? 1/11 Rusty AMPS 388(!), +5.5 258, +9 291, PMPS 312, +4.5 201; my 8th Anniversary(!!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Good Morning L&LL,

Today is a milestone, of sorts: Rusty has the highest number he's ever had; and today is my 8th anniversary on the FDMB. I have made so many good friends here. I have received so much help. I have learned so much. I am still in awe of this place. Thank you all, and thank your kitties, too!

AMPS is steroid-influenced, of course, but it is still hard to look at that number! This is the 4th Levemir shot of the 6-shots (3 days) on this dose (0.25U). I'm considering upping the dose tonight to 0.5U and not waiting any longer for the present dose to "settle in". Comments and advice would be welcome. Rusty's sinuses are so much better, so it is all worth it. But I don't want him stuck in the high numbers and above renal threshold.

Rain here and 43 degrees F. this morning. It's a mess outside. On top of the rain, which is supposed to last through tomorrow, we are going to have lots of snow this weekend. The x-c ski scheduled for tomorrow has been postponed.

Wishing everyone a good day and sending vines to all kitties and beans in need.
 
Happy Anniversary! We are glad to have met you and so many other wonderful crazy cat people here, too. :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: UGH on that AMPS but like you said, the steroids are worth it. When we started Zener on steroids, his dose doubled from about 1.25 to 2.5. UGH on your weather, too.
Liz
 
Glad the steroids are helping Rusty breath better. He’s a new cat with the steroids on board and will likely have very different cycles then your use to. I would not try to chase the high numbers as he’s been hitting blue. If it were me I’d give this dose the 6 cycles before increasing. Hang in there Ella.
Thanks, Karen. This is what I needed to hear!
 
8 years is inspirational! Thank you for sharing your heart and your journey. :bighug::bighug: I'm glad the steroids are helping Rusty - remember the patience you all teach us newbies. :bighug:
0411761b5fa0b07427abbfb8f78ab34e--white-cats-white-fur.jpg
 
I don't have any FD/steroid experience, but as ugly as that number is, it is so great to hear he is breathing better! You'll get the dose figured out. Is his appy better? Between the steroid and being able to breath, maybe he'll chow down more.

Happy Anniversary! I know it's bittersweet, but this place really is something special.
 
Happy Annifursary Ella and Edward! :bighug::bighug: You've been a great teacher to many of us here.

The AMPS is rather unbecoming, but he is seeing blues most cycles. I wonder if he's bouncing from the drop from high numbes. Not that you could "feed the curve" with Mr. Grazer.:rolleyes:
 
Happy annifursary, Ella and Edward!

It is very strange to see pink, and even yellow, on Rusty's spreadsheet. But that's what steroids do. I'm glad it's helping him so much. That makes it all worth it. Sounds like it's helping his appetite, too.

I think I would wait for the six cycles to play out before raising the dose, but that's just me. Certainly, you've been at this long enough to know what you're doing.
 
think I would wait for the six cycles to play out before raising the dose, but that's just me. Certainly, you've been at this long enough to know what you're doing.
That's what I've decided to do. Tomorrow PM I'll raise the dose. And I'm afraid I don't really know what I'm doing! Rusty has always had good cycles (until recently). We had dosing "adventures" with Stu, but he had numerous health issues and that was a long time ago.
 
Happy Anniversary, Ella!

The community is lucky to have you, I will never forget your kindness and generosity to me when I first joined. :bighug:

You and Rusty put a smile on people's faces with all of your parties and fancy menus and lagoon tending. ;)

The steroid adventure will sort out and Rusty will be back tending to the lagoon, I have no doubt. :bighug:
 
Thanks, everyone, for the words of encouragement and advice. Tomorrow morning we'll finish out the cycle on this dose and probably increase in the evening (or hold the dose until Sat. morning, since I can monitor better in the daytime).

Poor Rusty got stuck in our "mud" room tonight. Edward took some recyclables out there and did not notice that Rusty followed him. About an hour later I came downstairs to hold Rusty's bowl and heard this distant meow. Rusty dove into his food and we all watched TV while he finished everything in his bowl.

His sinuses continue to be good. We are about to turn in. Rusty is curled up in his little bed in my study, waiting for me to finish this report.

Wishing all a good night.
 
Yesterday

Good Morning L&LL,

Today is a milestone, of sorts: Rusty has the highest number he's ever had; and today is my 8th anniversary on the FDMB. I have made so many good friends here. I have received so much help. I have learned so much. I am still in awe of this place. Thank you all, and thank your kitties, too!

AMPS is steroid-influenced, of course, but it is still hard to look at that number! This is the 4th Levemir shot of the 6-shots (3 days) on this dose (0.25U). I'm considering upping the dose tonight to 0.5U and not waiting any longer for the present dose to "settle in". Comments and advice would be welcome. Rusty's sinuses are so much better, so it is all worth it. But I don't want him stuck in the high numbers and above renal threshold.

Rain here and 43 degrees F. this morning. It's a mess outside. On top of the rain, which is supposed to last through tomorrow, we are going to have lots of snow this weekend. The x-c ski scheduled for tomorrow has been postponed.

Wishing everyone a good day and sending vines to all kitties and beans in need.[/QUO

What a remarkable anniversary. Congratulations!!!!

I've recently used a steroid - im - and initially TiTi shot way up, but as the steroid reduced her inflammation , she went down again. I don't know if this would apply to Rusty, because this was , literally, a one shot event, but I sure hope it does.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top