1/12 Ole PMPS 408 +2 394 +4 390

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Good Morning!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111679

Booing again!

Last night's BG recap:

PMPS 393
+2 271
+5 125
+6 139
+7 166
+11 457

Is it common to have 2 bounces in a row? I hope he can clear this one as he did yesterday.

One thing that concerns me is; although it is not fun to stay up most of the night, I'm glad he is doing all of this movement on the weekend. What will happen when Alex and I both have to be at work? Also, this morning is Ole's 4th cycle at 5.5uL, I know that we'll see how the day play's out, but this evening's dose is in the back of my mind.

I hope everybody has a terrific Sunday!

Rebekah and her bouncy boy.
 
Re: 1/12 Ole AMPS 542

I see we both have the same question about back to back bouncing!

Ole, that bounce is a bit too high. Come on down!
 
Re: 1/12 Ole AMPS 542

It's entirely possible to have 2 bounces. What it looks like to me is that Ole bounced after the greens during the PM cycle of 1/10 and then cleared the bounce yesterday morning. He dropped back into the blues last night and then bounced back up. The good news is that he cleared the bounce quickly.
 
Re: 1/12 Ole AMPS 542

Clearing bounces quickly is good news! I hope that Ole is having a good morning, despite the bouncy bounces! :-D Come down on a nice slide, Ole. Happy Sunday!
 
Re: 1/12 Ole AMPS 542, +3 435

Good Morning Rebekah :cool: ~O)

Regarding the dose, according to the TR Protocol:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Being that 5.5u has managed to bring him to green, I think it would be OK to proceed as per the protocol at this point and see how things play out.

Let's see what other folks think.

eta - I need ~O) ~O) ~O) and will be back to talk about your concerns around going back to work and not being able to monitor as closely. :cool:
 
Re: 1/12 Ole AMPS 542, +3 435 +6 429

Hi!

Ole stole a stick of butter right out of Alex's hand while he was making brunch. Both of us were chasing the rascal around the house. Ole got away with with a bite of refrigerator hard butter, and a bit of paper. Do you think that will have any ill effects?

Another new nutty Ole Behavior is that he has started to sharpen his claws on my slippers, while my feet are in them. Lordy, it feels weird!

He seems to be following a similar pattern to yesterday. I should take a nap in preparation. He tested Neg for K.

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/12 Ole AMPS 542, +3 435 +6 429+9 324

Sorry, but I had to laugh about the butter. Some people give a little unsalted butter as a hairball laxative, and I've even seen the term Butter Sunday. I guess Ole has seen that too. :lol: Back when we started and Neko was in really icky numbers, she grabbed a piece of wax paper that I'd been storing her meat on. I found it a couple days later in the LB. No idea what the carb count is though. :?

Good idea on the nap. As Sandy noted, the protocol says to hang onto a dose for 10 days once they've seen green, just cause there might be repeat performances.

Sorry about the slippers. That's worth a photo. Crazy cats.
 
Re: 1/12 Ole AMPS 542, +3 435 +6 429+9 324

Well, well - Ole is floating down nicely. :cool:
That in itself is nice to see.

He sure is something - -stealing a stick of butter! I don't think a little butter will be problematic.

Rebekah said:
What will happen when Alex and I both have to be at work?
:?: During the work week, are either of you able to pop home to grab any tests?

I personally was fortunate in that I worked from home (actually a separate cottage behind our main house aka BK Central)
So BK and I were together all day most days. When I had to travel for work, DBF took over as his job provided flexibility to do so.
So I can't speak to being gone all day first hand. However, many where the nights I did not leave my office at BK central.
I slept there on a small futon alternately testing and sleeping and making sure he was safe.

Imagine the amount of testing you experienced the last 2 PM cycles.
Now imagine that happening pretty much non stop for 2-3 weeks at a clip -on more than one occasion
That's what the longgg slide down the dosing ladder was like for us. I was more than a little frayed around the edges.
Something had to give.

Since BK was a good eater, I got the 5 compartment digital timed feeder. It was a life saver.
It gave us peace of mind and made it possible to sleep nights in the house in our own bed.

You have mentioned this type of feeder is not Oly proof and therefore not an option.

Some folks freeze kittys food, either the whole can (hockey puck) or in a ice cube tray (catsicles) to leave for kitty when at work.
That can provide peace of mind , knowing that you can leave food that will be available later should kitty need it.
Something you may want to consider.
 
Re: 1/12 Ole AMPS 542, +3 435 +6 429+9 324 PMPS 408

Good Evening!

Thank you for your advice about working. I have a more flexible schedule that Alex does and do work from home on occasion, but I do have meetings regularly. I will make it a point to come home at least once/day no matter how busy I am. I'll try the hockey puck, but I have my doubts. Of course I have been wrong many times before.

Ole did cough up a hairball and big piece of butter paper this evening. So, yes butter works as a hairball laxative. Hahaha

See you in a couple of hours!

Rebekah
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top