1/11 Rusty AMPS 127, +5.5 96, PMPS 123; Anniversary

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Good Evening, Everyone,

I want to start Rusty's condo by thanking you wonderful people on FDMB and L&LL for all the help you have given me and my two diabetic kitties: Stu (GA) and Rusty. Today is my 7th Anniversary on the board!:):) I won't say that it seems like yesterday when I first came here, desperate for help with Stu. Actually it seems like ages ago! Stu, who had been diabetic for at least 4 years before I found this board, had been overdosed on Lantus by his new vet. During those 4 years I had never tested him, shot "blind", and relied on monthly visits to his original vet for checkups and dose evaluation. Stu's insulin was PZI Vet, an in-and-out insulin that was discontinued, thus necessitating a switch. In the meantime we had moved and Stu's new vet put him on Lantus, but didn't differentiate between the dosing protocol for Lantus and that for the older style insulin, PZI Vet). Stu's dose was raised every week or so by 1 or 2 units of Lantus. The poor kitty crashed and that's when I found this board. The terrific people here saved Stu's life.
After Stu went to the Bridge I wanted to honor his memory by helping another Feline Diabetic. Rusty came into our lives when I discovered via DCIN that he needed to be the only cat in a household and therefore needed to be rehomed. How happy we were when he came to live with us in November 2010! What a wonderful kitty he is! He's a senior citizen now (like his beans), but still can move fast when he wants to. Right now he's waiting for me to come downstairs to hold his dinner bowl for him so that he can enjoy his dinner while watching TV with us. He's a :cat: and knows exactly what he is doing:p.

Rusty had a good day today. The weather has turned very warm. We had rain overnight. The snow is crusty ice. I didn't go on the x-c ski because the snow conditions were beyond my skiing ability. I've spent the day working on the presentation I'm giving on Jan. 22 to our chapter of the mountain club. It's about my parent's Adirondack canoe trip in 1922. I have my mother's trip diary and some faded photographs. I need to do lots of work to get ready for this lecture.

Wishing you all a good evening,

Yo Kitties, tomorrow is the Full Wolf Moon and we'll be partying at Camp Stu. Be sure to see the party condo tomorrow and get ready for FUN!
~ Rusty
 
Wow, wish I could attend that lecture! What an amazing topic!!
Happy Anniversary Ella!!
Your story made me cry..but in a good way! I am so happy you are here and that the Lagoon Meister found a forever home with you:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
It's always nice to see when the stars align just the way they were meant to:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Happy Anniversary, and thank you for being here. You are a tremendous help and it is greatly appreciated.

Our sidewalks are a mess because of last night's weather. People have been walking on the street or lawns. The big row of snow left by the snow plough across the end of the driveway is solid. I had to take a good run at it in the car to get out. I've been at the hospital on and off all day. There were a number of people with fresh casts on their arms and quite a few on crutches. Neither the walkers nor the walking wounded looked happy. Not a day for x-country skiing.
 
Happy Anniversary Ella! You were one of the welcoming people when I first started on this board and I'm happy every day I see a Rusty condo. :bighug: Both you and Rusty were very lucky to have come together and many of us have benefited too. Maybe a lagoon dip later to celebrate?

Even if crusty ice is beyond your ability, I can't see it would be fun to ski. :eek: The canoe trip presention sounds fascinating! That's a long standing family tradition.
 
Thanks, guys! Here's to the year ahead! I'm not much help with meds, but I'm always thinking of all of you and your kitties.

Rusty is enjoying a fresh can of Paw Lickin' Chicken as part of his nighttime fuds. It's a little treat we have every night. Not enough calories to serve as a meal, but as a snack--purrfect.

Yo, I'm on duty tonight. Surf safe, kitties!
~ LagoonMeister Rusty
 
Happy Anniversary, Ella. The Board is a better place because you are here.

I knew parts of Stu's and Rusty's stories, but you filled in some blanks for me today. I'm sure Stu had a hand in finding Rusty for you. Sounds like you needed each other and the fit is perfect. We are so lucky to have him as our LagoonMeister. I know my boys enjoyed their time working with him!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top