1/13 Emmett AMPS 353 +5 459

KLD

Member Since 2024
Hi all,

Emmett got his first dose of Lantus this morning after being rediagnosed with diabetes. Long story short, he’s diabetic again because he needs to be on a high dose of prednisolone (10mg every 12 hours) in combination with a special diet (hydrolyzed prescription food, dry food so it’s high carb). The diabetes came back within days of starting treatment. For now, the food and the meds are unfortunately non-negotiable. He’s being treated for eosinophilic granuloma on his tongue that is treatment-resistant, and we’re trying to figure out what might be triggering it beyond his known trigger (chicken).

He was started on 1 unit this morning.

Sorry, I don’t have his spreadsheet updated as it’s been a while. I don’t have a 2026 sheet for him yet and am wondering if someone can point me to directions for that? Not sure how to update the year.

I used TR the last time he was diabetic and on Lantus, but circumstances are a little different right now and don’t think I can monitor him as closely right at this moment. I also know I’m not going to be able to get him back into remission until he’s off the meds, though I think the food is the biggest problem (I’ve successfully kept him on steroids long term without diabetes reoccurring while eating low carb).

Just looking for any general advice on dosing etc. It’s been a while since I’ve dealt with this. I think he’ll end up needing a much higher dose to get him regulated under the current circumstances. I couldn’t really use his previous experience on Lantus because he was such an oddball and went into remission so quickly.
 
I think @Marje and Gracie is the person to go to for spreadsheet help? Your spreadsheet doesn't have a "template" sheet to copy from, and since it looks like you're using the version that automatically converts US numbers to World numbers, I don't want to try to mess with it because I'm not sure how it was set up that way. (Otherwise I'd offer!)

Sympathy/solidarity on a cat out of remission; at least it's for a good cause, sounds like. I hope Emmett's doing well in spite of these health issues, and that regulation isn't as hard as you're worried it will be. (Speaking as someone whose cat is resisting regulation a whole lot, and it's very frustrating ... but mine has an infection, so that's a little different.)

I'm not experienced enough to be comfortable giving dosing advice, but that said, if you're planning to follow SLGS for now, 1u is the recommended starting dose according to the guideline post: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) - so it sounds like you're starting out in the right place.
 
I think @Marje and Gracie is the person to go to for spreadsheet help? Your spreadsheet doesn't have a "template" sheet to copy from, and since it looks like you're using the version that automatically converts US numbers to World numbers, I don't want to try to mess with it because I'm not sure how it was set up that way. (Otherwise I'd offer!)

Sympathy/solidarity on a cat out of remission; at least it's for a good cause, sounds like. I hope Emmett's doing well in spite of these health issues, and that regulation isn't as hard as you're worried it will be. (Speaking as someone whose cat is resisting regulation a whole lot, and it's very frustrating ... but mine has an infection, so that's a little different.)

I'm not experienced enough to be comfortable giving dosing advice, but that said, if you're planning to follow SLGS for now, 1u is the recommended starting dose according to the guideline post: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) - so it sounds like you're starting out in the right place.
Thank you! I’ll get myself all situated eventually.

Hopefully once we get the bump on his tongue down, we can get everything else resolved. It’s looking a lot better so far, but it’s on the underside so it’s hard to get a good look at. Our current strategy is to get him to hiss at the vet so she can examine him lol.

I will stick with SLGS for now. So much to remember but it’ll all come back to me quickly haha.

Best of luck with your cat!! It’s so frustrating.
 
Thank you! I’ll get myself all situated eventually.

Hopefully once we get the bump on his tongue down, we can get everything else resolved. It’s looking a lot better so far, but it’s on the underside so it’s hard to get a good look at. Our current strategy is to get him to hiss at the vet so she can examine him lol.

I will stick with SLGS for now. So much to remember but it’ll all come back to me quickly haha.

Best of luck with your cat!! It’s so frustrating.
Please send me a PM and I’ll get the SS fixed for you. Sorry for the delay in response…been traveling.

THank you .
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Hi K- sorry that Emmett is having issues with that tongue bump. I see Marje has helped you with the SS, hoping that the pred continues to help. How much does Emmett weigh these days, and is it considered his ideal weight?
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Hi K- sorry that Emmett is having issues with that tongue bump. I see Marje has helped you with the SS, hoping that the pred continues to help. How much does Emmett weigh these days, and is it considered his ideal weight?
Hopefully this round of pred will resolve it; he’s now on an immunosuppressing dose. It’s been almost a year of this.

Emmett weighs about 16 pounds. He went up to 16.9, which was largely because of how long he’s been on steroids and my inability to deal with a constantly hungry cat screaming at me lol. His ideal is about 13. He lost almost a pound (!!) in the last few weeks, which is waaay too quickly. Hopefully that was “just” the diabetes coming back.
 
Oh so he got a little husky lol. I was just checking since I pondered the starting dose being a little on the low side, since he’s coming back from the Falls. It’s not quite the same as those new and starting out first time around. And, you may find that he’ll need more juice to balance out the impacts of the high dose of pred. Sending him some extra bum pats.
 
Oh so he got a little husky lol. I was just checking since I pondered the starting dose being a little on the low side, since he’s coming back from the Falls. It’s not quite the same as those new and starting out first time around. And, you may find that he’ll need more juice to balance out the impacts of the high dose of pred. Sending him some extra bum pats.
He sure did lol. He had been sitting around the 13-14 pound range for a while. But at this point, between multiple tongue surgeries, the pred, and now diabetes, I’m just trying to take this one thing at a time.

I did figure the dose would be too low, especially based on the last time he was on insulin. He was getting upwards of 3 units at times. But his vet wanted him to start at 1 unit. I’m doing SLGS for now but I’ll probably switch to TR if I can swing it with my work schedule.
 
Back
Top