? 1/13 Luna AMPS 252; +4.5: 184; +7: 231

Michaela & Luna

Member Since 2021
After a too-low midday BG yesterday we reduced further to 0.25 U/2x day. Stayed up late and then woke up at +6 to recheck numbers and make sure she was OK.

Her numbers are trending high today, is it ok to stick with 0.25 U? I think someone mentioned that there can be a rebound effect after too much insulin, does anyone know how long I should expect to see that trend?

I was planning on doing a curve tomorrow, but would it make more sense to wait a few days as she adjusts to the 0.25 U dose?

Yesterday's post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-147-5-106-8-52-8-5-89-10-105-11-158.257776/

Thanks as always, slowly but surely getting the hang of this.
 
Bounces can last up to 6 cycles. Id wait til she's on 0.25U longer before doing a curve (depot still needs to drain), plus you've been testing enough recently.
 
I think someone mentioned that there can be a rebound effect after too much insulin, does anyone know how long I should expect to see that trend?
That's not a thing, not sure who told you that. What you did see is Luna bouncing after her lows yesterday. Cat's bounce from going lower than they are used to, or fast drops.

I too think you should hold that 0.25 unit dose for now. Have you thought about what dosing method you'd like to follow, either Tight Regulation prototocl or the Start Low Go Slow method? If so, and you put either TR or SLGS in your signature, it'll help us help you with dosing decisions.
 
Thanks for confirming my instinct to hold the .25 dose for a few more days before doing a curve!

By rebound effect I meant the bouncing of BG to higher levels after a low BG, thanks for reminding me of the proper terminology Wendy :) Adding Tight Regulation to my signature now!
 
Back
Top