penni
Member Since 2017
Prior: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...124-4-148-6-148-8-174-10-274-pmps-235.189288/
Our 2nd curve and I'm happy overall, but the data did surprise me. Up and down (more a squiggle than a curve?) and, after being so clustered in the early hours, such jumps in the later!
Where do we go from here? As I'm following SLGS, this curve tells me it might be time for a reduced dose. I feel really conflicted about it! First, there's only one nadir under 90 not "nadirs" under 90 as the SLGS instructions say. And, second, I guess because her curve today doesn't look so traditional, I'm less inclined to make decisions on it. I mean, in addition to above, what's with the nadir at +8, not to mention the mini-peak at +4, when she should have been going steadily down - weird, right? Maybe I should just hang in at 1u for another week before making a decision?
On the other hand, I definitely do not want to risk pushing her numbers too low! She already was barely snatched back from the jaws of death in her first week after Dx due to a hypo episode. Also, I was sort of hoping I would meet the rules to reduce because there were 3 times this week that I had to wait and recheck at PS due to low-ish BG. Maybe with a lower dose, we won't do that very often? She would be so happy about that, and so would I. She does NOT like waiting for meals. Lately her meows have turned into more like screams and loud, sustained screaming at 6am will, I'm afraid, someday result in calls to the police or angry knocking from neighbors!
So two places I would appreciate feedback:
1. Did we really meet the qualifications to reduce per SLGS? Is there anything you would caution me on?
2. My no shoot threshold: I'm not quite at the point that I auto-shoot anything above a 90. The three times I retested she was above 90 at the *first* test, but I just didn't feel we had graduated to that level of SLGS yet! I still feel so new, that I actually feel like a rebel for feeling comfy shooting at 120. What are your thoughts on a wait and recheck number given what you can see and our newness to this? (And, that number may be different depending on the answer to question #1, yeah?)
Our 2nd curve and I'm happy overall, but the data did surprise me. Up and down (more a squiggle than a curve?) and, after being so clustered in the early hours, such jumps in the later!
Where do we go from here? As I'm following SLGS, this curve tells me it might be time for a reduced dose. I feel really conflicted about it! First, there's only one nadir under 90 not "nadirs" under 90 as the SLGS instructions say. And, second, I guess because her curve today doesn't look so traditional, I'm less inclined to make decisions on it. I mean, in addition to above, what's with the nadir at +8, not to mention the mini-peak at +4, when she should have been going steadily down - weird, right? Maybe I should just hang in at 1u for another week before making a decision?
On the other hand, I definitely do not want to risk pushing her numbers too low! She already was barely snatched back from the jaws of death in her first week after Dx due to a hypo episode. Also, I was sort of hoping I would meet the rules to reduce because there were 3 times this week that I had to wait and recheck at PS due to low-ish BG. Maybe with a lower dose, we won't do that very often? She would be so happy about that, and so would I. She does NOT like waiting for meals. Lately her meows have turned into more like screams and loud, sustained screaming at 6am will, I'm afraid, someday result in calls to the police or angry knocking from neighbors!
So two places I would appreciate feedback:
1. Did we really meet the qualifications to reduce per SLGS? Is there anything you would caution me on?
2. My no shoot threshold: I'm not quite at the point that I auto-shoot anything above a 90. The three times I retested she was above 90 at the *first* test, but I just didn't feel we had graduated to that level of SLGS yet! I still feel so new, that I actually feel like a rebel for feeling comfy shooting at 120. What are your thoughts on a wait and recheck number given what you can see and our newness to this? (And, that number may be different depending on the answer to question #1, yeah?)