1/12 Zener PMPS 247;+2 303;+4.5 244 vet report

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday 1/11

Today
1/12/2012 Zener
AMPS 142, 1st cycle @0.25u, 1.1oz Wellness chicken 4%, 1 mg ondansetron
+1.5 204, 1.1 oz 4%

Good morning LL! Zener continues to show little interest in eating on his own and his beans continue to show improving expertise on syringe feeding! The funny thing is his BG :shock: . Maybe he is more carb sensitive than we thought. :lol: :lol: We keep jumping around on the dose but it seems to be working. Poo patrol was relaxed this morning because of the poo action last night but not totally inept because I saw Zener do #2 outside this morning. Location duly noted for later inspection by Anne. She said it was nice and healthy and I trust her! Anne is off to the people vet for a pre-trip check-up about her labrynthitis (that seems to be going very well). I am going to do his third feeding in a bit then head to school for "NAU Teach". Imagine, a university that cares about education. :smile:

Thinking of ailing kitties, beans, and droolers. Claudia, Rocket and Comet, Tracy, Charlie, and others.
Liz
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204

I'm glad to hear Zener's assist feeding is going well. I thought for sure sending Leo's eating vines would work!! Oh well, we will send a bit more of those today and hope for the very best!!

I hope Anne's vetty visit goes well today and she gets the go ahead for her trip, I'm jealous, I want to go to Germany for a work visit!

Have a great day Liz, Anne and Z-man. Thanks for the healing vines! I definitely need them today.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204

Hi guys .. sorry to hear that zener is still struggling with interest in food .. I hope at least the syringe feedings are going ok for you .. haha on just "trusting anne" about the poo! Hope the dr visit goes well and school goes well .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204

Sir Z - please start eatin' the good foods Mamas give to you. We like you fat and sassy!

Anne/Liz - big hugs. I'm really envious of anyone getting to visit Germany - that's one place I always wanted to visit. Actually the old 'Rhineland' areas - that was my paternal ancestor's home. I've got a copy of the original ships manifest where my (4 g's) grandfather and his 2 brothers came to the US.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204;+5 162

Thanks so much Tracy, Devon and Lyresa for sending all the good eating vines. Zener is not listening...yet. :sad:

Here is the latest from our animal communicator, what Zener wanted to tell us.

Zener is still telling me that this is related to diabetes. Often, it causes delayed emptying of the stomach. Kind of a paralysis there. The motility medication does work but not always 100%. Keep him comfortable with the pain med until the vet can come to a diagnosis. Maybe the US will help identify something. I really do not sense a tumor there. And Zener does not really report pain per se. Just uncomfortable gut issues. Changing food does not resonate as being helpful to Zener. Syringe feeding may get a little more into him but not if he cannot empty his stomach. He may end up needing IV fluids but would like to avoid this if possible.

Any ideas or suggestions on motility meds, thoughts on IV meds or pain meds? We do not currently have him on Bupe, and we did try reglan for motility but we started that at the same time as the mirtz, which resulted in the big vomit and no more eating, a few hours after we gave him that. We are adding pumpkin to his syringe feedings now.

Vet visit this afternoon so will update when we put up his PM condo.

Thank you all once again for all your support, advice and kindness. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204;+5 162

Cmon, Z-man...let's get your gustatory groove back!

funny-pictures-cat-has-found-a-three-letter-word-for-happiness.jpg
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204;+5 162

Anne and Liz: sending more healing/eating vines to Zener today. The motility issue concerns me, too. I've been trying to wrack my brain for something that would help that but am coming up with a big zero. If the food is not moving through his system like it should, he is not going to want to eat. I'm glad you saw a healthy poo out of him. Good news!! You have the ondansetron on board for nausea.

I don't remember...so you'll have to remind me....why did you stop using the cypro when it seemed to help his appy? Is there any possibility to restart it or you don't want to muddy the waters...understandable if you don't want to throw something else back into the mix.

I'm not sure what the AC means by IV fluids....perhaps she meant subq fluids? He'd have to have a catheter in to give him IV fluids and that means most likely be in the hospital. I know most vets are not willing to release a kitty to home care with the IV fluids administered at home. There can be too many potential problems including edema in the paw. They can release him with a catheter and then you just take him in to hook him up to the fluids. But that is discomfort for him and he couldn't go outside...you would not want any chance of getting any bacteria, dirt, etc in the cath.

I'm glad you are getting the U/S and the BW redone. We'll be looking for the vetty update.

Sending Anne good human vetty vines for her.....I hope she is totally cured and can make her trip!
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204;+5 162

Sending good eating vines form CA too. I'm glad the assist feeding is working better for you. :-D :-D If things are coming out the rear end , you know things are working at least a little. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204;+5 162

Hi! I am so sorry to see that Zener is not eating on his own. I have not been here in a few days. It sounds like it might be gastroperesis. I have not heard of a cat having this problem but many human diabetics do.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0001342/

Forgive me if you already know this info. I have not gone back to read condos to see if this is something that was dx'd. There are drugs for humans but for cats?????

I hope things improve and my thoughts and prayers and many healing vines are sent to you and Zener.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204;+5 162

Thank you, everyone! Love the crossword picture, Celi! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Marje: thank you for the info.
Ann: I agree with your perspective. :lol:
Rosalie: Anne just found out about gastroperesis and found a discussion on FMDB. It can be a problem with cats and seems to fit a lot of what is happening with Zener and what he told Terri the animal communicator. Reglan and zobaline are the treatments. We are going to the vet in an hour and will see what she thinks. Thank you for the link.
Liz
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204;+5 162

Thinking of you!!! I hope you get some answers for poor Zener at the vet and get a direction. Healing vines, snowflakes, prayers, the kitchen sink...all of it coming at you from Tulsa. Hugs and love from us!!

Hope Anne's vetty visit went well and all checked out so she can head to Germany. No worries Anne. We will all be here for Liz while you are away.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204;+5 162

It sounds like your starting to make a little progress with figure out what's going on with Zener. I hope the vet has some answers for you. As always, you're in our thoughts and prayers!
 
Re: 1/12 Zener AMPS 142;+1.5 204;+5 162

I'm anxiously waiting for a report from this afternoon's vet visit. I've been out of town today, but I've been checking on my phone to see how Zener is doing.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

Gosh, we are overflowing with gratitude for all the healing vines and eating wishes sent to Zener. Human vetty report was good for me so trip to Germany for work is a go for Sunday. Here is the latest:
Today
1/12/2012 Zener
AMPS 142, 1st cycle @0.25u, 1.1oz Wellness chicken 4%, 1 mg ondansetron
+1.5 204, 1.1 oz 4% syringe
~2 1.1oz 4% syringe
~4 1.1oz 4% syringe, 2.5 mg pepcid
+5 162
+10 injection of Cerenia at vet, urine negative for ketones and glucose
PMPS 247, 2nd cycle @0.25u, ate 1PP with 3mg zobaline on his own, 1.1oz 4% syringe fed

Acted a little interested in pureed food, his regular, not the syringe food, but still no go.

We were pleased with the vet visit. We saw the owner of the clinic and she seemed the most knowledgable about Lantus of anyone we have seen so far and was up to date on the anti-nausea meds. She was pretty certain, which we liked, that there is a reason for the inappetance and though the syringe feeding is okay for now, the goal is to solve the problem and get him eating on his own. She wants to see the ultrasound to rule out anything like a blockage or tumor, and discussed with us possible problems such as poor motility, ulcer, IBD, lymphoma and gastroparesis. Because he does not have diarrhea or bloody stool or vomiting, she doubts it is IBD. The ultrasound will rule out the biggies - like obstructions, large lymph nodes or tumor. She is coordinating with the doc that does the ultrasounds to get us in on Saturday rather than Sunday, so I will still be in town. Once she has this information, we will make a plan on where to go with treatment or further diagnostics. To rule out ulcer would require endoscopy and to confirm lymphoma would require tissue biopsy, so those are down on the list for now as they are more invasive. These tests will depend on how the ultrasound looks. In addition to the ultrasound, they will do a type of blood panel, something about Texas A & M I think, that will look at additional tests such as enzymes and some other values GI related. Does anyone know about this type of blood panel? He has to fast for 12 hours for this one, so on Saturday, we are to give a token dose of insulin or none, depending on the numbers, and in the afternoon, we will take him for the ultrasound, they will also do the blood draw, and we will take our testing supplies and Lantus to give him his shot at 6pm if he is not ready to come home before then.

The diagnosis of gastroparesis is a harder one to make in cats (than people) and is more a diagnosis of exclusion, and is sometimes seen in cats who are not well regulated for a long period of time, similar to a peripheral neuropathy in the legs, though affects the nerve that innervates the stomach. The treatment is reglan and something else that I'm forgetting at the moment, acupuncture, plus achieving better insulin regulation. She is not keen on appy stimulants right now because if the food is not moving through him, that can make him uncomfortable as well as nauseous. We asked about using the reglan, which we used for a day and then stopped after the vomit episode. She also wanted to reduce the meds and see if we could sort out what might be the problem. He has not been on bupe for a couple of days and she wanted us to not use that for now. The good news is he is peeing and pooping regularly and it looks pretty normal. Liz is doing such a great job with the syringe feeding! He also had not lost any weight since Tues.

She gave him an injection of Cerenia as the new research shows in addition to anti-nausea properties it has some pain relieving effect and can be a bit of a "miracle" drug for some kitties. These additional effects make it useful in kitties who are nauseated and having pain, as well as for vomiting. He has not vomited since the big puke on Monday night. She also discussed the use of a feeding tube for a short time, if we are striking out with other interventions, as it can be a bit better tolerated by some cats than syringe feeding.

By the time we got home, he seemed to be feeling a bit better. And, of course, if he feels better so do the beans. He ate a pill pocket on his own, but was not interested in any freeze dried chicken or pureed regular food. He acted like he wanted to eat a little, even sitting at his picnic table, but not yet. I think that's everything. I'm sure Liz will chime in if I missed something.

ETA: zobaline is the other treatment for gastroperesis.
Liz
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

Hi Anne,
The vet sounds very thorough and hopefully when you have the ultrasound on Sat., she will be able to provide you with the information and meds you need to get Zener well again. It's excellent that his appointment could be pushed up a day so that you can be there, too.
Good news on your own health report and your green light to fly to Deutschland. Wohin gehen Sie?

We'll all be here for Liz and Zener (and Tilly) while you're away.

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

It's reassuring to see a vet who seems to have all the bases covered. I hope the US helps get to the bottom of this mystery so we can see a healthy, happy Zener.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

Maverick was on both Reglan and ondansetron when he had his PEG tube surgery. His stomach would not move food through. Cerenia is best for acute vomiting but not for nausea so do keep this in mind and watch for signs of nausea - showing interest in food but licking and walking away, lip licking, lip smacking, teeth grinding are the key ones. Why are they thinking stomach motility is an issue. I thought cats with this issue vomited uneaten food many hours after eating. The stomach is normally empty within a couple hours after eating. With Maverick and his PEG tube we could actually check and see if his stomach was empty and with the medication it always was at the 2 hour mark. Cats with motility issues often vomit up undigested food or partially digested food many hours after eating it.

If the colon isn't moving food through than cisapride may be preferred. Maverick was also on this when he had constipation issues but did not help him. I learned a ton about the feline digestive system at felineconstipation.org.

Texas A&M will do free consults with pet owners. I am not sure if this is free or not but something makes me think it is. They specialize in GI and developed the feline pancreatitis test I believe.

Glad you had a good visit and things are set for this weekend.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

Karrie has some good ideas and info, as always. So glad she is one of "us" :lol: :lol:

She is correct that Texas A&M developed the first feline pancreatitis blood test...fPLI. They are on the cutting edge for many other tests as well. What I'm about to say is NOT to get you worried but just to provide info. Teddi's lymphoma was not terribly advanced but we had a really great board cert radiologist who was able to tell it was lymphoma without a biopsy as we did not want to put her through that. It was pretty apparent. I am hoping that lymphoma is WAY far down on the list but I just wanted to offer that info. We are keeping paws crossed for a clean U/S and a turn in his appetite.

On a funny note, I was one of the reviewers of the felineconstipation.org site before Pat Erickson had it up and running. She is a very smart lady.....she's also a prominent member of the CRF yahoo group. Her site is the feline constipation equivalent of Tanya's CRF site! Amazing amount of info!

Keeping you all close in thought and sending prayers.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

Karrie and Maverick said:
Maverick was on both Reglan and ondansetron when he had his PEG tube surgery. His stomach would not move food through. Cerenia is best for acute vomiting but not for nausea so do keep this in mind and watch for signs of nausea - showing interest in food but licking and walking away, lip licking, lip smacking, teeth grinding are the key ones. Why are they thinking stomach motility is an issue. I thought cats with this issue vomited uneaten food many hours after eating. The stomach is normally empty within a couple hours after eating. With Maverick and his PEG tube we could actually check and see if his stomach was empty and with the medication it always was at the 2 hour mark. Cats with motility issues often vomit up undigested food or partially digested food many hours after eating it.
Thanks Karrie, this is invaluable information. I have been looking at the website on constipation, wow, lots of info there. The vet wanted us to stop the ondansetron when she gave the cerenia. She opted for the cerenia as it is reported to help with pain issues too. We had him on reglan when he had the vomiting episode and was also on mirtz, so it may have been the appy stimulant that was the problem. After the US results, it is possible he will be back on the reglan and perhaps the stomach tube too, if nothing else seems to be helping him to start eating on his own. He does sometimes show interest in food and walk away, but no lip licking/smacking/teeth grinding. We are thinking stomach motility for two reasons. He vomited up undigested food on Monday night and it was food from Monday morning and everything after that. Do you know if it safe to give both Reglan and Cerenia at the same time? The second reason is our pet communicator keeps telling us that Zener tells her he can't move things through his stomach and it hurts.

Karrie and Maverick said:
If the colon isn't moving food through than cisapride may be preferred. Maverick was also on this when he had constipation issues but did not help him. I learned a ton about the feline digestive system at felineconstipation.org.
This was the first theory last week and the vet put him on laxatone. We did one dose, then read the tube - yikes, full of sugars. So we switched to Miralax. He started having normal bowel movements and is continuing to have what seems to be pretty normal poop since the syringe feedings. The x-rays did not show megan colon but looked like feces and gas further up the track.

Karrie and Maverick said:
Texas A&M will do free consults with pet owners. I am not sure if this is free or not but something makes me think it is. They specialize in GI and developed the feline pancreatitis test I believe.

Glad you had a good visit and things are set for this weekend.
Thanks for the info, and we hope we know more Saturday evening. I suspect most of the results will likely not be available until the first of the week, when I am in Germany, but we don't know for sure yet.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Karrie has some good ideas and info, as always. So glad she is one of "us" :lol: :lol:
We are so grateful for her support and information!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
She is correct that Texas A&M developed the first feline pancreatitis blood test...fPLI. They are on the cutting edge for many other tests as well. What I'm about to say is NOT to get you worried but just to provide info. Teddi's lymphoma was not terribly advanced but we had a really great board cert radiologist who was able to tell it was lymphoma without a biopsy as we did not want to put her through that. It was pretty apparent. I am hoping that lymphoma is WAY far down on the list but I just wanted to offer that info. We are keeping paws crossed for a clean U/S and a turn in his appetite.
Zener had a fPLI about two weeks ago, and all was normal. That's great to know these folks are on the cutting edge. The info you give us does not worry us. We already are thinking of all the worse things that it could be. The vet told us some forms of lymphoma can show up with US, particularly if large lymph nodes can be seen. And knowing, even bad news, is better than knowing nothing. We too do not want to put Zener through a biopsy. The vet told us it is very difficult to get a full thickness of the tissue on endoscopy and often involves abdominal surgery to get the tissue for biopsy. The anesthesia for the dental was so hard on him, we sure don't want to go that route so soon.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
On a funny note, I was one of the reviewers of the felineconstipation.org site before Pat Erickson had it up and running. She is a very smart lady.....she's also a prominent member of the CRF yahoo group. Her site is the feline constipation equivalent of Tanya's CRF site! Amazing amount of info!
Thanks for the funny note, based on all going on this week and my worry about leaving without knowing what is going on and leaving Liz doing such a huge amount of work alone, I've temporarily lost my sense of humor. So, a funny note is good! It's nice to know that you are a peer reviewer of poop!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Keeping you all close in thought and sending prayers.
Thank you so very much and to all in LL sending us healing & eating thoughts and prayers.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

Ah, I forgot Ella and Linda!
@Ella - ich gehe nach Bonn! And thank you for being here for my family while I am away. :YMHUG:

@Linda - we're not sure she has all the bases covered, which seems to be difficult for a lot of vets we read about here, but she has been the most promising one we have seen so far. And she wants to find out what is wrong rather than just throwing things at the symptoms. :-D
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

Hi guys - all I can do is offer support. I am glad that you like this vet - I hope that you will find the root of the problem. Healing vines foe Zener! and good luck with the U/S.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

I was impressed by your summary of the vet visit. It sounds like she thinks and problem solves. I'm betting that if she doesn't have the answers, she does her homework to find out. Medical professionals that "know" everything make me very nervous.

Now that the poo is back to normal, let's home the appetite is next!
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

This vet sounds like a keeper. No one can know everything and she doesn't sound like she is pretending she does. Definite points for that.

Sending lots of eat well vines and paws crossed for the US.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247 vet report

Sienne and Gabby said:
I was impressed by your summary of the vet visit. It sounds like she thinks and problem solves. I'm betting that if she doesn't have the answers, she does her homework to find out. Medical professionals that "know" everything make me very nervous.
Thanks Sienne, in my before an academic life, I was a rehab PT and developed my summarizing of doctor talk skills, though they are a bit rusty after years of academia. ;-) You said is so well exactly what I had in my head about why I liked her, thinking and problem solving. She had already reviewed Zener's file, lab work and x-rays and been coming up with a plan for examination before we got there. And, she had done her homework too after talking with the other vet in the same clinic who suggested we see her. I know exactly what you mean about those medical professionals that profess to "know" everything. It makes my students nervous though when I tell them I don't know everything! :lol:

Sienne and Gabby said:
Now that the poo is back to normal, let's home the appetite is next!
Ah, that's a great point! Liz and I were just talking about how stressful and emotional it is to syringe feed him when he doesn't want to eat and what sort of toll that will play on Liz next week while I am gone. So, we were trying to think of the positives of syringe feeding. Liz was saying she likes knowing he is getting the food in without chasing him around trying to get him to eat and we thought about how he has maintained his weight since we started two days ago. The normal poo is another one we'll focus on too. And amazingly his numbers have been pretty darn good without bouncing - perhaps because we are on such a small dose and also we are feeding him LC 4% food. Also tonight after we finished his second syringe feeding, he went to one of his fav spots and started grooming himself. The other good thing is he is going out through the cat door to do his business in his giant litter box in the garage, something he hasn't done for months and has not used a piddle pad inside in two days. :-D
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247;+2 303 vet report

Just a quick note to say I agree...it sounds like this vet is a keeper. I know you guys will get down to the bottom of this, and Zener will be at the top of his game again in no time!
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247;+2 303 vet report

Today
1/12/2012 Zener
AMPS 142, 1st cycle @0.25u, 1.1oz Wellness chicken 4%, 1 mg ondansetron
+1.5 204, 1.1 oz 4% syringe
~2 1.1oz 4% syringe
~4 1.1oz 4% syringe, 2.5 mg pepcid
+5 162
+10 injection of Cerenia at vet, urine negative for ketones and glucose
PMPS 247, 2nd cycle @0.25u, ate 1PP with 3mg zobaline on his own, 1.1oz 4% syringe fed
+2 303, 1.0oz 4% syringe fed

Liz has been doing all of the syringe feeding so I started doing it tonight. It will take lots of practice and I need to get my head around how this is helping him rather than feeling so badly that I am hurting him by forcing him to eat this way. Liz reminded me of how we felt about ear pokes and shots in the beginning too.

@Michelle & Mannie - we have paws crossed Zener has better appy before Chef Mannie's next party. Thanks so much for your support and healing vines.

@Ann & Tess - gosh we hope this vet is a keeper. She is the third vet we've seen in the past month. We liked our original vet but had gone about as far as she could offer for us. This clinic has many more resources, urgent care, emergency care and a 24 hour hospital too.

ETA
@Amy - thanks, we have paws crossed we get some sorts of answers soon.

Thanks to all for stopping by and supporting us the past weeks, it has been a really rough go for the big guy and we are doing our darndest to focus on the positives and keep up our optimism for the future.
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247;+2 303 vet report

I am so Hopeful that the problem will be found & Zener will feel lots better--Sounds like you have every avenue covered & are doing all one could possibly do to remedy this..
The return of his old behaviors is a very good sign, it shows a return to possible normalcy.
You know I am thinking of you all, saying my very strongest Prayers for Zener's recovery, and sending all the healing vines I can to him..
Sometimes the easiest application of common meds can resolve the most complicated of ailments--
With Big Hugs & Love from us!! Keeping you close in my thoughts!
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247;+2 303 vet report

It's been such a week and I'm just now catching up around here! So sorry that Zman isn't feeling well... am so glad that you've found an awesome "Mandy Moorevet" to help you get to the bottom of things!! Enjoy the trip to Germany, Anne! I spent a week there several years ago and loved it... Berlin and Leipzig with a daytrip to Meissen and Dresden. Am hoping to get back someday soon! Can't wait to hear the details of the trip!! We'll take good care of Liz and Zener while you're gone! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 1/12 Zener PMPS 247;+2 303 vet report

It makes it so much easier when you've found a good vet that will work with you and work so hard to help your cat! This one definitely sounds like a real keeper!

Here's hoping Zener starts eating on his own quickly! Sometimes with Tawny I sprinkled dried chicken treats on top of her food and then she would eat on her own.

Hope you have some time for fun & sightseeing on your work trip to Germany!
 
Offered some freeze dried chicken soaked in warm water, but no interest.
PMPS 247, 2nd cycle @0.25u, ate 1PP with 3mg zobaline on his own, 1.1oz 4% syringe fed
+2 303, 1.0oz 4% syringe fed
+4.5 244, 1.0oz 4% syringe fed

It sure is hard to do this! I seem to get more on Zener than in him, but I'm not as practiced yet as Liz. It is more emotionally challenging so I need to get my head in a more positive place when I feed him. I know he picks up on it bothering me, but mostly I don't like that it is unpleasant for him. Must focus on what will happen if we don't!

@Christie - we understand completely about what a week! Between trying to get back in the work grove and what all is going on with Zener, we are almost overwhelmed. Paws crossed this vet gets some answers or at least a theory or two. I will be in Bonn, near Cologne. I go about twice a year for work with the International Paralympic committee - currently gearing up for London 2012 which is almost here. :o
@DD - I hope I have your name and not your cat's! :oops: We hope he starts eating on his own soon. We've tried dried chicken treats and no go. In fact, we've tried all of our tricks that have worked with poor appy before, except for an appy stimulant and the vomit from mirtz with poor gastric emptying seems to have started the whole thing. :YMSIGH:

Just finished Zener's last feeding of the evening, so I'm going to go cuddle with him a little, if he will forgive me, and watch some mindless tv together. We will find out tomorrow when the US is scheduled. Ni Ni LL and thanks to you all! I-)
 
Hey ladies, your new vet sounds really cool. Fingers & paws crossed here for your ultrasound and I hope the Cerenia makes a difference. Very interesting about the gastroparesis, I hadn't heard about it here so I assumed it didn't happen in cats. :lol:

Anne, Liz is so right about the syringe feeding, you are not torturing him. You are his momma and you are doing what is best for him while you figure out what is going on! It is exactly like with ear pokes, he will get used to it (hopefully he doesn't have to though!). And his numbers look great!

Have a great night guys! :YMHUG:
 
It is kind of emotionally draining starting to assist feed. Its about nerves and feelings of the humans not Zener. Think of it as "assist feeding" and even a bonding experience. Sing to him, talk to him, tell him how beautiful and special he is. He is hungry and wants food and food will make him feel better and be strong enough to fight what he is fighting. Once you get the hang of it - you will have a rhythm and a comfort level. You don't need a tube if you can get in a good place with syringe feeding. It sounds like Zener is adapting really well. Maverick was so sick when we got his tube, we didn't have time to even try syringe feeding. But we did assist feed through switching him to wet food for almost four months and a few times after for bouts of inappetance. He sat on my lap and laid against my chest, like holding a panda cat. They are honestly moments I will treasure always. He had his cute baby bibs on. I still have one that I saved.

I really think you are in good hands with your vet. You are very lucky to have one that is involved and looking for a diagnosis. It sounds like they are up to speed on the medication options. So I would trust your vet on the cerenia/reglan. Cerenia needs a break as it builds up in the body... what instructions were you given?

You two hang in there. You are doing everything right. Remember, assist feeding isn't forever either. Its just until you get the info needed (to resolve the underlying issue) or they start feeling better. Its a tool in your toolchest.
 
Karrie, thank you for the moral support and practical information about assist feeding. I feel like we are being fairly effective because of your help. We said the same thing this morning, that assist feeding is not a long-term solution. We need baby bibs - great idea. Too bad we don't have friends with 2 year olds who have outgrown theirs. Oh wait, we do. :lol: :lol: A big box store is closer though.

No real instructions from the vet about cerenia. What should we look for?
Liz
 
I have to double check instructions but I think its give for three days or five days and then there is a period of three days off. I haven't given specific instructions on this for a while. Let me wrap up my next couple of calls and I'll post back. Maybe someone will post while I'm away :mrgreen:

It is great that you guys are so open to it. I really feel that by people reading your condo's other people will be exposed to assist feeding and word will get out. That means the world to me. Sending hugs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top