Re: 1/11 Hobbs AMPS 115 +6 217
SabrinaFaire said:
That's Venita. But I answer to Vanessa too.
SabrinaFaire said:
I did run home at lunch to check and he was up to 217. Tonight would be the 6th cycle of 1u and I believe I need to keep him on the same dose at least that long to give it a chance to work, yes? Why would it be so much higher 6 hours later? confused_cat
Don't worry about the 217. That is so much better than some of the numbers he has had.
Possible reasons for the 217 (and I understand that some of these are contradictory):
- He is settling into the 1U dose, and telling you that he needs a touch more.
- The insulin hasn't yet taken him as low as he will go this cycle (he has a late nadir, as it was during his 1/8/12 curve).
- He had an early low number and his liver is panicking and sending his BG levels back up.
You don't have enough history to know definitively which of these the 217 came from. But if he were my cat, I would bet on bullet #2. Because Hobbs didn't have a low +6, I wouldn't drop his dose yet, unless later BG tests told me otherwise.
For example, he may be a late nadir cat, and show you a really low number at PMPS. I have never personally worked with a late nadir cat, but I do understand that one has to continue to shoot the "usual" dosage because despite the late nadir, the insulin will soon wear off and the BG levels will shoot up.
However, if you get a really high PMPS, bullet 3 may be at work. If Hobbs were my cat and had a significantly higher PMPS, I would consider dropping the dose a smidge, betting that he hit a low that I didn't see.
In the final analysis, you are the one holding the syringe and making the decisions about dose. Whether you shoot 1U or something less, IMO he will be fine. But I don't think I would go higher.
Was that wishy-washy enough?