1/11 Hobbs AMPS 115 +6 217 PMPS 202

Status
Not open for further replies.

SabrinaFaire

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

I'm fairly certain this is the longest week ever. LONGEST. I'm still shooting 1u, he seems to be doing ok on it with the all wet food. Plus adjusting it too much seemed to make things get out of hand.
 
Re: 1/11 Hobbs AMPS 115

Hi Sabrina. So sorry about the cold and the longest week ever. At least today is hump day.

It appears to me that you and Hobbs are doing very well. I think the change to low carb food did a world of good for him. He is responding very well to the insulin now that all the stars are alligned on his treatment.

I hope you are able to get a mid cycle test today because there is a chance that his dose may need to be reduced soon. If you can't get an AM mid-day test and he is significantly higher at PMPS, I would suggest you consider cutting the dose to .75U because a higher PMPS would likely be a sign that he went low during the AM cycle (rebound).
 
Re: 1/11 Hobbs AMPS 115 +6 217

Thanks Vanessa. I did run home at lunch to check and he was up to 217. Tonight would be the 6th cycle of 1u and I believe I need to keep him on the same dose at least that long to give it a chance to work, yes? Why would it be so much higher 6 hours later? confused_cat
 
Re: 1/11 Hobbs AMPS 115 +6 217

very likely that higher +6 is from the rebound that Venita was talking about so you may want to shave back his pm dose to .75u.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/11 Hobbs AMPS 115 +6 217

SabrinaFaire said:
Thanks Vanessa.

That's Venita. But I answer to Vanessa too. :-D

SabrinaFaire said:
I did run home at lunch to check and he was up to 217. Tonight would be the 6th cycle of 1u and I believe I need to keep him on the same dose at least that long to give it a chance to work, yes? Why would it be so much higher 6 hours later? confused_cat

Don't worry about the 217. That is so much better than some of the numbers he has had.

Possible reasons for the 217 (and I understand that some of these are contradictory):

  • He is settling into the 1U dose, and telling you that he needs a touch more.
  • The insulin hasn't yet taken him as low as he will go this cycle (he has a late nadir, as it was during his 1/8/12 curve).
  • He had an early low number and his liver is panicking and sending his BG levels back up.

You don't have enough history to know definitively which of these the 217 came from. But if he were my cat, I would bet on bullet #2. Because Hobbs didn't have a low +6, I wouldn't drop his dose yet, unless later BG tests told me otherwise.

For example, he may be a late nadir cat, and show you a really low number at PMPS. I have never personally worked with a late nadir cat, but I do understand that one has to continue to shoot the "usual" dosage because despite the late nadir, the insulin will soon wear off and the BG levels will shoot up.

However, if you get a really high PMPS, bullet 3 may be at work. If Hobbs were my cat and had a significantly higher PMPS, I would consider dropping the dose a smidge, betting that he hit a low that I didn't see.

In the final analysis, you are the one holding the syringe and making the decisions about dose. Whether you shoot 1U or something less, IMO he will be fine. But I don't think I would go higher.

Was that wishy-washy enough?
 
Re: 1/11 Hobbs AMPS 115 +6 217

ohmygod_smile

Sorry!! I'm usually good at names. I've been called every S name out there and, oddly, Gloria, on three different occasions. I'm going to blame this cold, I'm amazed I can drive let alone type.

I'll see what he does tonight. My husband happened to be home (burning a sick day he has to use by the end of the month) and it's possible he gave Hobbs something to eat this morning that could have bounced his number up. I texted him but so far no response. His phone is prob in another room charging and he can't hear over the TV.
 
So he dropped a little bit from +6 to 202. I gave him 1u today. This would have been the last of a 6 shot cycle (and I believe I read to give a dose at least that long to see how it goes). So, where do I go from here? See what it is in the morning or a mid cycle tonight?
 
That is great that he didn't drop and didn't zoom. Maybe he is settling well into this dosage.

I would suggest a test during his PM cycle, if you can. More data is better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top