1/13 holley pmps 191 (alpha) 170 (relion) + 15 minutes 179. +3.5 79. +4.5 92. +6.5 303. +9.5 385. AMPS 316

You shot a 142 on January 9th AM.

Have you decided what dosing method you'd like to follow? Our suggestion may vary depending on that answer.
 
In the long run my schedule would be best with not doing TR. but I’ve found myself being panicky and constantly checking her afraid of her going too low.
I’ll update her spreadsheet in a moment. My schedule doesn’t really allow for much change in her am/pm times.
 
Listen to Wendy—she’s the GOAT.
I’ll take all advice I can get. She’s so all over the place with bounces. So being at these numbers and starting the new meter I panicked 😂 I’m about to feed her now, I’ll give a small snack to shoot her if needed since she’s super spicy and I can’t shoot unless she’s eating.
5.8 lbs on smol but mighty super spice!
 
I'm linking your first post on Feline Health, in case people want to see the background: New here!

Whether you pick SLGS or TR, just put it in the signature so people can quickly see it.

One option for you is to stall. That means waiting 15-20 minutes and see if she comes up closer to where you feel comfy shooting.

Can you monitor her tonight? Got some high carb food around and plenty of test strips?
 
I'm linking your first post on Feline Health, in case people want to see the background: New here!

Whether you pick SLGS or TR, just put it in the signature so people can quickly see it.

One option for you is to stall. That means waiting 15-20 minutes and see if she comes up closer to where you feel comfy shooting.

Can you monitor her tonight? Got some high carb food around and plenty of test strips?
I do have everything needed. Monitoring is gonna be hard but I can absolutely do it. I’ve done it a few times in the last week, definitely sleep deprived.
I just fed her, I can stall no more than a half hour to keep on her schedule with my work schedule.
I have everything on board ICE. I’m about out of AT strips but plenty of relions.
 
I'm linking your first post on Feline Health, in case people want to see the background: New here!

Whether you pick SLGS or TR, just put it in the signature so people can quickly see it.

One option for you is to stall. That means waiting 15-20 minutes and see if she comes up closer to where you feel comfy shooting.

Can you monitor her tonight? Got some high carb food around and plenty of test strips?
I feel like mentally I’ll end up doing TR just because I’m a worry wart. But I’d like to be able to have days where I don’t need to worry quite as much. So I really don’t know which to go with.
 
When you shoot a lower number than you are comfortable with, start with at least a +2 test to give you a heads up on how the cycle might go.
 
The first time you see green, or after a big drop like that, good to give a tsp or two of her regular low carb food.

If you are following SLGS for dosing, she earns are reduction if she goes under 90.

Not sure I'll be up much longer, but there should be others around later. Modify your subject line to add something like "Help" if you need assistance.
 
Is it even possible to reduce from 0.25???
I’ll be up until she levels and stops coming down. I have to be up at 9 and it’s already 230 😩. Will keep updated.
 
+2.5 67…+3 70… had some LC post 67 and 70. 1 tsp each time. +3.5 79…+4.5 92…
 
Last edited:
Hi Jenn,
Looks like you did a great job with Holley last night. I've read a bit about you two but don't have the greatest of memories. It's awful to be dealing with FD in such a young kitty. It's scary when you see those green numbers and you're not used to it. It is absolutely possible to follow TR while working fulltime. You just adjust everything you need to, to your schedule.

I see Wendy has been helping you, that's great! She is the one who has helped me with dosing. My Monster was diagnosed just over 2 months ago and we started out on 2 units of Lantus. And, yes, believe it or not, there is a dose smaller than .25 and it's what Monster is on now .10
Let me tell ya, it's not the easiest to measure. But thanks to Wendy and Mary, my Monster is on the road to remission. You're welcome to look at her SS.

It sounds like you work an odd schedule too. I used to work until midnight until this year, I got a daytime shift from 12p-8pm. Most everyone around here has a full time job and sometimes it can be very busy on this forum. But eveyone here is great, supportive and so helpful. You've come to right place for help with Holley.

I hope you and Holley have a great day😻
 
Hi Jenn,
Looks like you did a great job with Holley last night. I've read a bit about you two but don't have the greatest of memories. It's awful to be dealing with FD in such a young kitty. It's scary when you see those green numbers and you're not used to it. It is absolutely possible to follow TR while working fulltime. You just adjust everything you need to, to your schedule.

I see Wendy has been helping you, that's great! She is the one who has helped me with dosing. My Monster was diagnosed just over 2 months ago and we started out on 2 units of Lantus. And, yes, believe it or not, there is a dose smaller than .25 and it's what Monster is on now .10
Let me tell ya, it's not the easiest to measure. But thanks to Wendy and Mary, my Monster is on the road to remission. You're welcome to look at her SS.

It sounds like you work an odd schedule too. I used to work until midnight until this year, I got a daytime shift from 12p-8pm. Most everyone around here has a full time job and sometimes it can be very busy on this forum. But eveyone here is great, supportive and so helpful. You've come to right place for help with Holley.

I hope you and Holley have a great day😻
Thank you for the reassurance. I work 2:30 PM to 11 PM. I actually just changed her feeding to 12 and 12 just to make sure I have a time buffer in case I’m late at work. I was reading the TR for people that work full-time and it’s pretty spot on with what I’m already doing so I think I’m going to stick with TR. It will put my mind at ease.
 
Thank you for the reassurance. I work 2:30 PM to 11 PM. I actually just changed her feeding to 12 and 12 just to make sure I have a time buffer in case I’m late at work. I was reading the TR for people that work full-time and it’s pretty spot on with what I’m already doing so I think I’m going to stick with TR. It will put my mind at ease.
I'm a bit of a control freak and I like to test and see her numbers all the time. So TR was the way to go for me. I started with SLGS because I was afraid of those low numbers.
Just for simplicity, I think using the Relion numbers mostly will be much easier for everyone involved, especially you. We've had people use both before and it ends up being so confusing. Everyone here is used to the human meter readings and they are so much cheaper as well. I even bought a pet meter because my vet insisted that I use one. I tried both and ended up just sticking with my human Contour meter. It was so much less confusing that way. I have also changed my test/feed/shoot schedule a couple of times. Mainly to be able to get a +2 OTD test to see how her cycle is likely going to go.
Your SS and signature are looking great by the way!!!
 
Also, I manually color in the number blocks on my SS from my phone. It took me a while to figure it out, but it should be possible for you to as well. I'm not really that knowledgeable about SS but I'm happy to help, if I can.
 
I'm a bit of a control freak and I like to test and see her numbers all the time. So TR was the way to go for me. I started with SLGS because I was afraid of those low numbers.
Just for simplicity, I think using the Relion numbers mostly will be much easier for everyone involved, especially you. We've had people use both before and it ends up being so confusing. Everyone here is used to the human meter readings and they are so much cheaper as well. I even bought a pet meter because my vet insisted that I use one. I tried both and ended up just sticking with my human Contour meter. It was so much less confusing that way. I have also changed my test/feed/shoot schedule a couple of times. Mainly to be able to get a +2 OTD test to see how her cycle is likely going to go.
Your SS and signature are looking great by the way!!!
Yeah, I’m extremely OCD so seeing her numbers is definitely a plus I would eventually like to be able to back off and not worry so much but that’s not going to be anytime soon. I have completely switched over to the human meter as of last night. I just did my pre-shot with both just so I could see what the differences really looked like. I think about the closest I can get to a +2 is about an hour and a half with my travel time which I’ve been doing.
 
Also, I manually color in the number blocks on my SS from my phone. It took me a while to figure it out, but it should be possible for you to as well. I'm not really that knowledgeable about SS but I'm happy to help, if I can.
I did try that last night, but my phone won’t allow me to fully color match. It’s a little too off from what they need to be for them to be accurate. I have the super low green, but not the one that I needed last night.
 
Yeah, I’m extremely OCD so seeing her numbers is definitely a plus I would eventually like to be able to back off and not worry so much but that’s not going to be anytime soon. I have completely switched over to the human meter as of last night. I just did my pre-shot with both just so I could see what the differences really looked like. I think about the closest I can get to a +2 is about an hour and a half with my travel time which I’ve been doing.
That's great! The +2 can say alot about the cycle, I've learned, from Wendy.
I did try that last night, but my phone won’t allow me to fully color match. It’s a little too off from what they need to be for them to be accurate. I have the super low green, but not the one that I needed last night.
Hmm, that odd that it's so different. I have to get to the "custom" colors for them to match. Of course I probably couldn't tell ya how I figured it out, but I did 😅 the colors just really help everyone here to quickly scan over the sheet and read it at a glance. But if it doesn't give you that option then there's nothing you can do. I'm one of those "older" people that likes to complain about technology😆
By they way, when is "your weekend"? Those days you will be able to get more data and start seeing patterns hopefully.
 
That's great! The +2 can say alot about the cycle, I've learned, from Wendy.

Hmm, that odd that it's so different. I have to get to the "custom" colors for them to match. Of course I probably couldn't tell ya how I figured it out, but I did 😅 the colors just really help everyone here to quickly scan over the sheet and read it at a glance. But if it doesn't give you that option then there's nothing you can do. I'm one of those "older" people that likes to complain about technology😆
By they way, when is "your weekend"? Those days you will be able to get more data and start seeing patterns hopefully.
Yeah, I couldn’t figure out how to get custom colors. I’ll keep trying though, but I will absolutely get it fixed when I get to work. My weekend is Friday Saturday, which you might actually be able to tell by my spreadsheet 😂. I’m younger, but I still despise technology.
 
Yeah, I couldn’t figure out how to get custom colors. I’ll keep trying though, but I will absolutely get it fixed when I get to work. My weekend is Friday Saturday, which you might actually be able to tell by my spreadsheet 😂. I’m younger, but I still despise technology.
I found it. This is from Wendy, and a few of us have this posted on our SS just to remember it. (I did on my 2025 sheet, an then I screwed up my 2025 sheet and Marje had to fix it for me) 🤭

"""A guideline that may help you to decide if you need to pull an all nighter is the +2 value compared to preshot value. If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid. If the +2 is higher (such as last night), it's a quiet cycle and you can go to sleep.""
 
I found it. This is from Wendy, and a few of us have this posted on our SS just to remember it. (I did on my 2025 sheet, an then I screwed up my 2025 sheet and Marje had to fix it for me) 🤭

"""A guideline that may help you to decide if you need to pull an all nighter is the +2 value compared to preshot value. If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid. If the +2 is higher (such as last night), it's a quiet cycle and you can go to sleep.""
That’s pretty much what I’ve been doing! Thank you!! Definitely stressful for sure. The vetsulin was nowhere near as stressful but wasn’t working for her in the long run.
 
Stupid question since my schedule is different than most people and I started this thread around midnight last night so I keep this one going for a.m. or do I start my next one?
Her AMPS is 316 so she dropped quite a bit since I woke up and last tested her.
 
If your coming up her "AM" cycle, I would start one for today beginning with AMPS. It probably doesn't matter either way. I usually enter all my overnight PM cycle info in my new daily post.
 
Stupid question since my schedule is different than most people and I started this thread around midnight last night so I keep this one going for a.m. or do I start my next one?
Her AMPS is 316 so she dropped quite a bit since I woke up and last tested her.
There are no stupid questions!
 
Back
Top