1/11 Cleo AMPS=354 +3=431 +9=359 PMPS=297 +2=401 +4=413

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Hi,
today, as we expected, bounce!
This morning I gave her the normal dose as when she took steroids (1.5u).
How do I understand when the bounce is clearing? I mean: could she have high preshot (pink/yellow) and low nadir? I ask this because when I go to work I cannot monitor nadir (I can test only at preshot). So I would understand if there is no risk in shooting this dose if preshot is pink or yellow. If I give her some food at +5 or +6, I avoid the risk of too low blood sugar?
 
I wish I could tell you that there is a way to guarantee 100% that Cleo will be completely safe when you leave for work. Leaving food out or in a timed feeder is a good option. The more data you get, the better you will be able to understand Cleo's cycles. Part of the observation is how long is it taking for bounces to clear. The more that Cleo gets used the lower numbers, the faster bounces may clear.

I want to mand a 20/20 hindsight observation. You did a great job testing after Cleo's vet visit. While her numbers were dropping at +10 through +11, her numbers were coming back up at PMPS and continued to rise. I would have shot her full dose once I saw that numbers were heading back up.
 
Thank you Sienne, yesterday I was a bit scared in shooting that low numbers, but the more I'll see low number, the more I'll become brave. :)
 
Yes, Delia. It does get easier. And we do become more confident and comfortable shooting lower numbers as we track out cat's patterns and can make some guesses about how they'll respond. That ol' saying "Know Thy Cat." And that takes time.

Same thing is true for bounce clearing. It can take up to six cycles. And she may wobble in her numbers during that time. Up, down, up, down. Just record your data on your spreadsheet. That's your best teacher.

I have multiple cats, one who needs to eat frequent, small meals. I leave food out when I'm at work. Mostly for him, but it's also available to Polly.

Hang in there. We're with you. And you're doing great!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top