1/12 Toby's AMPS=528 +4=278+7=285 PMPS=288+4=277+6=312

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby jumped when I gave him shot last night and the needle came out. I gave him the rest of his shot in a different spot. Don't know if this made a difference or not or if I lost any insulin when he jumped. If I
lost any insulin it wasn't much. At +4 he was at 223 last night. Should I go up again on his dose Tonight
or hold the dose for a while where he was in the blue? Some days it doesn't pay to get out of bed.
Take Care, Peg and Toby
 
when you have a messed up shot, like a fur shot, you want to hold the dose for 6 cycles afterwards. Then you can reevaluate the dose and decide if you need to increase or decrease it. I suspect that some of the insulin didn't get in last night, and that's why you had the black number this morning. I would also add a note in the comments section about the messed up shot last night. That's helpful in evaluating the numbers and the dose later.

I hope your day gets better peg.

Hugs, Julie
 
I would add a caveat to that. I think if a dose increase was already planned because it was very clear that more insulin was needed, I'd probably give the dose increase after the fur shot. However, if a dose increase was not planned (and I think Toby's dose should have been held longer even not considering the fur shot) or if it looks like the kitty might have been headed down but then the fur shot kicked in and numbers went up, then I'd hold the current dose another six cycles and see where he's headed.

Does that make sense??
 
Flashback to my first fur shot with Polly. Very new to the dance. Got a soon after black AMPS and was just devastated. It passed. We rode it out and all was fine. I aged about 15 years, but Polly didn't have a clue.

Numbers may be wonky for a while. Just ride it out. All will be well.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Bummer on the possible fur shot. Done that too many time to count. Toby'll get over it. As Marilyn says, it bothers the bean more than the cat. @pollydoodle - You remember your first fur shot? Clearly you haven't done enough of them. ;)
 
Like you said it bothers us more than our kitties. Toby's been fine all day. All 5ps in place.
After the high we stayed pretty flat in the yellows. Hopefully he will come back down tonight. Just bummed me out because we were doing pretty good in the blues. Thanks everyone for keeping me sane. Peg and Toby
 
Looks like we are in for another high morning. Already in the 300's . My heart sinks every time he goes high like this. Just afraid he is an acro. cat and can't afford to fix him. I don't know how long they can live without treatment. He seems fine for now so will take one day at a time. Take Care, Peg and Toby
 
nothing about having a high dose kitty is easy, Peg. You're doing the best you can and doing a really good job of keeping his BGs under control as well as you can.

He's a lucky kitty. I told myself that every single day we gave punkin by caring for him was a day he wouldn't likely have had if he'd had another home. You're already doing a huge thing in taking care of him just with insulin. Even if you could have the SRT done, there are no guarantees. :bighug:
 
Peg, I agree with Julie that you are doing a great job with Toby! :bighug:A year after diagnosis, Neko still had plenty of red in her spreadsheet. Toby's SS looks so much better than hers did at that point. And look at how he's feeling and acting. Compare it to how he was when he was first diagnosed. You've come a long way.

Lauren's Tommy lived 4 years with acromegaly, and no extra treatment, living to age 19. Having an acrocat means paying special attention to the condition of the heart and kidneys, but the same things can happen to any older cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top