1/11 Zoe OTJ 2 years and now a concern...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry & Zoe (GA)

Member Since 2009
Hi All!

I haven't been around much lately and for that I apologize, but you know how life gets...BUSY! I have a concern about Zoe, she has been OTJ for 2 years & has been doing really well until Oct 2010. She started giving me higher BG numbers usually in the 130's, occasionally I will see a number below 100, but lately her bg numbers have been consistently in the 130's.

She was treated for a UTI that was found by cystocentesis in October for 1 month with Clavamox from mid-Oct to mid-Nov. She showed no symptoms of a UTI, so it was a surprise when this came back positive.

She had the radioactive iodine treatment done in Sept to treat her HyperThyroid, that is now considered cured. Her only other medical problem is asthma, for which she is being treated with inhaled Flovent and doing very well.

There is nothing obviously wrong with her - she looks good, her fur is soft and shiny, there is no PU/PD, she is eating well and has put on some weight (which is good), she plays and is interested in everything going on around her. I am just confused by these numbers......I did get new strips and control solution in case there was a problem with my glucometer and they are fine.

She was just at the Vets 1 month ago for the final check on her Thyroid. She had a full exam and full blood panel including U/A - everything came back NORMAL. Her teeth looked good, just the beginnings of a little build up, but nothing to worry about yet. She just had a dental with 3 extractions in Nov. 09.

Any thoughts, suggestions? Thanks! Her SS is up-to-date...
 
My first thought would be to check the label on her food to make sure there hasn't been a formula change. I say that because Skipper was just thrown back on the juice by an unannounced change in By Nature Organic.
I also would try test, feed, wait 2-3 hrs after feeding, and retest to see if she brings herself down.
Numbers are not alarming; hope it's just a small bump in the road.
 
Bumping also. Someone was saying that it may have an impact on BG. But if Zoe's dose wasn't changed and she was asthmatic before diabetes that would be ruled out. She is a gorgeous kitty!!!
 
It might be worth rechecking the culture and sensitivity on the urine. It's not uncommon for a UTI to return after ab's are stopped.
 
Thanks, Karrie, I think she is pretty gorgeous myself!

Zoe was dx with asthma 8 months after being OTJ and has been on Flovent for just over a year. Her dose was increased in Sept when her asthma flared up a bit. However, the way I understand it, the Flovent molecule is too large to be absorbed and have systemic effects. It is an inhaled steroid and controls the inflammation in the lungs. I have started a slow decrease of her Flovent back to her August dose - I am doing it very slowly, I don't want to upset the control I have over her asthma. She did have a repeat U/A 2 weeks after stopping the abx, but I can certainly take her in for a repeat one. Pat, I thought about the food angle too, I checked her FF and the ingrediants look the same, but I don't have any old cans to compare with. Maybe a food switch would be a good idea!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top