? 1/11 Bailie AMPS 391 +3 315 +5 243 +8 248 +11 129 PMBG107

Nancyco*

Member Since 2023
Yesterday’s condo

Hi there I’m very confused about my spreadsheet because I was waiting for dosing advice pmps and never got it until a little over an hour late and then we decided to shoot him two hours late. wait, Can somebody please look at it .He has been very high ever since Marje said I could shoot the his regular time this morning if he was still high today and he is I need help please
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Nancy

I saw your posts this morning on yesterday’s condo. I want to be kind here but also stress to you that each member here is responsible for learning and listening and reading all they can about FD. We also expect each member to follow the Posting Guidelines. This is extremely important because we have so many members and, sometimes, we have to “triage” who needs help first. We shouldn’t have to keep reminding a member on how to post correctly. Again, this might seem small and inconsequential to you but we’ve learned over the years how we can best help members. This is a fast-moving board within the forum and cooperation is much appreciated.

Examples:
---always be sure the date (in US format....we are a US board), the cat’s name, the BGs and time test taken is in the subject line. After that, you can put text that you need help. I have fixed today’s so people won’t still be worried you need help.
--if a “?” prefix is used, take it down as soon as someone responds; leaving it up means other members, whose time could be spent helping someone else with a question, takes that time to check in on someone who has already had their question answered.
--always link the previous day’s condo in the first post of the day.
--read through every single word written to you, ask questions if you don’t understand, but if clear guidance is left for you overnight, please follow it.
--everyone here dealing with FD is tired but if someone has committed to staying with a member until your cat is in safe numbers, we also expect the courtesy of that member testing when we ask them to so we also don’t have to stay up checking in to see if the member ever came back and if the cat is safe.

By asking you to test at +2 last night, it was designed so if Bailie was up, you could go to bed and not test again until 6 am. And while I am not dealing with FD any longer so am not up and down all night to test, I also need to get my sleep based on 5.5 years of dealing with FD and complete sleep deprivation. I am always happy to help but members need to be considerate of each other and those helping. All the people helping here are volunteers; many have their own diabetic cat but many have stayed even after their kitty has passed.

I believe I was very clear about what BG range you could see today and shoot two hours early. Bailie was in that range but stalling again means you must shoot at 6:30 tonight and then you can shoot at 6/6 again tomorrow. Also, his SS is correct. When we stall, we stack the BGs we are getting from testing (while stalling) in the AMPS or PMPS column; the last BG shown is the one that is the BG you shot or decided not to shoot.

Again, I want to be kind and I don’t mean to be harsh; I know this is very stressful. But you’ve been here months now and we do expect a progression in your ability to post correctly and to start learning how to help Bailie.

Thank you. Have a good day. :)
 
Nancy

I saw your posts this morning on yesterday’s condo. I want to be kind here but also stress to you that each member here is responsible for learning and listening and reading all they can about FD. We also expect each member to follow the Posting Guidelines. This is extremely important because we have so many members and, sometimes, we have to “triage” who needs help first. We shouldn’t have to keep reminding a member on how to post correctly. Again, this might seem small and inconsequential to you but we’ve learned over the years how we can best help members. This is a fast-moving board within the forum and cooperation is much appreciated.

Examples:
---always be sure the date (in US format....we are a US board), the cat’s name, the BGs and time test taken is in the subject line. After that, you can put text that you need help. I have fixed today’s so people won’t still be worried you need help.
--if a “?” prefix is used, take it down as soon as someone responds; leaving it up means other members, whose time could be spent helping someone else with a question, takes that time to check in on someone who has already had their question answered.
--always link the previous day’s condo in the first post of the day.
--read through every single word written to you, ask questions if you don’t understand, but if clear guidance is left for you overnight, please follow it.
--everyone here dealing with FD is tired but if someone has committed to staying with a member until your cat is in safe numbers, we also expect the courtesy of that member testing when we ask them to so we also don’t have to stay up checking in to see if the member ever came back and if the cat is safe.

By asking you to test at +2 last night, it was designed so if Bailie was up, you could go to bed and not test again until 6 am. And while I am not dealing with FD any longer so am not up and down all night to test, I also need to get my sleep based on 5.5 years of dealing with FD and complete sleep deprivation. I am always happy to help but members need to be considerate of each other and those helping. All the people helping here are volunteers; many have their own diabetic cat but many have stayed even after their kitty has passed.

I believe I was very clear about what BG range you could see today and shoot two hours early. Bailie was in that range but stalling again means you must shoot at 6:30 tonight and then you can shoot at 6/6 again tomorrow. Also, his SS is correct. When we stall, we stack the BGs we are getting from testing (while stalling) in the AMPS or PMPS column; the last BG shown is the one that is the BG you shot or decided not to shoot.

Again, I want to be kind and I don’t mean to be harsh; I know this is very stressful. But you’ve been here months now and we do expect a progression in your ability to post correctly and to start learning how to help Bailie.

Thank you. Have a good day. :)
I’m sorry it’s not intentional I’m dealing with a lot at the moment and my head is all over the place I’m sorry I didn’t take the ? Down it won’t happen again but I thought I was posting the us BG in the heading not the world . anyways it’s possible I slipped up . Very sorry again . I will try to do better .
 
@Things are going good today I just checked his BG PMPS is 129 here we go again :oops: do I still shot ? I know I sound dumb but I always need reassurance. Should I take his food up and retest in 20 mins ? He has only had a few bites of his Dr.Elseys
@Marje and Gracie
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
I’m sorry it’s not intentional I’m dealing with a lot at the moment and my head is all over the place I’m sorry I didn’t take the ? Down it won’t happen again but I thought I was posting the us BG in the heading not the world . anyways it’s possible I slipped up . Very sorry again . I will try to do better .
You were posting the US numbers so thank you. But they weren’t there today so I added it for you.

I know I sound dumb but I always need reassurance. Should I take his food up and retest in 20 mins ? He has only had a few bites of his Dr.Elseys
You don’t sound dumb. What do you think you should do based on what we discussed yesterday?
 
Excellent.....but when you get the test, remember to consider when he last ate and how much. You said a small amount of Dr. Elseys but how many carbs is that and how long ago?
I don’t really know how many carbs that is to be honest he didn’t eat very many at all. But now he only 108 so I don’t know what to do. I just gave him his food right now. He’s hungry
 
I don’t really know how many carbs that is to be honest he didn’t eat very many at all. But now he only 108 so I don’t know what to do. I just gave him his food right now. He’s hungry
If you fed him, you can’t shoot for two hours. It does not hurt them to be a little hungry.

When you feed late in a cycle, it causes the BG to rise, generally. That means when you test, you are very likely to get an artificially increased BG. It takes about two hours for the effects of the food to wear off. Let’s say at 108, like today, you fed him. This is an hypothetical example. So let’s say you test in 30 minutes and he’s at 135. You think, “he’s on the rise, safe to shoot” and you do. However, because it hasn’t been two hours to let those carbs wear off (even low carbs) but you know you have to check at +2, his insulin has onset, the carbs have worn off, and now he’s at 60.

However, if you don’t feed him, and you retest him in 30 minutes and he’s at 135, you know you can safely shoot that because there it’s not a carb-influenced BG.
 
If you fed him, you can’t shoot for two hours. It does not hurt them to be a little hungry.

When you feed late in a cycle, it causes the BG to rise, generally. That means when you test, you are very likely to get an artificially increased BG. It takes about two hours for the effects of the food to wear off. Let’s say at 108, like today, you fed him. This is an hypothetical example. So let’s say you test in 30 minutes and he’s at 135. You think, “he’s on the rise, safe to shoot” and you do. However, because it hasn’t been two hours to let those carbs wear off (even low carbs) but you know you have to check at +2, his insulin has onset, the carbs have worn off, and now he’s at 60.

However, if you don’t feed him, and you retest him in 30 minutes and he’s at 135, you know you can safely shoot that because there it’s not a carb-influenced BG.
OK well I messed that one up then cause he’s eating. I guess he’ll be no shot tonight.
 
If you fed him, you can’t shoot for two hours. It does not hurt them to be a little hungry.

When you feed late in a cycle, it causes the BG to rise, generally. That means when you test, you are very likely to get an artificially increased BG. It takes about two hours for the effects of the food to wear off. Let’s say at 108, like today, you fed him. This is an hypothetical example. So let’s say you test in 30 minutes and he’s at 135. You think, “he’s on the rise, safe to shoot” and you do. However, because it hasn’t been two hours to let those carbs wear off (even low carbs) but you know you have to check at +2, his insulin has onset, the carbs have worn off, and now he’s at 60.

However, if you don’t feed him, and you retest him in 30 minutes and he’s at 135, you know you can safely shoot that because there it’s not a carb-influenced BG.
I never feed him two hours before his p.m. pre-shot test
 
If you fed him, you can’t shoot for two hours. It does not hurt them to be a little hungry.

When you feed late in a cycle, it causes the BG to rise, generally. That means when you test, you are very likely to get an artificially increased BG. It takes about two hours for the effects of the food to wear off. Let’s say at 108, like today, you fed him. This is an hypothetical example. So let’s say you test in 30 minutes and he’s at 135. You think, “he’s on the rise, safe to shoot” and you do. However, because it hasn’t been two hours to let those carbs wear off (even low carbs) but you know you have to check at +2, his insulin has onset, the carbs have worn off, and now he’s at 60.

However, if you don’t feed him, and you retest him in 30 minutes and he’s at 135, you know you can safely shoot that because there it’s not a carb-influenced BG.
so I don’t understand like if I get a pre-shot number that’s low I have to stall a half hour then if I retest again and it’s still low, I have to stall another half hour and when does that end you know what I mean when do I get to feed him? I just have to know how many times I stall for the next time?
 
so I don’t understand like if I get a pre-shot number that’s low I have to stall a half hour then if I retest again and it’s still low, I have to stall another half hour and when does that end you know what I mean when do I get to feed him? I just have to know how many times I stall for the next time?
I explained all of this in yesterday’s post and also linked information for you. However, as long as he’s above 90, yes; you stall, without feeding, testing every 30 minutes and shoot the rise. But it only goes on two hours or four tests if you are testing every 30 minutes because after two hours, it’s very difficult to make up the time. Yes, he will be hungry if you have to stall for two hours; but they almost always come up within the first hour. I can’t promise that they always will but in 5.5 years, my Gracie only had one time that she didn’t come up in two hours where i could safely shoot.
 
I explained all of this in yesterday’s post and also linked information for you. However, as long as he’s above 90, yes; you stall, without feeding, testing every 30 minutes and shoot the rise. But it only goes on two hours or four tests if you are testing every 30 minutes because after two hours, it’s very difficult to make up the time. Yes, he will be hungry if you have to stall for two hours; but they almost always come up within the first hour. I can’t promise that they always will but in 5.5 years, my Gracie only had one time that she didn’t come up in two hours where i could safely shoot.
OK I’m just taking a screenshot of that so I can make reference back to it. Thank you very much, and I am again sorry for being not the brightest tool in the shed
 
I am again sorry for being not the brightest tool in the shed
You’re welcome. I don’t think that is the case. I think you have other things going on and so are not focused on this, IMHO. But you really do have to give it your attention. You’ve been here since late Oct and should have a pretty good idea now, just from reading alone, the very basics. I’m not saying you are at the point where you don’t need advice; it often takes a year or longer to get to that point. I’m just saying the basics should be down pat by now but you have to put reading and learning into it. Look at other condos and see what’s going on with other cats and how they handle low numbers. Because there might very well be a time when there is no one around to help so it will be on you to know how to handle low numbers and where to find the info.

Could you please update the subject line and his SS? Thank you. And please read back over everything yesterday and today. Have a good night. You can shoot at 6 am tomorrow.
 
Ok I will never forget that again now I understand I’m sorry I’m so slow to get it
hi there can you please tell me what you mean by update the subject line in the spreadsheet? I went back to the spreadsheet and didn’t see any subject line
 
hi there can you please tell me what you mean by update the subject line in the spreadsheet? I went back to the spreadsheet and didn’t see any subject line
Could you please update the subject line and his SS?

The subject line in FDMB and the BGs on his SS which weren’t there earlier. Excellent job stacking the BGs! You have to manually put the US numbers on the US sheet, though; not the World numbers. Also, when we skip, we put “NS” in the Units column.

In the subject line of this condo, it should be: 1/11 Bailie PMBG 107

Don’t forget to test him at +2 to be sure he’s coming up. Thank you.
 
hi there can you please tell me what you mean by update the subject line in the spreadsheet? I went back to the spreadsheet and didn’t see any subject line
no need to tell me I’ve done it. Thank you:)
The subject line in FDMB and the BGs on his SS which weren’t there earlier. Excellent job stacking the BGs! You have to manually put the US numbers on the US sheet, though; not the World numbers. Also, when we skip, we put “NS” in the Units column.

In the subject line of this condo, it should be: 1/11 Bailie PMBG 107

Don’t forget to test him at +2 to be sure he’s coming up. Thank you.
Thank you yes I tested him and he was 178
 
Back
Top