1/11 Sam PMPS 355

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Active Member
Today was kind of a flat day numbers-wise. I don't know if I should stay at .6 or go back up to .8. Any thoughts? I'd love some input.
 
i don't know, today was very unusual. sure it was a good shot?
since we KNOW what Sam can sometimes do, i'd be conservative if you believe it was a good shot and increase .1
it is night time after all, we don't want you up all night ;-)
 
I always feel his fur after I shoot to make sure I got the insulin in and there was no wetness this morning. I shot the .7 tonight and will stay up to test his +2 to see how it's going.

Do you think catnip could make his bg got up? He does eat it, but it's not like it's a huge amount.
 
no, if anything catnip tends to make kitties more active and playful which is good for lowering their bg's. actually about the shot, i meant shooting into the tent not into the muscle. i use short u100 needles now and they are so short i thought this morning it did'nt make it past the muscle.
i think the .7 sounds good.
 
How can you tell? I do tent the skin. Sometimes it seem to go in easier than others. But today is the first real flat day we've had. Maybe it's just one of those things...oy.
 
If you put the short needle in all the way up to the hilt [warning newbies this is only for SHORT 5/16" needles] then press the plunger and do not pull the barrel you are going to be pretty sure you got it in.

Muscle Lori? The needle should not be going though any muscle?
 
I'm actually really precise when I press the plunger - I do it very firmly ever since I figured out that not doing it firmly results in a tiny bead of insulin staying inside the needle (I found this out by pushing the plunger again after I'd given him the shot and saw the little bit of insulin left behind.)

I just feel like today was one of those strange days. An adjustment. At least that's what I'm telling myself. I hope tomorrow is a return to the nice curve we've been seeing.
 
tom feels like he's covered with a thick layer of muscle beneath skin before the subcutaneous
 
Whatever you do about the "firmness" just try be consistent about it. I chose not to be "firm." So... That little drop too only makes a difference at lower doses.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top