? 1/13/22 Mikey AMPS 252 +6 256 PMPS 198 +4 51 Should I be concerned?

Mikey’sDad

Member Since 2021
Mikey’s numbers have been lower lately, a good thing. But when he jumps to 51 I get concerned. He seems fine, but I will Test him again in an hour

When should I get my emergency pack out for hypo as I have overreacted before? And is his dose perhaps a tad high? Thoughts. Please someone answer sooner than late.
Thanks,
Tom
 
Ok. He is just about at nadir so no, you don't want to overreact. I would give about 2-3 tsp of medium carb food, something around 13%. Test again in 30 mins.

Will post better explanation in minute
 
You say custom dosing, but I don't see an explanation of what exactly that means? I.e. what's your reduction point?
 
You say custom dosing, but I don't see an explanation of what exactly that means? I.e. what's your reduction point?
I am actually trying to get back on the SLGS method I try to increase .25 every 7-10 days but have been not really compliant with increases
 
Sometimes it takes increases to break through the insulin resistance he's built up. I know it's hard when he is so bouncy, which is why having a selection of medium carb and high carb food to feed him when he is low is helpful. Did you feed him some higher carb food when you got that 51? That is the way to prevent too high of a bounce later and teach Mikey's little body not to overreact to a lower number.
 
Well if anything he needs a decrease...even by TR he may earn one tonight, or very close to it. Overall numbers are still high, so I'd prefer to feed the curve to prevent reductions if you can.

With SLGS you reduce any time you see a number under 90, or a custom number you choose (but you do not reduce in the few cycles after a reduction since depot is still draining).
 
I gave him a bit of FF gravy, because he was still at 55 @ +5 I am just not comfortable with him that low. I will retest in 30
Now, if I reduce should I start gradually reducing him at what speed. Perhaps the 3.25 is a bit too high

thanks
 
What is your current feeding schedule? Do you have an autofeeder?

Not ignoring your question just need background info
 
I feed him at 5:00 am and he gets a shot, then at 11:00 am , and 5:00 pm and shot FF wet
I also keep an eye on his automatic feeder which had Dr Elseys and Wysong mixture dry. I had to start using that as he started to ignore the FF. This week he likes the FF.
He needed to gain weight. He is now 10.5 pounds which the vet likes.
 
Ah ok that does help explain the numbers a bit. You do have to follow SLGS with the dry in the picture. Can you change those feeding times?

His nadir is usually around +5 or so. So by feeding at +6 you're kind of shooting yourself in the foot a few different ways - (1) feeding at or just after nadir when the insulin is about to/is wearing off, the insulin can't offset those carbs as well so numbers will go higher as a result, and (2) there's no food in between to help slow those drops, if I'm understanding you correctly. Like Katherine mentioned, slowing those drops should help prevent/minimize the bouncing.

I'd try feeding at AMPS, AM+3, PMPS, and PM+3. PS would be the largest meal, +3 more of a snack. You could add two more very small snacks at the +4-5 time as well. And see how that changes the shape of his curve and how low he goes. I'd try that before reducing, but if it makes you more comfortable you can go down to 3.25U.
 
Sometimes it takes increases to break through the insulin resistance he's built up. I know it's hard when he is so bouncy, which is why having a selection of medium carb and high carb food to feed him when he is low is helpful. Did you feed him some higher carb food when you got that 51? That is the way to prevent too high of a bounce later and teach Mikey's little body not to overreact to a lower number.
Yea I gave him a bit of Fancy Feast gravy. He was quite happy. I will test in a few to see if that helped
 
Ah ok that does help explain the numbers a bit. You do have to follow SLGS with the dry in the picture. Can you change those feeding times?

His nadir is usually around +5 or so. So by feeding at +6 you're kind of shooting yourself in the foot a few different ways - (1) feeding at or just after nadir when the insulin is about to/is wearing off, the insulin can't offset those carbs as well so numbers will go higher as a result, and (2) there's no food in between to help slow those drops, if I'm understanding you correctly. Like Katherine mentioned, slowing those drops should help prevent/minimize the bouncing.

I'd try feeding at AMPS, AM+3, PMPS, and PM+3. PS would be the largest meal, +3 more of a snack. You could add two more very small snacks at the +4-5 time as well. And see how that changes the shape of his curve and how low he goes. I'd try that before reducing, but if it makes you more comfortable you can go down to 3.25U.
I will try that. He does have that automatic feeder, so he grazes. But I will hold off on the wet food in the AM until plus 3 not @+6 and see plus the pm suggestions
Thanks
 
Yep! Give it a few days to see though, will take a bit of time to see what new pattern is
 
Yep! Give it a few days to see though, will take a bit of time to see what new pattern is
Thanks for your help! He was a purring boy tonight with his FF gravy- probably way too high but we will get him back on track. I need to purchase some med carb foods. I only have very low and emergency high. He probably did not need that gravy
 
Back
Top