1/12 Ming PS (+18) = 67, +0.5=85, +4 = 58, +5 = 56, +7=227

15 minutes later, holding steady at 59. I can stall another 15 minutes because the first reading was 30 mins before shot time.
 
You haven't fed him in 2 hours now, correct?
You might want to start thinking about what dose you would be comfortable shooting, if he is still around 59 at his next test.
 
Nope! He's at 50 now haha! I'm going to feed now. I have no idea what to do. My instincts say feed his normal meal with 1 tsp of FF gravy (HC). For now, I'll give him half of his his normal food and if someone says to give HC, I'll add it on.
 
I gave 1 tsp of HC with half a can of FF (LC). He usually gets one whole can of LC.

Maybe we do an 18 hour cycle?
 
If you're planning on skipping the shot, then I would just feed him LC (and test again in 30 minutes) as the dose from his last shot should be wearing off, although he still has that depot. If you are going to shoot, then a little HC will help to bump him up.
 
If you're planning on skipping the shot, then I would just feed him LC (and test again in 30 minutes) as the dose from his last shot should be wearing off, although he still has that depot. If you are going to shoot, then a little HC will help to bump him up.

Hm ok. From experience... HC food hardly does much for him. Last time he went below 50, it took almost a whole can of HC to see any upward motion :rolleyes: or it might have been the insulin kicking in at the same time.

I’ll be testing in 30 mins! And yay, 18 hour cycle it is!

I guess technically he has earned a reduction.. so he’ll get 6.5 units unless someone says otherwise :p
 
He's coming down from a bounce. If you're going to stall for 6 (or is it 5.5) more hours, I think I would hold off on any more HC, unless he keeps going lower. Anyway, test again in 30, and then in an hour, and at +2. Start from there.
 
He's coming down from a bounce. If you're going to stall for 6 (or is it 5.5) more hours, I think I would hold off on any more HC, unless he keeps going lower. Anyway, test again in 30, and then in an hour, and at +2. Start from there.

Ok!

I’m sitting here kind of confused and super tired but when is shot time? Would it be the start of +6 or the start of +7?
 
If you want to stay on your 7:00am / 7:00pm shot schedule, then you would shoot 18 hours after the normal 7:00am which would be 1:00pm, and then skip tonight and shoot again tomorrow morning at 7:00am, I think.. if my math is right. I think it is.
If you want to move up his shot time to say 6:00am / 6:00pm, you can adjust for that during this cycle.
 
If you want to stay on your 7:00am / 7:00pm shot schedule, then you would shoot 18 hours after the normal 7:00am which would be 1:00pm, and then skip tonight and shoot again tomorrow morning at 7:00am, I think.. if my math is right. I think it is.
If you want to move up his shot time to say 6:00am / 6:00pm, you can adjust for that during this cycle.

Oh right right! I need to skip tonight's shot. Thank you for doing the math. My sleepy brain was not computing.

I'll be testing in about 10 mins. He ate around 7:10 am
 
~+12.5 = 59

I'll test in another 30 mins as well (+13) then test at +14 and go from there as @Dyana suggested.

Man.. I was hoping to be able to sleep last night and also sleep during the day today but oh Ming... always foiling my sleeping plans! But at least he's not pulling this shenanigans on a day I have to work.
 
Since you've decided what you are going to do and have a plan, now, you can take the ? icon off of your Subject line. That way, if you have another question and you put it back up again, people will notice it and respond.
 
Since you've decided what you are going to do and have a plan, now, you can take the ? icon off of your Subject line. That way, if you have another question and you put it back up again, people will notice it and respond.

Thanks! I want to keep it on because I'm not sure if I should do 6.5 units or 7 units. Since 50 is right at the edge of a reduction. But I'll take it off for now until closer to shot time.
 
I understand. He didn't go below 50.
Since he had DKA somewhat recently, I would try to get a ketone test in sometime late this evening, if you can.
 
Ketone test tonight it is :)

I'm leaning towards sticking to 7. I remember learning that clearing a bounce has extra downward momentum. So maybe this cycle is what's happening plus the large depot that's still working?
 
You have 2.25 more hours to go until +18, let's see where he is then. You can do a +17 and post again if you want. I will try to get some other eyes on your post for you. I don't have first hand experience with the larger doses.
He sure is surfing along nicely, today.
mail
Wouldn't it be nice if this were to continue. Are you home tomorrow?
 
Yes, I hope he continues to surf nicely :) and I hope I figure out what to do in times like these. It’s the lowest PS number I’ve had. My previous lowest was probably 70 or 60 something. 50 makes me too uncomfortable lol

Unfortunately I’m not home tomorrow but maybe my sister can watch him if she doesn’t have work. My mom is around to watch him as usual but she can’t watch him as closely as I do.

+16 = 61

If I can’t any more eyes then I think I’ll be safe and stick with a 6.5 dose since I won’t be home tomorrow to monitor closely.
 
Don't forget the depot will have been drained some because of the 18 hour cycle, so that may help you to feel a little more comfortable.
 
I think I did the hourly numbers all wrong. I’ll fix them later but PS is 67.

My mom is giving the insulin as I’m out of the house for a bit and she is giving 6.5 units.
 
Well good thing we shot now! 45 minutes later since PS and he’s at 85.

I’m not opposed to going back to 7 units tomorrow morning if someone can chime in. The 6.5 units this time was just me being chicken lol
 
I guess technically he has earned a reduction.. so he’ll get 6.5 units unless someone says otherwise :p
I don’t see where he went below 50? But it’s also just the fifth cycle after the half shot a couple nights ago. If you are worried about him tomorrow, stick with 6.5 until it proves to be too little.
 
Last edited:
It's okay, you shot what you felt comfortable shooting.
Sorry, I didn't abandon you. My sleep schedule has been getting a little off on the weekends. I started to feel sleepy and started a nap right before your shot time. I logged in like 2 minutes after you shot, read that you shot, and went right back to sleep without posting. :oops:
He had a great and long run of green. :D

Thanks Wendy :bighug:
 
I don’t see where he went below 50? But it’s also just the fifth cycle after the half shot a couple nights ago. If you are worried about him tomorrow, stick with 6.5 until it proves to be too little.

Thanks! Okay, now I know it's BELOW 50 and not ON 50. I'm going to coordinate with my family and see if anyone can monitor him tomorrow and go back to 7 units. If not, I'm going to stick with 6.5 units.

Sorry, I didn't abandon you. My sleep schedule has been getting a little off on the weekends. I started to feel sleepy and started a nap right before your shot time. I logged in like 2 minutes after you shot, read that you shot, and went right back to sleep without posting. :oops:

No worries! Despite the unexpected and long lows, I felt pretty calm and happy to see Ming in green even if it meant mixing up the shot schedule.

Now that there are more eyes, would anyone have done something differently?
 
Clue number two that you might want to try 6.5 tomorrow. If by any chance he does have IAA, caution is key.

Got it. I did some googling and found some posts on the message board about IAA. Still reading and still trying to understand.

+7=227

The rise was dramatic... I fell asleep and got this.
 
Back
Top