1/13 Bandit PMPS 158 +3 87 +5 57 +6 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julia & Bandit (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2380

So I was wondering...now that Bandit is finally stablizing on his dose, how long do I hold this dose (1u) before beginning to reduce? What prompts the reduction (besides a BG of less than 50)? I read Tilly's page, but I'm a little confused on what indicators are needed to lower the dose. It says 7 days of green, but does that mean just at the peak? Does he have to stop rebounding competely, or is it ok as long as he's rebounding in the blue?
 
Re: 1/13 Bandit AMPS 173 Dose Opinion Needed

I personally would not try reducing until the rebound stops... because it's not just a matter of the insulin being able to get her down, it's a matter of her body accepting the lower ranges as "normal"... rebound means that lower number wasn't considered "normal" yet.
 
Re: 1/13 Bandit AMPS 173 Dose Opinion Needed

Ok...so I should be holding, then? What sort of number would I be looking at to reduce? All numbers for a week within 50-130?
 
Re: 1/13 Bandit AMPS 173 Dose Opinion Needed

From the Tight Regulation Protocol said:
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!

I think this may help to clarify your question. (This part of the protocol was recently revised.) Bandit's numbers would pretty much need to be all in the greens -- or the vast majority of tests would need to be in the greens for a week for a reduction to be earned. In addition, 3 days in the 40 to 50 range now earns a reduction.

Does this help?
 
Re: 1/13 Bandit AMPS 173 Dose Opinion Needed

Bandit's numbers are looking great. :mrgreen:

This is the part where patience comes into play. We need to sit on this dose until Bandit either goes below 50 on it, or until the blue preshot numbers come down on their own (or until the spot checks show that his numbers are staying too high at nadir and he needs an increase, but right now that isn't the case because he had a 69 a few days ago). Keep getting your spot checks so we'll know if he does start going low, but otherwise we wait.
 
I threw out my back tonight, and Bandit was lower than usual so I gave him a little yogurt with his snack to give him a boost 'til morning. I know I should get a few more checks, but it was all I could do bending over to get what I did, so I hope he has another good day tomorrow.
 
(((Julia))) Hope your back feels better soon!

Bandit's SS is looking fantastic lately! Shouldn't be long before he earns a reduction. Sending surf vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top