1/12 Ivy Amps 281, +.75 128, +1 102, +3 166, +4 83, +5 86, +7 151, +9 224, Pmps 309, +3 176,Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-255-6-226-9-248-pmps-278-2-270-4-180.285526/
Amps 281
128 at +.75 on Libre
102 at +1 Libre
A very fast drop before +1
Fed 1 tsp 9.25% to slow this very early drop at +.75. Dropped again at +1 Fed tsp 12.5%.
Looks like it will be a very active am cycle. :woot:
I’d better buckle up.

Yesterday was flat yellow am cycle. Pm cycle was nice blue cycle with a nadir at +7 to 92 on the Libre. I was asleep but saw the Libre value this morning when I checked the app.

I need to carefully review and respond to @Marje and Gracie for her very thorough analysis from last night about a strategy for Ivy. :bighug:

Hope everyone has a safe surf and a happy Friday.
:cat:
 
Morning Staci, happen to get up early and checked on Ivy, I hope you can figure things out with the carb experiments . I was reading what Marje wrote, she is so knowledgeable and experienced , she has helped me out so much with Tyler when I had joined . We are so lucky to have her .
I hope you can keep Ivy surfing in some nice blues and high greens today .
You are such a wonderful Mama Bear :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Last edited:
Hi Staci :)
Good catch on the drop this morning.
Also happy to see some low numbers. Hope you get some good but safe action today.
I'll go now to read Marje's strategy for you from yesterday. I'm so happy you're receiving some proper attention.
Wishing you a wonderful day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Up and down all morning. We are at +4
83 on Libre
Fed 1 tsp 6%. Will see if that holds her from diving. (May need to try 9% at this stage of the cycle if needed.) Trying to use lower carbs since we are at +4.
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Looks like she's gonna be a busy bee this cycle. I bet she's in a hurry to get down to the beach. I'll tell Nestle to look out for her.
Safe surfing and happy Friday.

upload_2024-1-12_10-36-6.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-12_10-36-6.png
    upload_2024-1-12_10-36-6.png
    183.2 KB · Views: 352
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Looks like she's gonna be a busy bee this cycle. I bet she's in a hurry to get down to the beach. I'll tell Nestle to look out for her.
Safe surfing and happy Friday.

View attachment 68760
Please do tell Nestle. She’s on a roll today to see Nestle and friends. Better take a warm cover up to the beach.
Such cute graphic :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Have a great day, Karolina!
 
Ivy's showing some great numbers of late! I hope she surfs in some nice safe green waters today!
Hi Alicia! Ivy is a busy girl today trying to surf with intent.
I’m off to the fabric store to try to find some stretchy fabric to make longer tube tops for her. Custom couture for my fancy schmantsy cat. Lol.
First I need her to surf flat for a while before I can leave.
I hope you all are having a calm, boring day!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
Good catch on the drop this morning.
Also happy to see some low numbers. Hope you get some good but safe action today.
I'll go now to read Marje's strategy for you from yesterday. I'm so happy you're receiving some proper attention.
Wishing you a wonderful day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Shelly, I would never catch these drops without her Libre. I’m a pop thankful it lets me know what’s up with her.

I’m sure you were able to learn so much from Marje’s message. She’s an incredible teacher and sage!! I’m in awe of her breadth of knowledge. And I’m so thankful for her help!

Wishing you all a peaceful and calm day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Staci, happen to get up early and checked on Ivy, I hope you can figure things out with the carb experiments . I was reading what Marje wrote, she is so knowledgeable and experienced , she has helped me out so much with Tyler when I had joined . We are so lucky to have her .
I hope you can keep Ivy surfing in some nice blues and high greens today .
You are such a wonderful Mama Bear :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
I totally agree Diane. I’m glad Marje was able to help you and Tyler. And I’m so thankful for her help now. First really need some help to get Ivy on the right track after all this time. I feel like I just flounder here and flip flop on my own, just guessing what to actually try. It’s been so frustrating and I feel so helpless.
I really yuh appreciate your constant support and encouragement all the time. You’re the best Mama Bear to Tyler and all of us as well.
Wishes for a lovely day for you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci!
Already a great cycle! Hope Ivy will keep up safely!
Ivy's getting nice nadirs lately! Good progress.
Happy Friday and enjoy the day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, it’s been a busy day here from the first hour. I’m already wiped. And I have to do some errands and grocery shop. Ugh. Can’t leave yet. She’s not stable at +5.
I hope you and Mikan are having a calm day. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Kit, it’s been a busy day here from the first hour. I’m already wiped. And I have to do some errands and grocery shop. Ugh. Can’t leave yet. She’s not stable at +5.
I hope you and Mikan are having a calm day. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
It's such a double edged sword, isn't it.
When the numbers are too high, we get depressed. Yet when it threatens to get low, we are too anxious to do anything!
Hope you got to get the errands done today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
How is Ivy's itchiness today, Staci?
I read through Marje's comments to you. WOW she's got some real experience. Made me think of all these lame vets and how little they know.
I can see you'll need to sit with it and come up with a strategy.
I wonder how you feel about shifting to TR after her comments? Or is it too soon to ask. I don't want you to feel pressured. I honestly think that your own sense of safety is not less important than Ivy's. I know this question has been brought up a lot.
sending lots of love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Suzanne, @Suzanne & Darcy
I thought I would move this conversation here so I didn’t hijack Lori’s condo today.
Do you know if I could just add the B Complex to her food instead of in a capsule?

You said the below:
Hi, Stacy! You take one Jarrow B-Right B-Complex capsule and divide it into 10 small capsules size 4 or 5 and give it once per day. Size 5 capsules are smaller than the size 4. I use the size 4 because it leaves me a little room to put a few small pills in there so I can give Ginger her blood thinner and her Lasix all in the same capsule with the B-Complex. If I were just doing the B-Complex alone I might try using a “drop” measuringspoon and fitting it into a size 5 tiny capsule.
 
It's such a double edged sword, isn't it.
When the numbers are too high, we get depressed. Yet when it threatens to get low, we are too anxious to do anything!
Hope you got to get the errands done today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yes totally right. It’s all so complicated.
She finally stabilized around +6.5 so I went out and did what I needed to. She’s still sleeping in her bed. Where I left her. Snoring.
The good life (to be any of our cats!)
I hope you’ve had a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
How is Ivy's itchiness today, Staci?
I read through Marje's comments to you. WOW she's got some real experience. Made me think of all these lame vets and how little they know.
I can see you'll need to sit with it and come up with a strategy.
I wonder how you feel about shifting to TR after her comments? Or is it too soon to ask. I don't want you to feel pressured. I honestly think that your own sense of safety is not less important than Ivy's. I know this question has been brought up a lot.
sending lots of love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Shelly, I know. Isn’t Marje’s comment incredible. She’s amazing. I really need to sit with it and really ponder what she’s saying to try to wrap my head around it all. Which is exactly what I need. Someone who knows so much to be above to work with me to strategize and put together a plan. I feel so blessed to have her help!
I am going to give TR some deep thought to see if it’s possible for us to try. It makes me very nervous because it went so badly for me the last time. I was literally round the clock sleeping on the floor next to her as she was deep diving all through the night. I had no sleep for weeks on end and it was hard to get help to know what to do. So I have ptsd. :woot::banghead:

I want to get up tomorrow and sit down and read everything again with a fresh brain. (Is that a thing? Think I just made that up).

I hope you d had a good day and are enjoying a nice night now. Sleep well :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Do you know if I could just add the B Complex to her food instead of in a capsule?
I add supplements to Fistuk's food directly, including the B complex. supplements without capsule absorb more quickly. Basically any excess of B will be peed out of the body so you don't have to worry about the exact measure. Of course you don't want to use too much just to waste but it's good to know that whatever the body can't absorb will leave with urinating. Same for humans.

In general, many supplements need to be paired with other vitamins/minerals in order to be better absorbed in the body. An gut balance will be the first judge to the extent of vitamins absorption capacity :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I add supplements to Fistuk's food directly, including the B complex. supplements without capsule absorb more quickly. Basically any excess of B will be peed out of the body so you don't have to worry about the exact measure. Of course you don't want to use too much just to waste but it's good to know that whatever the body can't absorb will leave with urinating. Same for humans.

In general, many supplements need to be paired with other vitamins/minerals in order to be better absorbed in the body. An gut balance will be the first judge to the extent of vitamins absorption capacity :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I also add many supplements to Ivy’s good. I just wanted to make sure that was ok with this one in particular. Can’t be too careful and I didn’t want to make any assumptions :)
 
I also add many supplements to Ivy’s good. I just wanted to make sure that was ok with this one in particular. Can’t be too careful and I didn’t want to make any assumptions :)
YOu're right. I think it's a good question to ask.
I don't know much about insulin and dosing but I do have quite some knowledge in vitamins and minerals ;)

On a principle, cats will absorb vitamins and minerals that they would otherwise get directly from hunted food. They won't get in capsule in nature ;)

This is a great link. It's lengthy. I normally don't favour gov websites. I find this one useful:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC10177498/

It's specifically about cobalamin but there are some interesting illustrations about cat's digestion process as well (of vitamins)
 
YOu're right. I think it's a good question to ask.
I don't know much about insulin and dosing but I do have quite some knowledge in vitamins and minerals ;)

On a principle, cats will absorb vitamins and minerals that they would otherwise get directly from hunted food. They won't get in capsule in nature ;)

This is a great link. It's lengthy. I normally don't favour gov websites. I find this one useful:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC10177498/

It's specifically about cobalamin but there are some interesting illustrations about cat's digestion process as well (of vitamins)
Wow, that’s a lot about cobalamin!! Thanks :p
 
Pmps 309. Pink again :(
Well I guess she earned her bounce from 2 very nice cycles in a row.
Safe surfing to all. Stay warm everyone. Brrrr. :cat:
 
Hi Suzanne, @Suzanne & Darcy
I thought I would move this conversation here so I didn’t hijack Lori’s condo today.
Do you know if I could just add the B Complex to her food instead of in a capsule?

You said the below:
Hi, Stacy! You take one Jarrow B-Right B-Complex capsule and divide it into 10 small capsules size 4 or 5 and give it once per day. Size 5 capsules are smaller than the size 4. I use the size 4 because it leaves me a little room to put a few small pills in there so I can give Ginger her blood thinner and her Lasix all in the same capsule with the B-Complex. If I were just doing the B-Complex alone I might try using a “drop” measuringspoon and fitting it into a size 5 tiny capsule.
Well B vitamins tend to have a strong flavor. Maybe you could try mixing it in with a small amount of something really smelly like sardines or anchovies or pure meat baby food or tuna in oil or anything she really likes a lot!
 
Well B vitamins tend to have a strong flavor. Maybe you could try mixing it in with a small amount of something really smelly like sardines or anchovies or pure meat baby food or tuna in oil or anything she really likes a lot!
Hmm. She really doesn’t eat anything but her homemade food diet. I guess I deprive my poor girl. I’m trying to not have to pill her if I don’t have to. Thanks for the good suggestions:)
 
Maybe she would eat it in food. You don’t know if you don’t try. Is she difficult to pill?
Well I give her a bunch of supplements in her food. So I could try. Right now I give her a denamarin pill 1x a day and I’d like to try an alternative that Marje mentioned for liver support. While she’s not impossible to pill, if I can get away from it, I would like to try. It’s just one more thing I have to put her through each day. Just trying to improve her quality of life. :)
 
When Bella had B12, I had it in a liquid form and added it to her food. She ate it without issue. She's impossible to pill, she will spit it back long after, I'm not sure where she puts them :) but if I crush pills and mix with food, she will eat it.
The B12 was pink, though, and colored her poop, that scared me at first, i thought she was bleeding :facepalm:
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-255-6-226-9-248-pmps-278-2-270-4-180.285526/
Amps 281
128 at +.75 on Libre
102 at +1 Libre
A very fast drop before +1
Fed 1 tsp 9.25% to slow this very early drop at +.75. Dropped again at +1 Fed tsp 12.5%.
Looks like it will be a very active am cycle. :woot:
I’d better buckle up.

Yesterday was flat yellow am cycle. Pm cycle was nice blue cycle with a nadir at +7 to 92 on the Libre. I was asleep but saw the Libre value this morning when I checked the app.

I need to carefully review and respond to @Marje and Gracie for her very thorough analysis from last night about a strategy for Ivy. :bighug:

Hope everyone has a safe surf and a happy Friday.
:cat:
Where did you write marje? I need to consult it to see if it works for my cat.
 
YOu're right. I think it's a good question to ask.
I don't know much about insulin and dosing but I do have quite some knowledge in vitamins and minerals ;)

On a principle, cats will absorb vitamins and minerals that they would otherwise get directly from hunted food. They won't get in capsule in nature ;)

This is a great link. It's lengthy. I normally don't favour gov websites. I find this one useful:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC10177498/

It's specifically about cobalamin but there are some interesting illustrations about cat's digestion process as well (of vitamins)
Hi, would you recommend this for my cat? How much should I give him ?
 
When Bella had B12, I had it in a liquid form and added it to her food. She ate it without issue. She's impossible to pill, she will spit it back long after, I'm not sure where she puts them :) but if I crush pills and mix with food, she will eat it.
The B12 was pink, though, and colored her poop, that scared me at first, i thought she was bleeding :facepalm:
Thanks for letting me know, Cecile. The pink poop would have freaked me out!
 
When Bella had B12, I had it in a liquid form and added it to her food. She ate it without issue. She's impossible to pill, she will spit it back long after, I'm not sure where she puts them :) but if I crush pills and mix with food, she will eat it.
The B12 was pink, though, and colored her poop, that scared me at first, i thought she was bleeding :facepalm:
In this case, we are talking about B-Complex not just B-12. It’s available in liquid form most likely, but tastes nasty. It is important that it be the B-Complex if it’s to help with anemia. But I know what you mean about the B-12 being red! I give one of my cats B-12 injections and I take a B-12 liquid that you spray under your tongue. It’s very red and will stain anything.
 
Well I give her a bunch of supplements in her food. So I could try. Right now I give her a denamarin pill 1x a day and I’d like to try an alternative that Marje mentioned for liver support. While she’s not impossible to pill, if I can get away from it, I would like to try. It’s just one more thing I have to put her through each day. Just trying to improve her quality of life. :)
Regarding the Denamarin. If you would like to try a liver supplement that is a powder which can be mixed with food — then try Milk Thistle.
 
In this case, we are talking about B-Complex not just B-12. It’s available in liquid form most likely, but tastes nasty. It is important that it be the B-Complex if it’s to help with anemia.
Yes I am looking to add complex for anemia. She’s only taking b12 right now (zobaline since she developed neuropathy). She used to take cycobalamin, now we use Zobaline instead x2 daily .
 
In this case, we are talking about B-Complex not just B-12. It’s available in liquid form most likely, but tastes nasty. It is important that it be the B-Complex if it’s to help with anemia. But I know what you mean about the B-12 being red! I give one of my cats B-12 injections and I take a B-12 liquid that you spray under your tongue. It’s very red and will stain anything.
I can imagine the taste, the B-complex pills for humans smell so bad! Thank you for the explanations!
 
Hi Alli, I hope you are all doing well. Thanks for checking on us! It was a nice cycle. :)
How is Smudge doing? How is Penny? Give hugs to them from me :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Smudge is doing wonderful!! Adapting to far less treats slowly, haha.

Penny gave me a scare last weekend/week, which is also why I've been quiet. She was refusing to eat, could barely walk/jump, couldn't poop, was miserable. I thought I was losing her. Brought her into my vet and he said her arthritis in her knees has reached a level where she's in a lot of pain - squatting to poo is painful, etc so she constipated herself. We opted for Solensia right then and there and boy is she bouncing back quickly. She's acting better than I've seen her in over a month! Hoping it continues.
 
Plain mink thistle? Instead of the denamarin? Do you know the correct dose?
Penny's ALT is always very elevated and I give her organic milk thistle. I pack size 3 capsules with the powder, she gets 2 per day. I can link you to what I use if you'd like. She did not tolerate Denamarin at all.

Yes I am looking to add complex for anemia. She’s only taking b12 right now (zobaline since she developed neuropathy). She used to take cycobalamin, now we use Zobaline instead x2 daily .
Penny also gets B-complex. She gets 1/10th of a human capsule put into a size 5 capsule. It prob looks like I'm running a weird pill factory over here.
 
Smudge is doing wonderful!! Adapting to far less treats slowly, haha.

Penny gave me a scare last weekend/week, which is also why I've been quiet. She was refusing to eat, could barely walk/jump, couldn't poop, was miserable. I thought I was losing her. Brought her into my vet and he said her arthritis in her knees has reached a level where she's in a lot of pain - squatting to poo is painful, etc so she constipated herself. We opted for Solensia right then and there and boy is she bouncing back quickly. She's acting better than I've seen her in over a month! Hoping it continues.
Oh my I’m so sorry to hear she wasn’t doing well. I know how much you love her, too!! I’m so happy to hear the vet turned her around, Alli!! So glad the Solensia helped her. You must have been so scared. Sending you a big best hug of support. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I know how that feels. It’s the worst.
 
Penny's ALT is always very elevated and I give her organic milk thistle. I pack size 3 capsules with the powder, she gets 2 per day. I can link you to what I use if you'd like. She did not tolerate Denamarin at all.


Penny also gets B-complex. She gets 1/10th of a human capsule put into a size 5 capsule. It prob looks like I'm running a weird pill factory over here.
Yes please let me know what you are using. That would be great. I think that can be put in food?? Do you know offhand? It does it need to be in a capsule?
Ivy has been on Denamarin for years and no issues. (What did Penny encounter adversely)?
Which B Complex do you use?
Thanks, Alli. and a big smooch for Mr. Smudge the rockstar, too! :kiss::kiss::kiss:
 
Yes please let me know what you are using. That would be great. I think that can be put in food?? Do you know offhand? It does it need to be in a capsule?
Ivy has been on Denamarin for years and no issues. (What did Penny encounter adversely)?
Which B Complex do you use?
Thanks, Alli. and a big smooch for Mr. Smudge the rockstar, too! :kiss::kiss::kiss:
Denamarin made Penny lose her appetite completely and she had vomiting. It was awful.

I use this milk thistle and use capsules because she can be picky with eating it. You can definitely use it in her food.

For B-complex, I use Jarrow B-Right and only 1/10 of the capsule like I mentioned. Not sure how else I'd give it other than the capsules, B vitamins taste terrible haha. This specific one was recommended on the Tanya's CKD forum as well tolerated and Penny has never had issues.

:bighug:extra Smudge smooches tonight!
 
Denamarin made Penny lose her appetite completely and she had vomiting. It was awful.

I use this milk thistle and use capsules because she can be picky with eating it. You can definitely use it in her food.

For B-complex, I use Jarrow B-Right and only 1/10 of the capsule like I mentioned. Not sure how else I'd give it other than the capsules, B vitamins taste terrible haha. This specific one was recommended on the Tanya's CKD forum as well tolerated and Penny has never had issues.

:bighug:extra Smudge smooches tonight!
Thanks Alli. What is the dose for the milk thistle?
I would try putting in Ivy’s food.
Do you just pull Penny with both the thistle and Vitamin B?
(I thought just giving denamarin was a pain. It’s a large pill).
 
Thanks Alli. What is the dose for the milk thistle?
I would try putting in Ivy’s food.
Do you just pull Penny with both the thistle and Vitamin B?
(I thought just giving denamarin was a pain. It’s a large pill).
Last I knew it was 100mg per 10lbs of weight. I know you can go higher as necessary, it doesn't have any adverse effects known. Penny is on more because her ALT was over 400 and it's gotten her down to the low 200s regularly.
 
Back
Top