1/12 Minnie Bella dropped fast-AMPS@503, 139@+6, 53@+7

DianefromDallaa

Member Since 2024
Minnie Bella dropped very fast and was frantically trying to eat the food with gravy as soon as I got the 53 reading. She was acting more unusual than whenever she would hit the 50s which made this episode very scary!
I wasn’t getting a good increase after 15 minutes so I did the naughty and gave dry kibble. I had to. I’ve not seen her like this!

Within 30 minutes she was increasing. It took a toll on her. She was so stoned! Very disoriented.
She is finally breathing normal and relaxed.

I cant get a link to my past posts since I am on the phone staying with her a few more minutes.

I am seeing more days that start in the 500-600 BG range and dropping to 50’s in the +7 mark.
She’s on FF chix, beef which are really low in carbs.
 
Good catch on that 53!
I wasn’t getting a good increase after 15 minutes so I did the naughty and gave dry kibble.
Food takes 20-30 minutes to go from the plate to the blood stream. Next time, wait a little longer. An alternative to kibble is a drop of karo or honey which are fast acting.

Since you are using a pet meter, that 53 means her dose needs to be reduced to 0.5 units. She had actually already earned a reduction down to 0.5 units back on the 9th. Please reduce her dose tonight.

Here is the link to your last post here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ed-a-lot-amps-545-75u-441-3-81-6-79-7.297249/
 
Good catch on that 53!

Food takes 20-30 minutes to go from the plate to the blood stream. Next time, wait a little longer. An alternative to kibble is a drop of karo or honey which are fast acting.

Since you are using a pet meter, that 53 means her dose needs to be reduced to 0.5 units. She had actually already earned a reduction down to 0.5 units back on the 9th. Please reduce her dose tonight.

Here is the link to your last post here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ed-a-lot-amps-545-75u-441-3-81-6-79-7.297249/

Hi Wendy,
Thanks for looking at my note. When the same thing happened a few days ago, I was comfortable waiting on the food to kick in. But tonight was very very different. She was FRANTIC. That scared me. I gave corn syrup and nothing happened which is why i panicked.

After she stabilized, she was acting very weird. Almost looked 'stoned'. I just checked on her and she's really out of it. Her glucose is doing a huge swing and she's already @468! I am worried about reducing her dose tonight because of the swing. She's going to be HI tomorrow even if I do .75u. I've seen it before.

I am trying to understand if a 400-500 point swing daily is normal. That's what I am seeing.

I texted my vet tonight and she is really pushing me to change her insulin type. I really don't want to do that But these big swings are hard on her old, small body.

Please help!
 
Please dose just 0.5 units tonight. 0.75 units is too much insulin and drops her too low, resulting in those high numbers. A lower dose won't drop her as much as she shouldn't get those high swings.
 
Please dose just 0.5 units tonight. 0.75 units is too much insulin and drops her too low, resulting in those high numbers. A lower dose won't drop her as much as she shouldn't get those high swings.

Oh no - i just did her insulin.
I'll do .5 in the AM.

When I did .5u in the past, she stayed high and never dropped below 120-130. Is that what we want?
 
On Dec 16th last year, she went as low as 59 on the AT on 0.5 units. That's too low on a pet meter.
Just to clarify- I am using Pettest Advocate, not Alphateak.
It’s 3am and she is still acting very weird. Skittish. Walking low to ground like she’s stalking , but she’s not.

Looking side to side.
This is odd behavior for her. not seen this before when she dropped low.
 
Please update her spreadsheet. The Hi is a bounce resulting from going too low. She will get over that.
 
So Bella isn't doing well at all today. She hasn't really gotten off her heating pad - although I did turn it off because she was breathing heavily.

Her glucose was still high late this afternoon.

She is very non-responsive and lethargic. She had a terrible episode in early April that took several months for her to begin acting like herself I am praying this is not another repeat.

She was very different this morning as compared to her typical mornings. Back in April I would say she looked like she was 'stoned' - and I am seeing that again. She stares into space as if she doesn't see you.
My heart is breaking. I should have caught the decline earlier but I never expected a drop from 139 to 53 in an hour!

Ive asked this question a bunch of times - what is a typical 'range' I should expect to see in a day?

Also, does anyone think I should try a different insulin - like PZI?

One last question - i have tried feeding only Fancy Feast pate which is VERY low carbs.
She loves this food and her phosphorus is good so I didn't want to change. But with such low carbs, that may not be best. Ideas?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top