1/13 Doodles PMPS 120 +5 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 1/12 Yesterday Doodles surfed in the high greens most of the day and has been eating his wet food pretty good. That all changed at last nights before bed meal. :banghead::banghead: 3 different cans of FF and he barley ate 1oz. He did poop again an hour later and the stools were formed so figured ok, he had a little tummy ache (even though he pooped in the morning). This morning, same thing...:banghead::banghead: 3 cans of FF to get 1oz in him on top of the ugly AMPS. Although I'm use to this food game with him, today it's on my nerves :mad::mad:

I'm afraid we made a mistake on the last 2 reductions after staying in normal range for 7 days each time. Hopefully his numbers will improve a bit in the next few days or think we're looking at another increase to 1.25.
 
Hopefully both Doodles and Boomer will visit the lagoon shortly!
I hear you about the food problem! Sometimes Boomer just refuses to eat.....but I can feed him the same food off a fork and he gobbles it right up! For obvious reasons I try not to do this very often :rolleyes:
 
Fingers crossed that he will eat normally later this day. Doodles, FF is yummy stuff and lots of kitties would be glad to have just one flavor, much less three!
 
Hoping Doodles will start eating better for you again. Come back to the Lagoon Doodles! When you say you made a mistake with the last two reductions, are you saying you shouldn't have reduced?
 
Not that I've noticed but YA is a controversial topic.

Yes it is controversial but you have to get you kittie to eat ....you gotta do what you gotta do.

I'm afraid we made a mistake on the last 2 reductions after staying in normal range for 7 days each time.
Do you think you should have held the dose longer? I am just trying to learn.
 
Do you think you should have held the dose longer?

To me his numbers looked good to give the reduction a try. He's still holding in mostly normal numbers just not the beautiful greens we had for a few weeks. This dance is what it is but some days I just want to pull every hair out of my head. We tried and will go back up if needed but for now he's holding 1 unit.
 
To me his numbers looked good to give the reduction a try. He's still holding in mostly normal numbers just not the beautiful greens we had for a few weeks. This dance is what it is but some days I just want to pull every hair out of my head. We tried and will go back up if needed but for now he's holding 1 unit.
I hear you! It is quite exhausting with the ups and downs. Hang in there!
 
Doodles is obviously not feeling good today, no playing, laying around, and higher than usual numbers. Feeling helpless so we'll just have to make it though the day as best we can.
 
I hope he is better really soon and back on the trail to the green lagoon, but 123 is hardly "ugly"! The food thing is enough to make you batty. I empathize and sympathize. Somewhere out there, there has to be a food he would love, but how you find it is the mystery. Good luck today!
 
Sorry to hear that Doodles isn't feeling well today. Hang in there, I hope that this is just a temporary setback and that he will be back to being his normal, playful self soon. :bighug:
 
Having a mini break down today. Wondering if I should increase at PMPS to 1.25. This is the 7th cycle and his numbers haven't been so hot.
Sorry that you're having such a crappy day! It is really tough to not let it get to you sometimes - not just the numbers, but also the worry about our babies when they clearly don't feel well. Take care of yourself. Doodles has comes such a long ways, I'm sure that this is just a temporary setback.
 
It is so hard on us beans when they don't feel well. Do you give him any sort of tummy meds when he seems off? I hope he's feeling better by now...
 
any sort of tummy meds when he seems off
Sometimes Prilosec or SEB. In May we took away all dry and he barley ate 2 cans of FF a day while on Vetsulin. In July he hypo'd, we switched to Lantus, went on DM dry per the IM vet and used Anzement for a few days. We continue to try to increase wet and decrease dry. His pattern is too much wet = upset stomach and lack of appy. It's a no win situation most of the time.
 
Doodles, you gotta eat, bud! Feel better soon!

Snick played the fud game when she was first dx and we were trying to find the best food for her. She hated everything but Nulo, When we started have money trouble we couldn't afford to only feed Nulo so got the FF and friskies and luckily she likes most of those, except whitefish flavors.
 
Sometimes Prilosec or SEB. In May we took away all dry and he barley ate 2 cans of FF a day while on Vetsulin. In July he hypo'd, we switched to Lantus, went on DM dry per the IM vet and used Anzement for a few days. We continue to try to increase wet and decrease dry. His pattern is too much wet = upset stomach and lack of appy. It's a no win situation most of the time.

It's a tough balancing act sometimes....but you gotta do/feed whatever works for your kitty - ECID and all that jazz. It's a long, convoluted story, but I have 3 civvies who have to eat a lower protein/higher carb diet who absolutely will starve themselves before eating wet....if they ever developed FD, I would have to work within that restriction.

With Trix, I have found that she benefits best if I'm consistent with tummy meds. Any time I've tried to wean her off, she backslides. I wonder if something like that would help with Doodles...giving him whatever settles him best consistently to stay ahead of tummy issues, rather than just when they flare up. Just tossing the idea out there to ponder....
 
It's a tough balancing act sometimes....but you gotta do/feed whatever works for your kitty - ECID and all that jazz. It's a long, convoluted story, but I have 3 civvies who have to eat a lower protein/higher carb diet who absolutely will starve themselves before eating wet....if they ever developed FD, I would have to work within that restriction.

With Trix, I have found that she benefits best if I'm consistent with tummy meds. Any time I've tried to wean her off, she backslides. I wonder if something like that would help with Doodles...giving him whatever settles him best consistently to stay ahead of tummy issues, rather than just when they flare up. Just tossing the idea out there to ponder....

Any suggestions? I have a new probiotic to try. We will not pill him so the only option is something injectable or that he'll eat in his wet food. Going to the vet on Monday for acupuncture and to have his teeth looked it. I've noticed some drooling lately. Luckily no vomiting or loose stools, just fatigue and loss of appy.
 
It is an ECID thing...since you're going to the vet, maybe ask them for suggestions, just to be sure you don't have any sort of contraindications (not all meds are OK for all kitties). I do pill Trix with Pepcid twice a day, along with Cerenia every other day (or sometimes every day). Pepcid can be compounded into a liquid, but I know it has a short shelf life.

Some folks here do have good luck with SEB, but I personally have never tried it.
 
Is he licking his lips? That could be a sign of nausea which would obviously explain the problem with his appy.
He licks his lips to tell me he's hungry - lol...seriously. He's eating the YA just fine, it's the wet again that he's hardly eating. It'll pass, the last 2 days he was upto 8oz of FF and like last time....after a few days of that much wet, he starts eating less and less again.
 
The needle didn't really move other than the food spike this morning. Whatever, not even trying to figure it out. Tomorrow is another day.
 
Tomorrow is another day.
So true. Kitties are allowed to have an off day. Heck, we do occasionally too! He did get to 74 on this dose yesterday.

I don't think you made a mistake with the last reductions. It's something you have to try and see if it works. But if it doesn't, head on back up. So much can change with our cats, especially with IBD in the picture too. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top