twice a day while we are wishing for a green preshot reading.
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick PMPS 64 - help me understand!

I'm SOOOO Confused!!! I did a mini curve today. He's dropped 27 points in two hours before shot time! So what do I do for data tonight? His ears are sooo red. Why the drop? He's dropped like this in previous cycles but we didn't have these low preshot numbers that I remember.
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick AMPS 70 - curve question

I have a couple of thoughts about Maverick.

One, I see that you are trying picking up his food at +10. I wonder if, instead of that, he might be able to bring his preshots down if you ADD a feeding at +9. If his pancreas is working, then adding a small meal at +9 might stimulate the pancreas to kick in and produce some insulin, helping him hold his number down at the end of the cycle. I wouldn't feed a lot, but maybe take a few tsp out of one of his earlier meals and give it at +9 each cycle. Some cats need 4 hours to bring the number down, so if +9 isn't quite cutting it then +8 might work. Play around a little and see if that helps. A lot of times when a cat is getting close to OTJ (anti-jinx) that feeding can help level things out.

Also, you're right that Maverick has earned a shave based on the guideline about being mostly green for 7 days. I probably wouldn't change both things (+9 feeding and the dose) at the same time, but that is another option. Personally, I would probably try the food for a few days and see if that gets rid of the blue preshots, and if so then shave the dose. It's up to you, though.

I sure can't argue that Maverick is looking awesome!

eta: just saw your updated post. You fed at +10 today, right? If so, then I think we have a pancreas in the house!
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick PMPS 64 - help me understand!

Thanks so much for the thoughts. Yep he eats right before I pick up the food (morning and night). The thing is he is a free feeder but rarely eats more than .5 or 1oz at one visit. I try and add fresh chicken dust to tempt him to eat when I want him to and he doesn't. So he would have only eaten about a 1/2oz to 1oz max at +10.

I updated the spreadsheet there was an error in the total amount of food he had eaten.

Today though he had a bigger breakfast than normal. Last night he had a bigger supper and puked. He rarely eats 1.5oz in a sitting so he brought it back up.

Should I keep the status quo with the food or change it somehow? Also I'm tracking what food I feed him. We recently added the fish food to the Turkey and Giblet which was his exclusive diet until a few weeks ago.

And even though the preshots are lower, I bring him to the food ever hour after PMPS (fed at PMPS) and then every hour after that and he's never gone low with a lower preshot. So if his pancreas was working would this have a double wammy? but it doesn't. This is what confuses me.

Sorry for babbling. I need a refresher on liver training school again.
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick PMPS 64 - help me understand!

Very informative condo today, Karrie & Maverick. It shows how many variables have to be juggled. Complex stuff full of nuance. Hats off to you! (I need to knuckle down and come to grips with some of this, too).

Have a good evening.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick PMPS 64 - help me understand!

maybe if you try to be sure he eats something at +9, and then pick up the food until +12 (sorry, Maverick!), that will get rid of the blue preshots. ECID, but for Lucy when her pancreas started to kick in, 3 hours wasn't long enough to see the number come down. It would go up for at least 2 hours and *maybe* start to come down by the third hour. I would get depressed and test again after another hour and see a lower number.

An easier way to test that theory would be to leave things the way they are (be sure he eats a little at +10, then pick up the food), then if he is blue at preshot, get a +1 and +2 to see if he is still going down. The insulin wouldn't be working yet at +1, so if his +1 is lower than the preshot it is pretty safe to assume that is pancreas action off of the +10 feeding. This option will give us the same information without making you have to shift things around too much.

I'm not too concerned about the low blue, the numbers are just fine, but I admit that I do prefer to see pretty much solid green before doing a sneakcrease down. If he can prove that his pancreas is working even with the blue, then I'm comfortable with that and would be comfortable trying a reduction. I'm *really* conservative with reductions. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick PMPS 64 - help me understand!

Ella - Rusty and Maverick seemed like twins in our daily condo preshot numbers and even dosing.

Also - I double tested his preshot reading. The second test was 63. Was so not expecting it.

Thanks Libby. I will read your reply a few times to make sure I understand it fully. I am very conservative with dose reductions too. For some reason they make me nervous and I don't mind the status quo. I know others from looking at their spreadsheets were much more aggressive in taking reductions and got off the juice very quickly. We aren't in any hurry. Maverick doesn't mind.

The only thing I'm worried about is I'd like to get him in for a dental in February and I would be concerned about this causing a complete reversion. I can worry about that bridge when we come closer to it. I have to find a new vet that I like anyhoo.
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick PMPS 64

Don't have any ideas, guys... but just wanted to stop by and say that your numbers look great today! Hope you have a great night!
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick PMPS 64

if he pulls another preshot like this in the morning, then I would go ahead and reduce then. Grab a couple of tests tonight if you can so you'll have something to compare to.
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick PMPS 64 +1 67

I think I get it.

*Keep dose where it is unless we get a 60ish preshot tomorrow in which case tomorrow night we do a shaved dose.
*I'm to try and get him to eat at +9. So the reason this means something is... let me think on paper... that my prenadir readings are influenced by the insulin. This most likely doesn't have an impact at the +9 mark because his lowest point is around the +3/+4 mark. So if I feed at +9 and then take away his food right after, his preshot number if its influenced by mr. pancreas will be lower than the +9 reading? And we try this for a few cycles... if no impact pick food up at +8 and see if it preshot reading is less than +8?
*If we aren't seeing his pancreas kick in we keep status quo? Or add a tiny bit to give his pancreas a bit of a break?

Off to go get a +2
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick PMPS 64 +1 67

Karrie and Maverick said:
I think I get it.

*Keep dose where it is unless we get a 60ish preshot tomorrow in which case tomorrow night we do a shaved dose.
*I'm to try and get him to eat at +9. So the reason this means something is... let me think on paper... that my prenadir readings are influenced by the insulin. This most likely doesn't have an impact at the +9 mark because his lowest point is around the +3/+4 mark. So if I feed at +9 and then take away his food right after, his preshot number if its influenced by mr. pancreas will be lower than the +9 reading? And we try this for a few cycles... if no impact pick food up at +8 and see if it preshot reading is less than +8?
*If we aren't seeing his pancreas kick in we keep status quo? Or add a tiny bit to give his pancreas a bit of a break?

Off to go get a +2

sounds good. I would reduce if he's 60s or 70s in the morning.
 
Re: 1/13 Maverick PMPS 64 +1 67 +2 60

WoW Maverick is doing good!! :mrgreen:

Frip is a free feeder too... and he used to like his fish too (max 1 a day). Now he is into liver and chicken :smile: before it was beef... ;-) as soon as I stock up on something he doesn't like it anymore.. ohmygod_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top