1/13 Eddie AMPS/99, +6.5/82, PMPS/169, +3.5/49, +5/61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 1/12 Condo

Yesterday: AMPS/99, +1/130, +2/113, +3/87, +3.5/77, +6/95, PMPS/135, +1/131, +2/56, +2.5/49, +3/48, +3.5/45, +4/57, +5/60, +6/73, +7/81, +9/89
Today: AMPS/99, +1/129, +3/96, +6/99, +6.5/82, +10.5/123, PMPS/169, +1/155, +2/118, +3/54, +3.5/49, +4/51, +4.5/53, +5/61, +6/65, +7/79

Hi LL!

Thanks for stopping by on Eddie's condo last night Elise and Serryn, and thanks so much for your input on reducing, Julie.

I've often thought that maybe Eddie needed to run in the 40's, as when he's had runs of good numbers in the past, he seemed to need a dose high enough to put him in the 40's in order to keep the bouncing under control.

From your post yesterday referencing the Tilly's Protocol on Phase 3: Holding the Dose ~

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.​

For now, the part I'm looking at is the "...are difficult to regulate..." Since Eddie seems be pretty regulated at the moment, and I'm not having to do much to make that happen, I'm thinking that he doesn't necessarily need to be run in the 40's to keep his good numbers. But, of course, that may very well change.

I did reduce Eddie to 0.375 this morning, and his AM cycle looked to be pretty flat. He had a nice green start to the day and appears to have stayed green for much of the day. He was a little high at pre-shot tonight, but has come back down...fast. In fact, he's hit his first below 50 on this new dose already. Interesting.

Fingers crossed for this reduction to stick! If not, right back up we'll go!

Have a good night everyone!
 
Last edited:
It could definitely still be the previous dose influencing his BGs. That can happen for as many as 6 cycles after a reduction. I *think* i'd be inclined to hold this dose a little longer and see if it really is TOO much or if it's the previous dose still. I would lean towards it being the previous dose. It's up to you, though - consider how much effort you're putting into keeping him above 50.

Kind of an exciting problem to have! :D
 
Hi Elise! Thanks for stopping by! :D

It could definitely still be the previous dose influencing his BGs. That can happen for as many as 6 cycles after a reduction. I *think* i'd be inclined to hold this dose a little longer and see if it really is TOO much or if it's the previous dose still. I would lean towards it being the previous dose. It's up to you, though - consider how much effort you're putting into keeping him above 50.

Kind of an exciting problem to have! :D

Hi Julie! Yeah, I totally agree that it could still be the 0.5u at play. I've been doing the 3-in-the-40's approach to reductions for maybe six months or longer. So this dip wouldn't result in a reduction even if it weren't depot. When Eddie first started to flatten and drop in dose, I was using a three-under-50 plus shaving approach to keep more insulin in longer, and he would almost invariably hit 30s or 40s within one or two cycles after a reduction, making it tough to decide whether another reduction was warranted right away. At first, I was disregarding those drops that would occur right after a reduction. That approach resulted in the depot getting ahead once or twice, but I found that he wasn't holding the full 1/4 unit reductions. So, what's seemed to work recently, is to count that very first drop into the 40's when counting the three drops under 50 - even if it might be the depot of the previous dose, and then taking a 1/8 unit reduction rather than the quarter unit. At least that's what's seemed to work recently! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top