1/11 Bama Kitty AMPS 208 +4 181 +8 181; PMPS 319 +4 313 +8 188

The kibble could also be raising numbers even though it's low carb...no idea why that happens. He doesn't want wet food if he is thirsty?
You are good for an increase to 5U tonight.

Is the Miralax helping with the constipation?
 
The kibble could also be raising numbers even though it's low carb...no idea why that happens. He doesn't want wet food if he is thirsty?
You are good for an increase to 5U tonight.

Is the Miralax helping with the constipation?
He had a nice poop in the box overnight, finally. No, he doesn't seem to find the wet food appealing. He does continue to want me to syringe water into his mouth. Wondering how syringing food would go over.
 
No, he doesn't seem to find the wet food appealing.
This happened with Bandit also. I think they associate how rotten they were feeling (in high kidney values) with the food they were eating. She refuses to touch the low carb kibble she was on.

Is he getting as much water through the syinge as he did with food? Then that might not be too bad. The only issue is the higher BG because of the dry food. But you can adjust the dose accordingly. I've accepted that there are only so many battles we can fight! And it's important they eat, so we have to work around any food they eat happily.
 
This happened with Bandit also. I think they associate how rotten they were feeling (in high kidney values) with the food they were eating. She refuses to touch the low carb kibble she was on.

Is he getting as much water through the syinge as he did with food? Then that might not be too bad. The only issue is the higher BG because of the dry food. But you can adjust the dose accordingly. I've accepted that there are only so many battles we can fight! And it's important they eat, so we have to work around any food they eat happily.
Probably not getting as much water through the syringe as with food. I typically syringe about a tablespoon or so each time--maybe 6 times a day. Then he gets his 100 mls sub-q and whatever he drinks on his own.
 
Yep, eating kibble will make him more thirsty for sure. My cats don’t get much kibble, but on an occasional day when I give them a kibble meal, the water bowls are just drained.
Good luck with the increase!
 
Back
Top