1/13 Buzz- AMPS 234/ What to do tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Very Active Member
Last night was the first night of 1.0u, and at PMPS +3, she was only at 343 (down 24 pts from PMPS) and I was worried. I went to bed, so that +3 was the only test I got in; unfortunately no nadir check. BUT this morning she was at 234, so I am excited to see what the cycle brings. :)

ETA: I am not sure what to do tonight if she is still hovering around 111 or so. Is there a no-shoot number? I know the other night when this happened, I was advised to wait, so I did, but her number didn't really move by +13.5 and I ended up shooting a reduced dose (0.5u). That dose did not work for her, hence my increase to 1.0u today. I know I should not skip a dose so...

We don't shoot PM dose until late (11:30 p.m. CST) so I wanted to get this question out while there are still more eyes awake. It could be that we will not run into this issue, but better safe than sorry. ;)
 
Re: 1/13 Buzz- AMPS 234

Me too! But I'm gonna have to catch the rerun, because it's already night time here. Keep a close watch on her, Lantus is quite gentle so even when the numbers are low the cats act fine (just hungry) no need to panic just bring it up nicely with a few bites of food and keep repeating as long as needed. Hope you get some really pretty numbers today.
 
Re: 1/13 Buzz- AMPS 234 +2- 186

Sarah and Buzz said:
Last night was the first night of 1.0u, and at PMPS +3, she was only at 343 (down 24 pts from PMPS) and I was worried. I went to bed, so that +3 was the only test I got in; unfortunately no nadir check. BUT this morning she was at 234, so I am excited to see what the cycle brings. :)
 
Re: 1/13 Buzz- AMPS 234 +2- 186

Hmmm, weird, I edited my original post's subject to reflect the +2, but it did the message above instead. Anyway, there's the data. :) Good drop so far for sure!
 
sarah, we need more info before we can offer any advice. :-D
when kitty is running lower... it's very helpful to get a +10 or +11. then you'll know where your next preshot number is coming from...
 
Ok, I will be getting the PMPS # in about 15 minutes so I will post that then and see if there is even any reason for this conversation. ;)
 
In order to post the new numbers, you have to edit your first post and change the subject line. That will put the updated numbers on the message that's visible on the Board. However, in order to bump your post up, you will also have to post a reply.
 
Sarah and Buzz said:
ETA: I am not sure what to do tonight if she is still hovering around 111 or so. Is there a no-shoot number? I know the other night when this happened, I was advised to wait, so I did, but her number didn't really move by +13.5 and I ended up shooting a reduced dose (0.5u). That dose did not work for her, hence my increase to 1.0u today. I know I should not skip a dose so...

Usually when a person first starts Lantus/Lev and gets a lower preshot than they are used to, we advise them to stall. Once you are comfortable with lower preshots and have collected a bit more data as Jill suggested, then shooting lower PS is not a problem. There is really no set number that is too low to shoot - it depends on the bean and the data collected. I routinely shoot very low numbers that other beans may stall or BCS on, but I have collected the data to do so and have the ability to monitor closely most days.

Interested in seeing what PMPS is. :smile:
 
PMPS is 323. I havenot shot yet because I want to make sure that the dose was not too high. I know this is almost impossible, based on the data I collected, but with a PMPS of 100 points higher than the AMPS, I just wanted to make sure. I feel like I have no idea what I'm doing. ;)
 
I'm glad I could help you fulfill your lifelong dream. :) Will shoot now and feed before the kitties shoot me in the name of hunger. ;) Thanks!
 
Could be NDW:

Per Tilly Protocol:

Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.

I would hold the new dose.
 
What is NDW?

Apparently organs have emotions, as I was talking to my vet today and she said that the kidney is an angry organ! :lol:
 
NDW = new dose wonkiness.

"Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
 
Sarah and Buzz said:
What is NDW?

Apparently organs have emotions, as I was talking to my vet today and she said that the kidney is an angry organ! :lol:

:lol:

Oh yes, my proffessor said the kidneys were a sexy organ (the male and female gonads actually develop in the embryo from kidney) And the heart is a hungry organ.

I think my brain must be sleepy then :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top