1/13 Jackson

Status
Not open for further replies.

JacksonCatson

Member Since 2012
Hi all,

Jackson had a steep dive last night but seems to be surfing blue this afternoon. Hewas 146 at his +11.25 this evening and I need to give him his PM shot in about 20 minutes, and I'm guessing that he'll be about at the 150 threshold by then, but I am going to be away this evening from soon after his PM shot until about +4 or +5. My gut says that he'll surf on through fine, but I'd like to get a second opinion about shooting 1.25 before leaving. Could someone kindly take a look and chime in?

Here are today's numbers:

AMPS: 212
1.25 u Lantus
+6: 154
+11.25: 146

He's eating 3/4 can LC FF right now and is scheduled for 1/2 can at +4, which I could leave out for him, just in case.

Thoughts? Many thanks!
Sarah and Jackson

Apologies on the profile not posting correctly -- will fix that asap. To recap, though, he's a 4.5 year old neutered male. Dxed in mid-November (BG: 424), started Lantus early December. No ketones, no other health issues. On a low-carb wet diet. BG testing using ReliOn Confirm.
 
Re: 1/13 Jackson *Question about PM shot

Based on your SS, at this point it's hard to know what Jackson will do. If you're concerned that his numbers may drop, you can add some higher carb food to the 1/2 can you were thinking of leaving out for him. It may push his numbers a little higher than you'd want but it will give you a margin of safety.
 
Re: 1/13 Jackson *Question about PM shot

JacksonCatson said:
Here are today's numbers:

AMPS: 212
1.25 u Lantus
+6: 154
+11.25: 146

He's eating 3/4 can LC FF right now and is scheduled for 1/2 can at +4, which I could leave out for him, just in case.
We normally say not to feed withing 2 hours of the shot, so you can compare the PS test to the test before (+11.25 146) and know whether he's dropping, rising, or surfing without the influence of any food spike.
 
Re: 1/13 Jackson *Question about PM shot

Sienne and Gabby said:
Based on your SS, at this point it's hard to know what Jackson will do. If you're concerned that his numbers may drop, you can add some higher carb food to the 1/2 can you were thinking of leaving out for him. It may push his numbers a little higher than you'd want but it will give you a margin of safety.

Jackson was 234 when I got home -- I did give him a little HC gravy in with the food I left out, and that seemed to do the trick. Not ideal, but I think (?) better than skipping the PM shot.

Thanks for the help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top