1/11 Taz, AMPS-167, +2-170, +4-144, +7-193, PMPS-281, +2-400

Is he still eating DM Savory Selects or is he back on Friskies pates?
Do you have enough strips, high carb food and honey/karo?
 
He's been back on friskies pate since Sunday.

I have honey, dry cat food and strips.
 
He's been back on friskies pate since Sunday
That explains the lower numbers! And if the pancreatitis flare has passed and he is feeling better, that too could affect his numbers in a good way.


We normally ask new members to skip shots below 200, but considering he has a history of ketones and you can monitor, it might be better to give a token dose instead. I suggest you give 1U.
Get a test at +2. Don't fill him up now. Feed him a little at +1.
 
I am SO happy to see that AMPS!

When you get a chance please change thread title to the usual format, and can remove the ? so we know it's been answered
 
Forgot to add, next time you get a shot that is lower than you are used to shooting, stall without feeding and test in 20 mins to see if his BG is rising without food.
And I just wanted to confrim that you are not feeding 2 hours before the shots?

I think he has been getting insulin since 1/4? Could you update the SS (U column) between 1/4 and 1/7. And also mention in the comments for Sunday that he was switched (back) from DM Savory Selects to Friskies pate? Thanks!
 
Forgot to add, next time you get a shot that is lower than you are used to shooting, stall without feeding and test in 20 mins to see if his BG is rising without food.
And I just wanted to confrim that you are not feeding 2 hours before the shots?

I think he has been getting insulin since 1/4? Could you update the SS (U column) between 1/4 and 1/7. And also mention in the comments for Sunday that he was switched (back) from DM Savory Selects to Friskies pate? Thanks!
She doesn't know what happened those days he was kept at the vet, it was quite a disaster. They listed units and such on discharge paperwork but no times or anything. Not sure how you want to try to handle that
 
Sorry, I just got back on. He ate 1/4 can and 20ccs of pureed food on his own. I did put in a call to his vet and he also told me to only give 1 unit.

FrostD is right. Taz was started on insulin on the 4th, but the ER vets were giving him a combo of IV insulin and then Lantus, and going between 1 unit and 3 units until late on the 7th when we picked him up. They didn't keep a clear record of how much or when from what I could tell.

I will try to update my signature and SS shortly.
 
FrostD is right. Taz was started on insulin on the 4th, but the ER vets were giving him a combo of IV insulin and then Lantus, and going between 1 unit and 3 units until late on the 7th when we picked him up. They didn't keep a clear record of how much or when from what I could tell.
Could you just note this in the comments for 1/4 to 1/7?

I can't believe they didn't keep/share records of what insulin they gave. How unprofessional! :mad:
 
Forgot to add, next time you get a shot that is lower than you are used to shooting, stall without feeding and test in 20 mins to see if his BG is rising without food.
And I just wanted to confrim that you are not feeding 2 hours before the shots?

We are picking up food by 5:00. He doesn't get tested/eat/get insulin until 7:45-8:15. Since midnight (it's 8:30), he has ate 3/4 of a can on his own.

I have an automatic feeder coming today because I won't be here for half of Friday (my mom is having surgery and I can't miss being there). I'm trying to be prepared and hoping to have him on a schedule over the next couple of days, especially if he continues to eat on his own. How do you guys handle days when you're out of the house for most of the day?
 
How do you guys handle days when you're out of the house for most of the day?
If you can get some tests in the first part of the cycle, you might be able to get an idea of how the cycle is going to play out. A lot of it is understanding how our cats respond to insulin. When is the onset, when is the nadir, how carb sensitive is he/she.

Did you get a +2?
 
If you can get some tests in the first part of the cycle, you might be able to get an idea of how the cycle is going to play out. A lot of it is understanding how our cats respond to insulin. When is the onset, when is the nadir, how carb sensitive is he/she.

Did you get a +2?

I just did his +2 and he is 170.
 
Wonderful numbers! You're good to let him go, he can have snacks whenever. +6 or 7 would be nice if you can
 
Wonderful numbers! You're good to let him go, he can have snacks whenever. +6 or 7 would be nice if you can

Yay! I need to leave for a bit to go buy some chicken food or they're going to hate me in the morning. I haven't left Taz since we brought him home last Thursday night, but I feel much better doing it now. I'll try to get a +7 today.
 
If his numbers go higher again at the PMPS reading, should I stick with the usual 2 units or stay with the 1 unit?
 
Elise, Bron, or Bhooma would be better to advise. In case they don't pop in - He did not earn a reduction, but given this is a bit of a unique situation and he saw some good numbers today, I'd be inclined to go 1.75U. As always start with a +2 or +3 to see how cycle may go
 
Elise, Bron, or Bhooma would be better to advise. In case they don't pop in - He did not earn a reduction, but given this is a bit of a unique situation and he saw some good numbers today, I'd be inclined to go 1.75U. As always start with a +2 or +3 to see how cycle may go

His PMPS is 281.
 
Just getting online? I see you shot 1U?

With the food change, he might need less than 2U. You could hold 1U for 2-3 days and see how he does on it. Get as many tests as you can. Don't change the dose with every cycle because you wouldn't know which dose is working for him then.

How is he doing otherwise? Still eating on his own?
 
I only gave 1 unit because we had to syringe feed him for dinner. He didn't want to eat much of the food we put down. This was his second lowest AMPS/PMPS, so I didn't want to push it with him not eating much.

He did pretty well today though. I'd say he ate a little over a full can on his own since midnight and then we gave him 30ccs of blended. Before he got sick, he ate about 1.5 cans a day.
 
I am sure you are already doing it, but feed him smaller more frequent meals. That may go down easier. And just to confirm, he is eating and being syringe-fed the Friskies pate, right?
 
Yes. We've been feeding the Friskies pate. We've been leaving food down for him from the time we give his night insulin until 5am, so he can eat at will. Then we pick it up, and wait until it's time for AMPS at 8am. I've been offering him food off and on during the day but since we have another cat, I don't leave it down all day. Bella is sleeping in the room with my husband at night, so I know she isn't eating the food in the middle of the night. I don't think Taz pooped today, so that worries me a bit.
 
What is an earned reduction?
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

He went up to 400 at his +2. I probably should have kept doing the 2 units.
He is bouncing. Dosing is not based on how low they go on a dose and not how high and not on preshots . You can give him a break from tests tonight.
You can try 1.5U but you want to shoot it consistently. Unless you hold a dose for a few cycles, you will not know what that dose can do for him.
 
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials


He is bouncing. Dosing is not based on how low they go on a dose and not how high and not on preshots . You can give him a break from tests tonight.
You can try 1.5U but you want to shoot it consistently. Unless you hold a dose for a few cycles, you will not know what that dose can do for him.
Point of clarification - Bhooma meant doses are based on how low they go on a dose, I believe that was typo :) We don't make decisions on how high they go, because ultimately you never want them to go too low. I've seen cats go 300/400 to 80 in the same cycle - actually Taz did the night of the 9th

For now until you get more comfortable and he's past the pancreatitis issues, nadirs (low points) in the low to mid 100s are perfect. Like she said he's bouncing again, he will probably alternate between nice cycles and bounces for quite some time. Remember bounces can take up to 6 cycles/3 days to clear.
 
Point of clarification - Bhooma meant doses are based on how low they go on a dose, I believe that was typo :) We don't make decisions on how high they go, because ultimately you never want them to go too low. I've seen cats go 300/400 to 80 in the same cycle - actually Taz did the night of the 9th

For now until you get more comfortable and he's past the pancreatitis issues, nadirs (low points) in the low to mid 100s are perfect. Like she said he's bouncing again, he will probably alternate between nice cycles and bounces for quite some time. Remember bounces can take up to 6 cycles/3 days to clear.

Do bounces tend to shoot upward or fall lower? He's at 434 this morning, so I feel ok returning to his 2 units. Is that ok?
 
Do bounces tend to shoot upward or fall lower? He's at 434 this morning, so I feel ok returning to his 2 units. Is that ok?
You want to pick a dose and stick with it for a few days. It doesn't matter whether he's 430 or 200 it needs to be same dose. Last night I suggested 1.75U. But if 1.5U is a better compromise for you, can do that too. Just whatever you choose stick with it as long as he's above 200

Bounces are always BG going higher. But when they break, they can sometimes cause a cat to go lower than they ordinarily would
 
Back
Top