1/11 TR Jenks AMPS 206 +10 210 PMPS 266 +9 183

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
1/10

The good news is that Jenks is having another flat day. The bad news is that it's in the 200s.

I'm beginning to suspect that Jenks's scruff is the culprit in his rises. Last night, I hit a spot that made him complain, and soon thereafter his BG was on the rise.

Is it possible that there are "good" and "bad" patches in his scruff where the former absorbs insulin well and keeps him low and flat and the latter that absorbs poorly which lets the BG numbers get out in front of the insulin?

This makes me want to experiment with alternative shot locations like the skin by the thigh or near the abdomen.
 
Is it possible that there are "good" and "bad" patches in his scruff where the former absorbs insulin well and keeps him low and flat and the latter that absorbs poorly which lets the BG numbers get out in front of the insulin?

The short answer is yes, in particular shooting in the same place over and over builds up the tissue there so it doesn't absorb as well. I started with scruff shots but then ended up shooting Vyktor in his side under the arm. Because of how many scruff shots he's had the vet usually shoots him in the side now too. Be careful to avoid muscles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top