1/13 AMPS 96 +6 54 Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne#5 GA

Member Since 2011
Hi Everyone,

Update for Daphne and advice needed please. On 1/11/12 Daphne's #'s were low all day, AMPS was 146, then PMPS was 58, +1 59, +2 60…. skipped PMS. 1/12/12, her APS was 234, +1 209, +2 154…

So today, AMPS was 96, +6 was 54. (more checks on her SS) So the question is, do I need to adjust the dose? What I can see from my untrained eye is that we changed food from DM to EVO and since that time (7 Days on EVO), her numbers have been getting low consistently, with nothing over 155 except for the other day when we skipped a dose. She's on 2u for a little over a month now. So I was wondering if I should go down to 1.75?

Thanks, any advice is appreciated.

Barb and Daphne
 
Wow, that's really nice how fast Daphne recovered from the bounce after the skipped shot!

Protocol for a newly diagnosed cat is if the number falls below 50 then you reduce by .25u.
Did you feed her at +3? Have you gotten anymore readings since the +6?
 
I didn't feed after +3, but did feed after +6. The +6 was one hour ago. So I guess if the next reading is 50 or under I dose at 1.75?

I read and re-read as much as I can from all the links here, but I am still having trouble understanding this stuff. So I hope eveyone here can be patient with me. My illness pretty much zaps my memory, even the very short term, so even if I read it yesterday, I forgot by today. :roll:

Barb and Daphne
 
Her numbers will probably continue to rise until +12 when you give the next dose (that would be true with my Jesse whether or not I fed him). Personally, I would just continue to monitor her numbers to catch a 'below 50' number. But be carefull she doesn't go too far under 50 (do your have high carb food on hand?)
 
Barb:

Daphne is certainly looking good!! Carolyn is spot on that you don't want to reduce her until she goes below 50. It looks like she might be thinking about a reduction so I would be sure and keep a close eye on her BG.

If she gives you a low number (below 50) when you test, please post and ask for assistance. If it is a quiet time of day and no one responds, you can refer to the link in my signature on Handling Low Numbers.

I would recommend you start getting a +11 test as that will generally tell you which way she might be headed and gives you time to post if she's low towards her PS. There's also a link to Dealing with Low Preshots in my signature.
Most of us print these out and put them in a notebook so they are handy if we need them in a hurry.

You're doing great!!!
 
OK, thanks, I just printed the info. and will read fast and then test her again before her PMPS.

Barb and Daphne
 
You're getting great info.

Given how terrific Daphne's numbers are looking, you may want to think about getting a few more spot checks especially during the PM cycle. Since Daphne has decided she likes green, you don't want to miss a drop below 50.

And, given how great she's looking, you may want to give her credit by putting her name in your subject line.
 
Update-Daphne has been green all day. I read the protocol and I see if she stays with these numbers for a week, then I may be able to lower her dose. So I updated her SS at +1 and +2 and I think she is safe enough to let her relax for a while from testing, she seems like she is getting a little tired of my poking her so often. So, I'll watch her for the rest of the night till I go to bed at about 2:00 AM. I will post tomorrow with her new numbers, with fingers crossed, that she will be consistent and in the green.

Thanks everyone for your advice!
Barb and Daphne
 
Please get a test at +2 or +3. When you see a +1 or a +2 that is the same as your pre-shot, it tells you that it may be an active cycle. Your +1 should reflect a food spike and be higher than your pre-shot.
 
hi barb! wow, daphne is looking great!

don't worry about needing the info over again, or asking the same questions again. we all do it! at least you have a reason for it - i'm just middle-aged and forgetful! :lol:

just in case you don't know - with lantus there often don't seem to be the dramatic symptoms that we are listed for hypo until they are very low. you can get lower numbers that need attention without seeing any behavior signs. i'm just encouraging you to keep up the testing to monitor.

you're doing great! :YMHUG:
 
Sienne, so do you mean a +2, +3 in the AM? I assume you must since I got the +1, +2, tonight. And are you saying something is wrong because the +1 should have been higher (from food spike)?

I get what you said Julie, I will test now before I go to bed. She is sleeping, but she did get a snack at 12:30 tonight.

So I hope my husband can do the +2, +3, since I will hopefully be sleeping. If he can't, I'll have him call me and wake me. We have a busy weekend, and sleep is my only fix for my illness, but whatever is needed for Daphne…

I'll post probably after 2pm tomorrow and update the SS. Don't worry, I will either get up in the AM or have my husband do it. I'm also going to wake her and test her now, its 2:00 Am.

Thanks, sorry if I scared you guys, I thought Daphne was in the clear after the 10:00 PM check.

Barb and Daphne
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top