1/11/2018 Luci - AMPS 298- Vet wants to increase dose -already????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Luci

Member Since 2017
Things are going well. She got a lot of pokes yesterday and only growled for the last couple. I think it was a bit much for her...so today we're going to get a 3 hour and a 6 hour - and kinda give her a break. My back is starting to feel just a tiny bit better - so I'm still trying not to bend over or pull on things...hubby thankfully is doing most of the bending and lifting around here!
 
Now I find this upsetting! I'm updating my vet (per his request) daily on Luci's progress...and he wrote this back to me today: "Still very high. I would recommend giving 1.5 units twice daily. If still high in Monday we will increase again"

HUH? I thought we were supposed to go slow...

Anyone that can share a good response with me? That I can share with him? I thought it was going to take at least 6 days until we started to see improvements? Did I misunderstand something in my reading (of this site)...there is a lot - and I could have gotten confused.

Luci has only been on Lantus for FOUR days...(well not counting that shot at 12:50 in the afternoon on Saturday - before I realized it was every 12 hours)...
Officially started at 8 a.m. on Sunday; today is actually day 4.5 (if you want to be technical)
 
Now I find this upsetting! I'm updating my vet (per his request) daily on Luci's progress...and he wrote this back to me today: "Still very high. I would recommend giving 1.5 units twice daily. If still high in Monday we will increase again"

HUH? I thought we were supposed to go slow...

Anyone that can share a good response with me? That I can share with him? I thought it was going to take at least 6 days until we started to see improvements? Did I misunderstand something in my reading (of this site)...there is a lot - and I could have gotten confused.

Luci has only been on Lantus for FOUR days...(well not counting that shot at 12:50 in the afternoon on Saturday - before I realized it was every 12 hours)...
Officially started at 8 a.m. on Sunday; today is actually day 4.5 (if you want to be technical)
Sue, I will defer to someone more experienced in communicating effectively with vets. But please stand your ground on going slow. You don't want to miss an effective dose with Luci by skipping over it. :bighug:
 
Sue, I will defer to someone more experienced in communicating effectively with vets. But please stand your ground on going slow. You don't want to miss an effective dose with Luci by skipping over it. :bighug:
Thanks! I've modified my title to hopefully attract interest - in the vet question. Hoping someone will answer soon..I thought we were doing good. Her numbers are NOT in the 300's - already an improvement! I understand from my reading that Lantus is a 'fat' based insulin - meaning it is building up in her fat - that's gotta take a little time...didn't think it would be a fast results. Why are vets always in such a hurry?

I read the conversation posted by one lady that the vet recommended insulin without further testing after the first injection! If she'd done what she was told, she would have killed her cat! The cat responded extremely well to the first shot - numbers went so low that another shot would have been 'the end' - I don't want to risk anything like that...why not continue with this dosage and test? I'll wait for members here to reply and go with their recommendations - and their suggestions for what to say - if anything - to the vet. He's really nice...but seems impatient to get that BG DOWN NOW!
 
downloadfile-20.jpg
 
Honestly, it's up to you @SueGeorgeandLuci for how you want to dose your baby. I would err on the side of caution & would not increase quickly like that. And when we do increase it's only by 0.25u at a time. When I followed my vets advice she had Merry sitting at high numbers far too long which likely caused glucose toxicity. It was only when I decided to disregard her advice & following Tight Regulation protocol that I finally started seeing results for Merry. My vet is there if I need her but she's really not in the picture now in regards to Merry's dosing. I would just tell your vet you are not comfortable increasing so soon & when you do increase you are only going to do it 0.25u at a time in order to keep Luci safe. Let him know you are following a specific protocol (whichever one you've decided on) & those are the guidelines you are going to abide by and if he's interested you can send him more details about the protocol.
 
Heidi, how did you get a 'Time" column in your SS without the colored backgrounds? I was able to add a column using the insert tab; but when I wrote 8:00 AM it turned green.

Thanks!
It was in the early days when I didn't even know which end was up, so I honestly can't say. Having the time was more important to me than the food notes column. But... @Marje and Gracie can fix it for you or tell you how. Sorry I'm not more help on this.
 
I'm trying to follow SLGS protocol. Getting her BG every 3 hours is more doable than every 2...we're still learning as we go...

I will send him that info...and try to keep him in the loop as to why I'm not going to switch her dosage again...or so quickly. Thank you for pointing me at the actual protocol. SLGS sticky. There is honestly so much info on here, I didn't remember where I'd read it...and am still trying to absorb it...
 
You are doing great, and I agree that your vet is rushing things - it's kind of the opposite of lots of vets who think kitties running in the 200s is fine and dandy!

I don't have any experience with actually "confronting" (so to speak) a vet about dosing because my vet actually always gave me free reign over it with Trix. But, I think if you just tell him that you're not comfortable with increasing her dose too quickly because you're concerned about missing the right dose for her.

Some vets are funny about the board here...some get really offended, others think it's great support and actually learn something from us! Personally I was always a little subtle about things when discussing my dosing ideas with the vet. It can be a balancing act...it's important to respect their feedback, but at the same time, you know your cat much better.

SLGS, technically, is more of a guideline than an actual protocol. It is a concept that is based on treating the cat safely, of course, but there is no "official" documentation as far as being a protocol goes. Just something to keep in mind if the vet gets a bit ruffled....
 
It was in the early days when I didn't even know which end was up, so I honestly can't say. Having the time was more important to me than the food notes column. But... @Marje and Gracie can fix it for you or tell you how. Sorry I'm not more help on this.
I KNOW exactly how you feel - that's me right now - early days...lots of new things to do and learn...no idea how to manipulate that spreadsheet... :) We'll get there...
 
You are doing great, and I agree that your vet is rushing things - it's kind of the opposite of lots of vets who think kitties running in the 200s is fine and dandy!

I don't have any experience with actually "confronting" (so to speak) a vet about dosing because my vet actually always gave me free reign over it with Trix. But, I think if you just tell him that you're not comfortable with increasing her dose too quickly because you're concerned about missing the right dose for her.

Some vets are funny about the board here...some get really offended, others think it's great support and actually learn something from us! Personally I was always a little subtle about things when discussing my dosing ideas with the vet. It can be a balancing act...it's important to respect their feedback, but at the same time, you know your cat much better.

SLGS, technically, is more of a guideline than an actual protocol. It is a concept that is based on treating the cat safely, of course, but there is no "official" documentation as far as being a protocol goes. Just something to keep in mind if the vet gets a bit ruffled....

So far, so good...he did respond to the information with this comment: -
But I am curious if you clicked on the link for diabetic ketoacidosis on the very page you sent me
so at least I know he's reading it. He doesn't seem 'ruffled' so far...but I look at it this way - he's being paid for his services as a professional. He's giving advice...if I choose not to follow his advice, well it's my dime. I still appreciate his feedback and direction in getting Luci started on Lantus - however for the fine tuning, I'm looking to this group for direction on that - I can see/read the experience of real hands on events - both bad and good - from members of this group. My vet seems like a wonderful person - genuine and caring! But I feel that he cannot take the time to become a 'Lantus expert' and the fine tuning required. I will however, check her Ketones every other morning - my back just isn't happy about lifting her big litter box and putting it away in the evenings and replacing it with the little box of plastic pills for the clean urine catch that I need the following morning for the ketostix...As soon as my back is back to normal, I can pick up that big litter box every night!

I'm sure we'll get there! Thank you!
 
Last edited:
So far, so good...he did respond to the information with this comment: But I am curious if you clicked on the link for diabetic ketoacidosis on the very page you sent me - so at least I know he's reading it. He doesn't seem 'ruffled' so far...but I look at it this way - he's being paid for his services as a professional. He's giving advice...if I choose not to follow his advice, well it's my dime. I still appreciate his feedback and direction in getting Luci started on Lantus - however for the fine tuning, I'm looking to this group for direction on that - I can see/read the experience of real hands on events - both bad and good - from members of this group. My vet seems like a wonderful person - genuine and caring! But I feel that he cannot take the time to become a 'Lantus expert' and the fine tuning required. I will however, check her Ketones every other morning - my back just isn't happy about lifting her big litter box and putting it away in the evenings and replacing it with the little box of plastic pills for the clean urine catch that I need the following morning for the ketostix...As soon as my back is back to normal, I can pick up that big litter box every night!

I'm sure we'll get there! Thank you!
Sue you don't need to check her ketones every day or even every other day with her in yellows. As long as you check periodically you're fine! Save your back for you really need it! :bighug::bighug:
 
Sue you don't need to check her ketones every day or even every other day with her in yellows. As long as you check periodically you're fine! Save your back for you really need it! :bighug::bighug:
Why is he so freaked out about that? Her ketones were high when he drew blood last Friday - but so was her BG. It was over 300...I understand it's a dangerous condition and shouldn't be allowed to continue...but feel that lower numbers and her ketostix here at home were low enough...maybe he's just being thorough? Or doubts that I'm aware of the severity of her condition???
 
Why is he so freaked out about that? Her ketones were high when he drew blood last Friday - but so was her BG. It was over 300...I understand it's a dangerous condition and shouldn't be allowed to continue...but feel that lower numbers and her ketostix here at home were low enough...maybe he's just being thorough? Or doubts that I'm aware of the severity of her condition???
Freaked because ketones are serious. But keep in mind, not freaked about hypo from too much insulin. If you're between negative and trace its my understanding you're fine. And keeping her super hydrated will help!
20180111_122517.jpg

Also fyi I have to dip Myagi strip into litter immediately after a pee. It works. Do a water test with the strip in litter first as a control. He won't let me near and wouldn't cooperate with other "pre capture" techniques. Lol
 
So I wrote back to the Vet - explaining that I had indeed read up on the Ketoacidosis article - AND that I'd purchased ketostix so I could test that as well - AND that I would continue to test - but my back injury prevents doing it nightly (and now maybe not as often as I'd said - every other night???)...glory be! One less thing to deal with around here...'whine whine whine'....

And this was his reply:
You are doing an amazing job believe me. I hope your back feels better soon.

I knew he was a nice guy! Not easily ruffled...still has our 'back' so to speak. It's great that he's only a few miles away - maybe 10-15 minutes - in case we need him...I feel really good about having such a great vet so close! And just as good about having you all to consult with during all the other times - like most of the other times...well, okay, like ALL of the time! Much love and hugs to you all...
;):bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Your vet does sound awesome...I swear I don't think some vets have ever even heard of ketones! But, I do think he is rushing the dose a bit. If you test BGs and test for ketones, you are very much on top of where Luci is.

As far as when to test for ketones goes...it's not bad to test every day at all - better safe than sorry. A diabetic cat can develop ketones at any time, no matter what their numbers are. Some cats are much more prone to ketones than others (Trix never had ketones), and those that have a history do need to be on high alert, but it never hurts to be cautious when it comes to ketones even without a history.
 
Vets just have their own style of doing things from their training and their own experiences with diabetes. That's the way your vet is used to treating diabetes. The protocol and method we use here are not sliding scale, dose increasing race type strategies. Many vets seem to run on outdated knowledge of insulins as well, older type insulins can be dosed on preshots and have daily dose changes, Lantus and Lev are depot insulins and are dosed differently becuase of this. Some vets don’t seem all that familiar with depot insulins and instruct them to be used like the older types.

I think it’s good that he’s having a dialog with you and you’ve explained you’re reading up. At the end of the day, as well meaning as he is, or people on this board are, it’s your cat and you’re going to be the one dealing with the consequences of the decisions made, rather they are the vet’s or yours.

It sounds like he is concerned with keytones, and both of you should be. I’m far from well versed with DKA, but I do know cats can have keytones even when they are not in high numbers, so it’s best you stay vigilant to test for them since the history is already there. Is Luci still showing keytones and at what level? Also, because of the DKA history, some of the SLGS guidelines can be adapted in light of that situation, but it still wouldn’t involve whole unit increases every couple of days! :facepalm:
 
Vets just have their own style of doing things from their training and their own experiences with diabetes. That's the way your vet is used to treating diabetes. The protocol and method we use here are not sliding scale, dose increasing race type strategies. Many vets seem to run on outdated knowledge of insulins as well, older type insulins can be dosed on preshots and have daily dose changes, Lantus and Lev are depot insulins and are dosed differently becuase of this. Some vets don’t seem all that familiar with depot insulins and instruct them to be used like the older types.

I think it’s good that he’s having a dialog with you and you’ve explained you’re reading up. At the end of the day, as well meaning as he is, or people on this board are, it’s your cat and you’re going to be the one dealing with the consequences of the decisions made, rather they are the vet’s or yours.

It sounds like he is concerned with keytones, and both of you should be. I’m far from well versed with DKA, but I do know cats can have keytones even when they are not in high numbers, so it’s best you stay vigilant to test for them since the history is already there. Is Luci still showing keytones and at what level? Also, because of the DKA history, some of the SLGS guidelines can be adapted in light of that situation, but it still wouldn’t involve whole unit increases every couple of days! :facepalm:

She had a 1+ ketones in her urine last Saturday - the only time we tested (at vet) and the only time I was aware of it. I tested her urine yesterday morning and it was negative - nice flat 'negative' on the stick.
I can test again tomorrow...it's just one more thing on the to-do list for the evening and morning...I'll get used to the new regimen...it's just going to take time...and then wouldn't you know it, I had to blow out my back on Sunday morning! WTF!!! Talk about the worst time to have severe back pain! So hoping that heals up soon...I'm thinking it's a bit better today - but I'm not lifting anything heavy to test it out...I can barely lift myself from a 'bend'..much less with anything like that big litter box in my arms...just not gonna happen...have to call hubby in...he was getting cross at me the other night because I had a 'list' of demands ...oh well..it is what it is...we'll get through it...
 
Sue you don't need to check her ketones every day or even every other day with her in yellows.
Not true - cats can get ketones in yellows. With possible DKA in the history, I would continue to take every opportunity you can to test for ketones as you have been doing.

I like Amy's approach with the vet. Tell him you don't feel comfortable fast tracking increases and that you are testing for ketones. As soon as any hint of ketones shows, all bets are off and you may have to be more aggressive on dose. But I would still limit increases to 0.25 units as you are seeing some nice blues. How is Luci's appetite? Is she eating well? You can buy meters that test the blood for ketones, if that's an easier option for you.
 
Wendy caught the issue about ketones happening no matter what the BG number may be.

As for approaching your vet, should you need to, what I did was walk in with the article I attached. I asked my vet if she'd seen this article because I found it very interesting and would she be willing to take a look at it and help me use the protocol with Gabby. (Gabby was on Humulin N and we both agreed that this insulin -- which the ICU vet started her on -- was not a good choice and she started Gabby on Lantus.) The next time we had a vet visit, she proceeded to tell me all about this Tight Regulation Protocol she read and she though Gabby would do well on it. I burst out laughing and reminded her I'd given her the article and I'd already started using the protocol.

Not all vets are "delighted" to have someone bring in a journal article let alone have someone who can access vet journals. And not all vets subscribe to tight regulation.

I realize you're following SLGS and it doesn't have a grounding in experimental research. However,TR does go slower than what your vet was suggesting so it's a way to get his attention. Many times, with a vet or an MD, I will kill them with questions and an armload of research. (I have access to a university health sciences library and we have both a medical and vet school.) It can be a little disconcerting if you start asking questions or know things they don't expect you to know. Most of the time, they don't get defensive. A good professional will be happy you're taking an interest and doing homework.

 

Attachments

Not true - cats can get ketones in yellows. With possible DKA in the history, I would continue to take every opportunity you can to test for ketones as you have been doing.

I like Amy's approach with the vet. Tell him you don't feel comfortable fast tracking increases and that you are testing for ketones. As soon as any hint of ketones shows, all bets are off and you may have to be more aggressive on dose. But I would still limit increases to 0.25 units as you are seeing some nice blues. How is Luci's appetite? Is she eating well? You can buy meters that test the blood for ketones, if that's an easier option for you.
I’m glad Wendy caught this. I’ve seen cats in green get ketones and DKA.

@SueGeorgeandLuci If you need help with the SS, please PM me.
@SueGeorgeandLuci
My apologies for the serious misinformation. That was my understanding and while as a newbie i try to do a good job of not giving advice but only support, i felt comfortable that'd I learned that. I was incorrect and I'm sorry for misleading you that you could test for ketones less frequently. Please remember that i did not say don't test, merely that it could be less often. :confused:
 
@SueGeorgeandLuci
My apologies for the serious misinformation. That was my understanding and while as a newbie i try to do a good job of not giving advice but only support, i felt comfortable that'd I learned that. I was incorrect and I'm sorry for misleading you that you could test for ketones less frequently. Please remember that i did not say don't test, merely that it could be less often. :confused:
No worries! I try to weigh everything - information wise. I don't feel like you told me what to do in any case. We're all learning here...

So for tonight, we've got the plastic lined box in place to do clean catch in the a.m. - and hope for the best. Her number is high tonight...I'm keeping my fingers crossed as we go into the weekend that we'll start to see a decline next week; after we have 7 days under our belts...and we can only take this one day at a time. When the time is right to increase the dosage by .25 - I'll be asking - and waiting for direction from members here...I would have been giving 2 units if I'd taken direction from the Vet...so we're going to figure this out low and slow...and hope for the best outcome. I'm printing the article so I can read it and maybe share with the vet as well - when the time comes.

Thank you for all your support! It's so good to know you're there and watching out for us :)
 
Wendy caught the issue about ketones happening no matter what the BG number may be.

As for approaching your vet, should you need to, what I did was walk in with the article I attached. I asked my vet if she'd seen this article because I found it very interesting and would she be willing to take a look at it and help me use the protocol with Gabby. (Gabby was on Humulin N and we both agreed that this insulin -- which the ICU vet started her on -- was not a good choice and she started Gabby on Lantus.) The next time we had a vet visit, she proceeded to tell me all about this Tight Regulation Protocol she read and she though Gabby would do well on it. I burst out laughing and reminded her I'd given her the article and I'd already started using the protocol.

Not all vets are "delighted" to have someone bring in a journal article let alone have someone who can access vet journals. And not all vets subscribe to tight regulation.

I realize you're following SLGS and it doesn't have a grounding in experimental research. However,TR does go slower than what your vet was suggesting so it's a way to get his attention. Many times, with a vet or an MD, I will kill them with questions and an armload of research. (I have access to a university health sciences library and we have both a medical and vet school.) It can be a little disconcerting if you start asking questions or know things they don't expect you to know. Most of the time, they don't get defensive. A good professional will be happy you're taking an interest and doing homework.
Thank you for the information and attached article! I'll read and try to absorb as much as possible - and then maybe share with the vet.
 
Sue, do you have someone else that can do the ketone test for you? Or maybe just test your kitty when he or she is in midstream. I catch mine that way as he pees so long. Or I dip the stick in immediately after he pees.

Or you can just get the ketone meter & test with blood like you do with glucose?
Adw diabetes has a special where you get meter free when u buy strips.
That is much easier but a little more expensive. But works while ur back is healing.
Hugs
 
Last edited:
Sue, do you have someone else that can do the ketone test for you? Or maybe just test your kitty when he or she is in midstream. I catch mine that way as he pees so long. Or I dip the stick in immediately after he pees.

Or you can just get the ketone meter & test with blood like you do with glucose?
Adw diabetes has a special where you get meter free when u buy strips.
That is much easier but a little more expensive. But works while ur back is healing.
Hugs

We're ok with the second liter pan - for plastic pellets only; the only issue with that method right now is my back (recent and hopefully healing?) My hubby can get her big litter box put away at night; Is there a problem with the ketostix that I purchased this week?

There's no way Luci is going to let me near her while she's squatted in her box...nor could I hang there bent at that angle trying to get a stick under her hind quarters ...

Thanks for your suggestions though - all excellent ...I'm more of the problem here than Luci, I think :(
 
@SueGeorgeandLuci
My apologies for the serious misinformation. That was my understanding and while as a newbie i try to do a good job of not giving advice but only support, i felt comfortable that'd I learned that. I was incorrect and I'm sorry for misleading you that you could test for ketones less frequently. Please remember that i did not say don't test, merely that it could be less often. :confused:

Hey there - that's precisely why we have peer reviews. Our advice is given on an open forum, so somebody can catch an error. I's happened to me, and I felt bad, too. :(:banghead:
 
We're ok with the second liter pan - for plastic pellets only; the only issue with that method right now is my back (recent and hopefully healing?) My hubby can get her big litter box put away at night; Is there a problem with the ketostix that I purchased this week?

There's no way Luci is going to let me near her while she's squatted in her box...nor could I hang there bent at that angle trying to get a stick under her hind quarters ...

Thanks for your suggestions though - all excellent ...I'm more of the problem here than Luci, I think :(

Lol. I hear ya! I have had various issues and had back issues for years from a car accident. Did you see that you can get a ketone meter?
You could always use that when your having harder days as the strips are more expensive than the glucose strips.
Hope you feel better soon.
I know winter doesnt help.
 
Lol. I hear ya! I have had various issues and had back issues for years from a car accident. Did you see that you can get a ketone meter?
You could always use that when your having harder days as the strips are more expensive than the glucose strips.
Hope you feel better soon.
I know winter doesnt help.

Thanks for your suggestion - I'm doing ok with the keto strips so far, so good. Another NEG result on her urine this morning - she seems to be getting used to peeing on the plastic pills!

As for my back - what misery! And I can't even use winter as an excuse. We're in Naples, Florida for the winter - so the weather is pretty nice here - no snow/ice to deal with. It's a little cool right - now but it's sunny and beautiful - the 60's temps don't bother me a bit :) However, it's been a week now with my back - guess I'm going to have to find a people doctor - dread that process. Have asked for some recommendations from people I know - so I'll have to see how long before I can get an appointment. I was kinda hoping that it would get better with time, rest, Motrin and the heating pad...but not so much...bummer. Can't go to the beach like this... :(
 
Thanks for your suggestion - I'm doing ok with the keto strips so far, so good. Another NEG result on her urine this morning - she seems to be getting used to peeing on the plastic pills!

As for my back - what misery! And I can't even use winter as an excuse. We're in Naples, Florida for the winter - so the weather is pretty nice here - no snow/ice to deal with. It's a little cool right - now but it's sunny and beautiful - the 60's temps don't bother me a bit :) However, it's been a week now with my back - guess I'm going to have to find a people doctor - dread that process. Have asked for some recommendations from people I know - so I'll have to see how long before I can get an appointment. I was kinda hoping that it would get better with time, rest, Motrin and the heating pad...but not so much...bummer. Can't go to the beach like this... :(

Good on kitty.
Yeah sucks to have to go to docs but sometimes ya gotta do it. Do research on your condition. Many times there is an association for that condition that may have great suggestions that the local docs dont always have. Good luck. Hope your both better asap!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top