Re: 1/12 Hobbs AMPS 91 +5 85
Well that is why the stall if you can, you always want to be shooting a rising number. So like this morning if you tested and got a 97 at 6:30am stalled until 7am and got say a 150. First you know he is rising, second you know it will take a couple hours before the Lantus kicks in from the new shot, and that food will also bring him up some. So you would be safe in assuming that he is going to continue to rise for the next couple hours so then you would go ahead and shoot your normal dose into the 150.
And skipping a shot is an adjustment of sorts but especially if you aren't going to be home to keep an eye on him letting that shed drain some and him to go a little higher by the pm shot is safer than shooting into alow number and not be there to catch it if he starts heading for hypo numbers.
Personally I'm not a fan of the shooting low to stay low, but that is just me, it makes me nervous, since I lost my very first diabetic Muse because she went hypo overnight and unlike Musette, Muse didn't sleep with us, so I wasn't aware of her being in trouble until it was too late and she was gone by the time I found her the next morning. Again just my personal comfort level when it comes to giving insulin, to this day my cut off point with Musette is anything below 100 I either stall until she is above 100, or skip altogether if she isn't raising fast enough.
But even with all the testing I do with Musette she still pulls strange patterns on me, like this morning her first test was 356, her second was 422, okay so went with her normal dose...2 hours later she had dropped to 267...or 156 pts :shock: Then again Musette is also a very different little cat, which is why I have to use an atypical dosing protocol with her too. But she also was adopted as a diabetic, after going fairly untreated for a long time (at least 3 months) so she still bounces a lot when she gets into lower numbers. Her body is just having a hard time relearning what is normal again, so her liver panics a lot.
Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang