1/12 Kim's Simon AMPS 353

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys .. how consider of simon to make it easy for you to leave .. but let's bring it down a notch or two ok? Nice solid blues would have been good too! have a great day guys!
 
Kim is asking about Simon's dose and she accidentally put the question in another condo. Here is her question:

Hi everyone,
I think that by reading the protocol it might be time to slightly raise Simon's dose. Thoughts?

One more piece of information: He will be staying with my mom Tuesday-Sunday of next week. He will get his shots, but home testing may or may not be done regularly. She said she will try to at least get pre-shots.
Some of you told me that in this situation with a caregiver, we would lower the dose. For Simon's current situation, would just leaving him at 1 unit through the trip, until Monday 1/23, be the best option? Would I need to lower it below 1 unit or just leave it the same since it might actually be time to raise the dose?

Final question: how many readings make a full curve? It doesn't have to be every hour, or does it?

Thanks for all of your help while we are getting our feet wet.

I have a little different take here. I think Simon is bouncing off the blue numbers that he is getting. It can take up to 72 hours (six cycles) to clear a bounce altho it looks like he's trying to clear them quickly. Because there are no mid-cycle tests today, we're not really sure what he did. As you can see from 1/9 a.m. cycle he went from 317 to 127 to 267. So there's no telling where he went today. If there is any way for you to get at least one mid-cycle test each cycle (am and pm), it will help us know what he's doing.

Right now, I'd hold his dose because of the bouncing. I think we should see what he does over the weekend before we give some thought to next Tuesday's dose. Sound ok? :-D


Just in case you are interested (there aren't many responses), the other condo link is: Simon..Dose?
 
Carl's info on a curve is correct: a full curve is testing every 2 hours and a mini-curve is testing every 3 hours over a 12 hour period. If a curve doesn't work for your schedule, trying to get spot checks at varying times can be just as good. You want to have a means of understanding when Lantus onset and nadir occur and what kind of duration you're getting.

Marje is correct -- Simon is bouncing. But, it looks like me may be clearing those bounces relatively quickly. We'll need to see a few more spot checks to know for sure. With regard to dose while you're gone, I think it's too soon to make any decisions about what to do. A great deal can happen between now and Tuesday. I'd suggest that you post a question on Sunday asking for help with dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top