1/12 Samwise AMBG 73 +2 54 +5 112 +10 426PMPS 464

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMBG 73 No shot
+2 54 confused_cat WTF? No shot and he still drops 20 points. The DH did the test and he said he's eating whenever offered food. I don't know what is going on here this morning.
+5 112 He came up but I still didn't feel safe giving him even a reduced dose. I'd rather a bounce to higher numbers than drop like a rock again. I wish I had known how low he went last night. He didn't make a peep which makes me wonder. He was all bright eyed at lunch and ate again. The DH said he fed him about 2 times this morning, big helpings so he was bringing himself up. I just can't count on him (DH) anymore for tests.

+10 426 Well, I knew he'd go up but I didn't know it would be this high! I wonder where his PMPS will be.

PMPS 464 .7/.6U Hard to tell at this point. Bifocals make it hard to see the barrel.
+2 424
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

I wish I knew too...Musette is being strange on her numbers but I wish I had your problem... :-D Musette just dropped 156 pts in 2 hrs but for her she started out at 422 and is now down to 256...Wish they could tell us why they do what they do, or at least came with a user manual...<sigh>

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

You are on the borderline of heading into a HYPO. Please watch him closely, and check again in 15-30 minutes to see how fast he is falling. Do you have some higher carb food available, like one with gravy?

Edited to add: AH - no shot this AM - drop could be pancreas or residual insulin effects.
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

I know. I wish I could have been home to test but there were minimal people at work so I couldn't leave. I'll check him when I get home for lunch. The dH didn't want to test again, he got 2 errors and was shaking to badly to try again. Said Sam was giving him a dirty look. :lol:
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

We do have some higher carb food available. Sam is eating. I'll be home in a few minutes to check him again.
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

Edited to add: AH - no shot this AM - drop could be pancreas or residual insulin effects.

Can your husband log in here? Others can help advise him. I've posted on main board, since I need to leave shortly.
If that rate of fall continues, he may hypo. Edited to add: if he had a shot this morning. He didn't, so not as critical

Do you have Karo syrup at home? That may be mixed with low carb food to make it high carb.

If you've got some high carb food or Karo-fortified at home, please have your husband give a teaspoon of the gravy part now and another in 15 minutes. This may help stall the fall. Small amounts at a time, so Samwise doesn't get so full he can't eat more if necessary. Feed 1 tsp (every 15 minutes until he can manage a test & know Samwise is safe.)
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

hey there

agree with bjm. at that rate a hypo is possibly pending so have the hubby go ahead and feed him some gravy off high carb food. if no high carb around, stir a little karo/honey/syrup into regular food and feed a small amount. rinse and repeat until a test can be gotten
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

Hi, Sue ~

Are you at home yet?

So, Sam's last shot was last night, right? At what time? No shot this morning? Did you feed Sam at AMPS? I'm sure you'll be getting another bg reading as soon as you're home again. Please let us know what it is, Sue.

Hang in there, Sue!

Eva
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

Eva,
Looks like the AMPS would have been 10ish eastern time, but she's in wyoming. She posted the +2 right after noon eastern. So last night, 10pm eastern? skinny 1u. And he was eating at noon, but no mention of feeding at shot time this morning.

carl
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

oops, did not see that there was no shot this morning. assumed with the amps notation that there was. in the future, when there's no shot given, you could call it ambg (morning glucose reading), that way everyone knows there was no shot

in that case you probably don't need to intervene with high carb/karo stuff
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

I agree, Cindy. If a shot wasn't given this morning, then a hypo probably isn't likely. But it would be good to know what Sam's bg reading is now.

How's it going, Sue?

Eva

P.S. Thanks, Carl. I'm getting my time zones all confused. :smile:
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

Sorry folks - I completely didn't see no shot this morning. Hypo is unlikely in that case, of course. (I'm blaming it on my crappy vision!)

It does suggest a dose reduction to me - what do the rest of you think?
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

Not a lantus user.... but a question. Does the lack of increase in BG two hours after eating (assuming sue fed at AMBG) seem weird? I'm used to PZI thinking....
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

BJ, I think it's great how you're looking out for Sue! I'd want you to do the same thing for Butters and me. And we don't really know if Sammy is going lower or not.

Carl, I was wondering about that myself. Maybe Sammy was able to bring himself down after eating, but that's hard to tell. I'd be curious to know how low Sam went overnight.

Sue, I can see that you've had quite a challenge in getting Sammy regulated on Lantus. I admire you for the job you're doing. Sam is very responsive to Lantus and can be a bit of a diver and a bouncer as quite a few cats can be, including our cat Butters early on. One thing we've found with Butters is that we need to watch out when we're nearing his fifth day on a particular dose, because he's likely to show us some action then. I try to get a PM +2 or +3 to see where he's headed if I can. Not always possible, I know...heck, we've got to get some sleep. I do believe you're getting close to finding the right doses for Sam.

Eva
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54 +5 112

HI everyone! sorry I didn't get back after lunch. Sam's BG was 112. I didn't feel safe giving him a shot so .....we just fed him a couple of times and his BG came back up. I wasn't sure about the shot thing. I was going to give a reduced dose but figured a high # or bounce was better than him falling again to pre-hypo numbers.
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMBG 73 +2 54 +5 112

still very nice to have a normal BG 17 hours after a skinny 1u. If sam bounces, at least that will make sense with the greens this morning. It will be interesting to see what sort of PMPS you get.
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMBG 73 +2 54 +5 112

I agree. I'll do a test when I get home from work. That will be about 5 so 7 eastern? Depending we are either 2 hours behind or 2 ahead. Sam does love to throw us curve balls all the time. Makes for an interesting life. :-D
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMBG 73 +2 54 +5 112

After looking over the spreadsheet which goes up to yesterday, plus today's numbers where you didn't need the am shot and got fairly low without it, I am thinking the next time you give insulin, you might go with 0.5, to aim for a dose that'll let you manage every 12 hours, without needing to skip.

You had a skipped pm shot on 1/7, then 3.5 days of skinny 1 units and needed to skip again this morning. With 3-5 days being the time it can take for a Lantus dose to stabilize, I'm leaning towards 0.5 as the dose.
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

carlinsc said:
Not a lantus user.... but a question. Does the lack of increase in BG two hours after eating (assuming sue fed at AMBG) seem weird? I'm used to PZI thinking....

Not necessarily if the food was something close to zero carbs. It's also according to when Samwise's insulin onset is, two hours is only an 'average/usual' time for that to occur.

NICE numbers for no juice!

HUGS
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMPS 73 +2 54

Squeaky and KT said:
carlinsc said:
Not a lantus user.... but a question. Does the lack of increase in BG two hours after eating (assuming sue fed at AMBG) seem weird? I'm used to PZI thinking....

Not necessarily if the food was something close to zero carbs. It's also according to when Samwise's insulin onset is, two hours is only an 'average/usual' time for that to occur.

NICE numbers for no juice!

HUGS
Lyresa,
I follow you on the zero carbs thing. But Sam's onset, this morning, wouldn't figure into the equation since he had no insulin, right? But assuming he had gotten a shot, you're saying that with close to zero carb food, and say his onset was earlier than normal, then a food boost at +2 wouldn't necessarily occur?
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMBG 73 +2 54 +5 112

Sue, it'll be very interesting to see where Sam's bg is at PMPS. I like the response you've been getting for Sam in January. I understand what BJ's saying about backing off in dosing to be able to do consistent AM & PM shots without having to skip shots which does seem to work better with Lantus. But I don't think I'd back off to .50 myself. I'd go with .75 or a skinny .75. It does make a difference whether or not you'll be able to monitor Sam on that dose though, Sue. If you see a blue preshot number, try to get a midcycle bg reading if you can or at least a +2 or +3 in the PM to watch out for early action. Of course, this is your call, Sue, and you know better what you can manage.

Hope you can get some sleep tonight. Sam does keep you hopping! :smile:

Eva
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMBG 73 +2 54 +5 112

With my vision, a skinny 1.0 IS 0.75 units; thats all the more precise I can see it, thus my recommendation for 0.5 units.

If you can see well enough, you could make it a fat 0.5 so long as you can be consistent in keeping it smaller than a skinny 1.0. which resulted in needing to skip after 3.5 days.
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMBG 73 +2 54 +5 112

Does the lack of increase in BG two hours after eating (assuming sue fed at AMBG) seem weird? I'm used to PZI thinking....

I think it is a sign of a sputtering pancreas. Probably also why Samwise is so bouncy, sometimes his pancreas gets running along side the insulin, sometimes is doesn't.
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMBG 73 +2 54 +5 112

Good points, BJ. I wear trifocals and even with a syringe magnifier consider microdosing a crap shoot. :-D Fortunately, my husband has much better vision and is adept at microdosing.

I see that Sue has done some 0.6U doses for Sam before. Maybe that would be a good new dose? Really a fat .5 as you've suggested?

Eva
 
Re: 1/12 Samwise AMBG 73 +2 54 +5 112 +10 426

I've tried .5 fat .5, .6, .7, 1, skinny 1, 1u. Everything under the sun over .5u. He doesn't seem to do well on .5 or .6's. Better when we get a bit higher. I think he does have a sputtering pancreas myself. He's sitting in my deck drawer right now, looking a bit sleepy. He did eat light carbs for breakfast, he had salmon FF. He ate through out the day and finished off a can of mixed grill Friskies. I gave him beef FF after his +10 (which is really +20)test. So, since he will be high PMPS what should I try? confused_cat Not 1U or skinny 1u. I think I'll lower the dose a bit.
 
Good Morning, Sue ~

I agree with you about dosing. Trying to shave a dose when you need to reduce seems the best way to go with Sam. You've made such good progress with him in January that I'd hate for you to lose that momentum now. In fact, I'd watch how his bg numbers are over the next few days on the new reduced dose. I think it's possible that you may need to raise his dose back to 1 skinny once his shed is drained some. Part of the reason for his strong, fast response to the 1 skinny before might be that you were coming off the 1U shed from the previous dose.

Another thought, Sue...do you ever "shoot through a rebound" with Sam? When you saw that his PMPS was in the 400s last night, you could have shot the 1 skinny and waited until today to take the reduction. Sometimes that can help bring down high numbers faster. I don't think that works well for all cats, but it might for Sam.

Sue, I think you're taking wonderful care of Sam. That furboy certainly keeps you dancing.

Take Care,
Eva
 
Thanks, Eva. I think I have shot through the rebound. I'd have to look. Thanks for coming on and being there when I needed the input. Thank all of you for doing that! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top