1/11 Lovey Can I give dose 45 min early? Reduce a bit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
I have a lot of questions today. I have a schedulilng conflict. I promised my kids that I would take them to a Harlem Wizards basketball game. However, I mixed up the timing a bit.

I give Lovey her shot at 6 pm. Can I give it at 5:15? I could reduce the dose a bit as well? I will be home to test at about probably by + 3 or +4. I can't rearrange my time due to work.
 
Re: 1/11 Lovey Amps 220 +3.3 147 +5.45 85 ?

With the 85 on the Alpha, you'll want to recheck every 30 minutes to see if she hops up on her surfboard or continues down. A little snack of LC might help get her up onto that board.

Couple of ideas for you Catherine,

Since you gave a short shot for the AM dose on 1/9, the 6 dose count starts over, so you'll need to hold the dose you're giving now (f1.75) at least a couple more cycles.

I think you might want to forget doing the fat or skinny doses for awhile too. Take your increases or decreases in the full .25 amount. When you start getting good numbers at pre-shot and nadir through most of the cycles, that's when you'd want to try the skinny or fat doses..to try to "dial in" that perfect dose when and if the "regular" numbers are close, but not "perfect".

Question for you...when do you feed Lovey? I'm sure at Pre-shot times, but when during the rest of the cycle? It's hard to tell on your spreadsheet, but also looks like there's no real pattern...sometimes you feed LC, sometimes a "snack" of LC, and sometimes you've "withheld" a snack (+3) because of the number (which really isn't necessary)

Hope you're having a nice Caturday!!
 
Re: 1/11 Lovey Amps 220 +3.3 147 +5.45 85 +7.25 109

I did feed her 2tsp of LC (4%) when I got the 85 just for insurance purposes.

Thanks Chris for the feedback. I agree, it is too confusing with the fats and skinnies. She was doing very well on 2.25 but pulled a 79 one cycle. I only shaved the dose to a fat 2. Then I needed to reduce again so .25 units less is a fat 1.75. That is where I am getting theses fats and skinnies from. I wanted to go down to a 1.75 but I thought reducing more than .25 at a time would be too much? I tried a few cycles of 1.75 and the numbers were high, I didn't have the patience to wait more?


I feed her at shot time and and about 1.5- 2tsp at +3. If I test and see lower numbers I may add a teaspoon or two of LC at that time.
 
Re: 1/11 Lovey Amps 220 +3.3 147 +5.45 85 + 7.25 109

You can always go to a "normal" number when you increase/decrease unless you're "dialing in" on that perfect dose.

If (for example) you start at a fat 1.75 and get a test under 50(80 on Alphatrak) you could go ahead and drop to 1.5...so a little more than a .25 decrease, but it would get you back into those "normal" numbers instead of the fat/skinny's. If 1.5 doesn't keep the numbers where you want them after 6 cycles, you'd go up to 1.75 again.

It might help for you to put an * in the cells when you feed, or over in the remarks, put something like 1/2can FF@AMPS, 2tspFF@+3, etc.....helps us to see how much and when you're feeding.
 
Re: 1/11 Lovey Amps 220 +3.3 147 +5.45 85 + 7.25 109

Chris,

Thanks for the suggestions to get back to easier numbers to draw. I will try that next time I need to reduce. I think with Lovey I may have to give the dose a few cycles extra to see how she does. With her, the longer you are on a dose, the better it seems to work. She must need some extra time to acclimate to a dose change.

China is looking really nice today.
 
Re: 1/11 Lovey Amps 220 +3.3 147 +5.45 85 + 7.25 109

You could do it on an increase too, but I would only do it if you're increasing from a "fat" to the next "normal" number, so a little LESS than a .25 increase. You wouldn't want to increase from a skinny because that would be more than .25...and in this dance, we always go for the safe route!

I understand you wanting to hold her a little longer, and that's fine, but we also don't want to hold them on a dose too long that's not working. It's a delicate balance, that's for sure!

All in all, a nice cycle for Lovey today!!
 
Re: 1/11 Lovey Amps 220 +3.3 147 +5.45 85 + 7.25 109

Lovey is looking good today! :-D I hope the perfect dose comes along soon, there is so much to evaluate, I'm so glad we have others to help us here! Hope you're having a nice Caturday :-D
 
Re: 1/11 Lovey Can I give dose 45 minutes early tonight?

Nice numbers for Lovey today. Sometimes it takes Furball a little longer to settle into a dose too. I'd be careful about shooting early tonight. An early shot acts like a dose increase.
 
Catherine

If she continues up quite a bit, it's not a problem to shoot 45 mins early but I would leave plenty of food out, do an out the door test, and a test as soon as you walk in. Remember that shooting early can act as a dose increase. However, I have shot 30 minutes early many times without seeing any issue provided I did not do it back to back cycles. I also think if you shoot 45 minutes early today, you can shoot on time tomorrow morning.

If she's still running low when you get ready to shoot, in order to keep her safe, you might consider skipping and shooting on time tomorrow. You could shoot a reduced dose but her cycle might look like it would if you shot a full dose although she might come up more at the end of the cycle. Even if you skip, it's smart to check and make sure where she is before you leave and when you get home.
 
Hi Catherine,
Nice AM cycle for Lovey, and I'm glad she came up before the PMPS so you could give her the shot.
I hope you are having a fun time with your kids. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top