1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, PMPS 87, +1 117, +2 78, +3 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Dusty

Member Since 2012
Previous condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86619

The semester starts in a couple of days and have been busy with meetings and such in preparation. And ended up skipping a couple of condos. Whoops! I'm curious (and worried) about how it'll be juggling Dusty's treatment with the craziness of the semester, once it starts back up.

Yesterday she seemed very flat (and way too high), but today she's taken a bit of a dive into green. I'll test again in an hour to see whether she's going lower or if she's at her nadir now. (I still can't figure her out -- some days she slides and others are more a normal curve) But now, back to writing up syllabi and reminding myself that lots of work for the students means lots of work for me, too. :smile:
 
Re: 1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, +6 79 +7 64

Aaaand, still going down. Will test again in an hour. Though she's munching down pretty impressively at the moment on some LC fancy feast (the chunky chicken feast) so, hopefully, her numbers will stabilize a bit.
 
Re: 1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, +6 79 +7 64 +8 104

Hi Michelle & Dusty,

Those are some nice greens for today--purrfect. Now, Dusty, let's not bounce, OK?

Good luck with the start of the semester (always a difficult and busy time). You'll just have to see how your schedule works out with Dusty's! It can be done and you will do it! :smile:

In the meantime, enjoy the rest of the weekend.

Ella & Rusty

Nice to see you in the lagoon today, Dusty.

Rusty, LagoonMeister
 
Re: 1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, +6 79 +7 64 +8 104 PMPS 87 DOSIN

Thanks, Ella! No bounce, it seems. Indeed she's settled into a nice flat green.

Of course, this is leads to a question: Dose? Don't dose? Delay? Given the 20% variance, it could be that she's holding pretty steady from her +8 or, if not, has dropped some. I have a bit of schedule lee-way, but can't delay for more than about an hour because I have to dose her by about 8 am latest on Monday morning. Tested for ketones today, and her UTI seems well under control by the antibiotics, so she's in pretty good place if she goes high. But I'd like to avoid that jump up, if possible.

Maybe a delay and, if still low, a reduced dose?

I have to go feed her now because the clavamox she's on can lead to nausea if they don't get food with the pill...so she may get a food bump in the delay numbers.
 
Re: 1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, +6 79 +7 64 +8 104 PMPS 87 DOSIN

It looks to me like she is on a second dip. If you have supplies and can be up to test, I'd shoot now with her full, regular dose and get a +1 and +2.

Once you do that, let me know...or if you have questions.
 
Re: 1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, +6 79 +7 64 +8 104 PMPS 87 DOSIN

Fully stocked up on supplies and can stay up...so I'll go dose and keep fingers crossed (and test +1 and +2). Must keep reminding myself that Lantus doesn't kick in immediately.

Thanks, Marje!
 
Re: 1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, +6 79 +7 64 +8 104 PMPS 87 DOSIN

You're welcome.

At first look, you might think that Dusty is giving you a dropping number. But there is a difference between a dropping number and a second dip. The latter is something that lantus and levemir are known to do.

How do you tell the difference?

A dropping number usually occurs when they are clearing a bounce so numbers start higher and just keep coming down right into the next preshot.

A second dip is when they come down, nadir, go back up a bit, and then come down a second time but not as low as the nadir. That's what Dusty did today. Second dips are fine to shoot as long as the number is above 50 and you have supplies and can test.

Shooting a dropping number...again as long as it is above 50 and you have supplies...can also be a good technique once you know your cat. It allows you to take advantage of overlap. Looks to me like you shot a dropping number on the PM cycle of 1/9.

See you at +1.
 
Re: 1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, PMPS 87, +1 117

OK...so she's going up a bit! But she just peed on the futon in my office! :o :evil: I think it was because I had a couple of folded up puppy pads tossed there so that I could put them down when I changed the litter tonight. Perhaps she just assumed that, because it was a puppy pad, she could pee on it? But still. Grar. Thank goodness for Nature's Miracle.

Thanks for the info about dropping versus dipping, Marje! That's good to know...also because, I'd imagine, the second drop doesn't typically last very long. At least this one didn't!
 
Re: 1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, PMPS 87, +1 117

Sometimes if they are dropping, they keep dropping after PMPS. Sometimes they come up with food. ECID.

This could just be a food spike so I'd get a +2.
 
Re: 1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, PMPS 87, +1 117, +2 78

I think you are going to be up a while. Will you be ok or do you need me to stay up?
 
Re: 1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, PMPS 87, +1 117, +2 78

OK...we're back down now. Grab a +3? Hold off and do a +4?

Food is out and available if she wants to eat it. Though she's been pretty uninterested in food since her PMPS. Not sure if it's nausea from the antibiotics, being full from this afternoon (when she ate quite a bit), or something else.
 
Re: 1/12, Dusty, AMPS 292, PMPS 87, +1 117, +2 78

Marje, I should be fine. If she's down again at her +3 I may give her a bit of HC just to make me feel a bit better about sleeping. And I've got my karo syrup in case things go very low. :smile:

Thanks for offering, though!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top