1/12 Rocket PMPS 106 +2 99 +3 68 +4 74-questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
Morning all,
tough night and i fell asleep to check on Rocket....i got up at 4 am (+10.5) and noticed his dish was empty...and i have no idea when he ate...so i went back to bed....i'm in pain but managing....

so far today
amps 153 fed
+2 76 fed
+3 76 fed, fluids (got chicken dust)

waiting for the flood dudes to come do the assessment....so no nappy for me until they're gone....no idea when they'll show up either....and they said depending on how bad the walls are they have to leave those heavy duty fans....they're oh so loud......i know it cause we had the same last year....

here is yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34150

i give up....on a positive note...Rocket is eating better....
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76

(((Claudia))) I hope today is a better day (don't know how it could get much worse). I hope you made contact with Christie and Willie, who kindly offered to send you some Fortiflora! Hopefully Rocket will like it.
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76

Hang in there, Claudia! At least Rocket is eating. You will feel better soon, too.
Positive thoughts, prayers, and healing vines--on the way!
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76

Hi guys! Glad to hear rocket is eating better these days .. I hope you feel better soon and that today is better then yesterday .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76

Wonderful to hear Rocket is eating better today sending more recovery vines for you and healing vines for Rocket cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76

(((Claudia))) Glad to read Rocket is eating on his own.. and it can only go up from here for you... hang in there... Positive thoughts for you and Rocket :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76

what a rough time you've had of it. Hang in there, this too shall pass. Sending cyber hugs and healing vines
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76 +4 72

+4 72...fed and he ate it all....didn't want to give too much food

they have assessed the damage and they tore out the ceiling in the bathroom and one wall....they will leave the fan on for 3 DAYS (those heavy duty ones)...so good news....we don't have to move out....bad news...we are stuck paying the deductible yet again for something we didn't cause...but that's insurances for ya!

will keep a close eye on Rocket cause his water supply is the faucet in the tub....and with those heavy duty fans...he may get scared....repairs should start next week...i hope!

eta:yes i did pm Christie last night
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76 +4 72

Wow, good news on Rocket eating and very nice numbers.
Sorry you have a flooding issue there. Sometimes when it rains it pours (no pun intended)
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76 +4 72 +5.5 76

Rocket has been sleeping on my bed while the guys tore out the stuff in the bathroom...fans are going full force...he seems a bit freaked out....

+5.5 76.....will feed shortly....

we got good news at least....we won't have to pay the deductible at all...the condo board will take care of it all and they will go after the renter's insurance.....at least we won't have to fork out $500....which frankly was starting to concern me a great deal.....i can breath.....for now....until the next thing (whatever it may be) hits me.....as i'm sure i'm not done....
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76 +4 72 +5.5 76

Claudia, what a rough time you have been having. I'm so glad you won't have to pay the deductible on top of all the other expenses with Rocket. I'm so happy that Rocket is eating better and I hope you will be feeling better soon. I hate those fans!!
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76 +4 72 +5.5 76

Things are looking up *clapping* Great updates Claudia. Hope you start feeling better pain wise quickly.
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76 +4 72 +5.5 76 +10 103

+9.5 fed
+10 103

he has slept all afternoon and i've been bringing the food to him...he is eating...

i however have had very little sleep...the darn fans are oh so annoying....i prob managed 1 1/2 hrs but not straight thru..... :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76 +4 72 +5.5 76 +10 103

Good to hear you do not have to pay anything concerning the condo I know that has to be one relief for you now if we can just get you some much needed rest...... sending more healing vines to help Rocket keep eating :smile:
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket AMPS 153 +2 76 +3 76 +4 72 +5.5 76 +10 103

Claudia, Excellent news today!! So happy there is some light at the end of the tunnel! Rocket better,Flood fixed!
May I suggest you put a big bowl of water in a place where Rocket goes until the fans are off?? He might be freaked out, but he does need water, so maybe a few bowls around the area he's in would help..So happy he is feeling better & eating on his own!

Lantus Land prayers & Healing Vines Do help!!! We have some beautiful unknown healing power here, we all care!! We are still sending them to you & Rocket--Hugs from us!
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket PMPS 106

pmps 106

had one heck of a time getting him to eat...opened diff cans of food....only to come back to the one he eats all along...the proplan....

been mixing a lil bit of the evo trying to transition him into it....he eats it ok up til tonight....seems like each shot time he goes off the evo for whatever reason then he eats it ok after ....hmmmm weird....
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket PMPS 106

hi Claudia! It is so good to read that Rocket is eating again. What a relief that must be. I must have missed the problem with your water damaged area - so sorry for it all. it's happened to us a few times too - never fun. Good though that you won't have to pay the deductible - YAY!

I hope you guys have a great evening. :-D :-D

And Rocket - nice pmps! Mannie says HI btw, and wants you to know that he is feeling better.
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket PMPS 106 +2 99 +3 68-questions

+3 68 fed a lil bit...he mainly licked off the liver dust on the food so i kept adding until i was satisfied he ate enough

because i've been in pain today i didn't check my home email and i just read the vet's report....
the fPLI came back to 4.4 (0-3.5 range)...back in Nov1 it was 7.7

she is saying that the tremors might have been pain related but at this point it is hard to pinpoint what caused them...so i will continue to monitor him in that regards and update her as need be....she said in the future if we can assume he is tremoring due to pain to increase his fluids give zofran and also give the buprenex

that said....she doesn't want me to give insulin on him if he is below 270 and certainly not if he is below 216...she says that skipping doses is ok and that he may only need one dose a day rather than the bid he is currently at....here is exactly what she says:
Also, please don't give the insulin if his blood sugar is <15 (certainly absolutely not if <12). It is fine to skip a dose. We often find that many of these lantus cats need one dose on some days, and then sometimes twice a day. It is one of the reasons we don't like lantus

so.....the questions are:
is there any literature besides what's here on FDMB that i can forward to her regarding Lantus in cats? (i really don't want her to get any link to here as she will see i'm going against her suggestions)....
i would like to get her on board with lantus as it is MY choice of insulin....so what sort of info do i need to send her to try to get her to understand lantus?

she seems so stuck with Caninsulin....and i don't want to change it on Rocket....

any help will be greatly appreciated....they do know i have the Accuchek meter (my mom has the same and she gifts me the lancets and strips which is a way to save money for me...the odd time i've had to buy them until i can get mom to send me a pkg)....so they know it's not a vet meter....wonder why she is telling me to let him go high as 15 mmol???????

anyone with suggestions?
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket PMPS 106 +2 99 +3 68-questions

dang it...i posted in the wrong condo...

of course i don't have any input...other than to let you know i'm thinking of you and rocket...
 
Re: 1/12 Rocket PMPS 106 +2 99 +3 68-questions

Claudia & Rocket said:
Also, please don't give the insulin if his blood sugar is <15 (certainly absolutely not if <12). It is fine to skip a dose. We often find that many of these lantus cats need one dose on some days, and then sometimes twice a day. It is one of the reasons we don't like lantus

Speechless.
So how many "Lantus cats" has this vet dealt with?
I don't recall the exact articles/studies that showed insulin was needed every 12 hrs, but I'm sure I could find it. Signing off now but will look for it tomorrow if no one else gives you the reference.
 
Claudia no matter how much info you give your vet if they are like mine (and mine are really good in soooo many ways) there is no convincing them that lantus is better and the proper protocol for using it. I tried for months to get my vet to be with me he listens but is never convinced confused_cat confused_cat this is JMO of course but I think you need to take care of Rockets FD the way you know is better and refer to them for his other health issues but like I said this is just me and what I would do sounds like your vet is not very experienced with the use of lantus
 
Here are three articles. The first addresses once vs. twice per day dosing in normal (non-diabetic) cats. The other article is a comparison with PZI. The last is the journal article with the dosing protocol.
 

Attachments

Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top