1-11-20 Chaz amps 363

Kelly & Chaz

Member Since 2019
Need advice. Just over a month in on Lantus, SLGS method. Had blues and greens early on and thru the month, and a decent curve on 1/3. His numbers seem to creep up after some time at a particular dose. I’ve done two increases, from .50 to .75., to now 1U a few days ago. Everything else has been very consistent - diet - 4-5 small meals of FF classics a day, shots at 12 hour mark. I do sprinkle in a bit of generic miralax once a day, that’s it. He seems ok, appetite is good,
plays, etc. what’s going on with my sweet boys’ numbers?
 
Just wondering if anyone had a chance to take a look at our SS? After an all time high reading amps, Chaz went into the green for awhile today. Then borderline for pmps - I hate to skip, so I reduced down to .75 again. Will check him a few times tonight. Anyone have any thoughts ?
 
Sorry no one was by earlier Kelly. Sometimes the weekends are quieter. It’ll help get eyes on you if you use the “?” Prefix on the subject line, and add something like “dose help”, so people know you are looking for comments on the dose.

Which, by the way, you did exactly the right thing per SLGS by reducing back to 0.75 units. Good job catching those greens today. As for AMPS, sometimes as cats are breaking a bounce, they will do a high before the low.
 
Sorry no one was by earlier Kelly. Sometimes the weekends are quieter. It’ll help get eyes on you if you use the “?” Prefix on the subject line, and add something like “dose help”, so people know you are looking for comments on the dose.

Which, by the way, you did exactly the right thing per SLGS by reducing back to 0.75 units. Good job catching those greens today. As for AMPS, sometimes as cats are breaking a bounce, they will do a high before the low.
Thank you for responding Wendy, I just now saw that you did. I am in a quandary about dosing. I’m worried maybe he’s getting too much now, since his numbers seem to have gotten worse with 2 small dose increases. We are at 1 u 2x day for a few days now, and he’s back up in the 300s and doesn’t seem to be feeling well, although still eating ok. I recall Chris saying that sometimes too much insulin can look like not enough - at this dosage, is that a possibility here? He’s going higher at night regularly.
 
Please go back to 0.75 units. That 74 on the 11th earned him a 0.25 unit reduction if using SLGS.

I recall Chris saying that sometimes too much insulin can look like not enough - at this dosage, is that a possibility here?
No, he has earned a dose reduction via SLGS. If you were following TR for dosing you would stay at 1.0 unit, but you aren't so it's time to reduce. 1.0 unit is not too much insulin, just too high for the dosing method you are following.

Side note, I wish people would stop saying too much can look like too little. You started at a safe dose, and have been testing enough to know how low the dose is taking him. If you had started at something like 5 units, then maybe you would be getting higher numbers, but if you test enough in that situation, you also see the lows that tells you the dose would have been too high. It is very rare that we see too high numbers looking like too little.
 
Please go back to 0.75 units. That 74 on the 11th earned him a 0.25 unit reduction if using SLGS.


No, he has earned a dose reduction via SLGS. If you were following TR for dosing you would stay at 1.0 unit, but you aren't so it's time to reduce. 1.0 unit is not too much insulin, just too high for the dosing method you are following.

Side note, I wish people would stop saying too much can look like too little. You started at a safe dose, and have been testing enough to know how low the dose is taking him. If you had started at something like 5 units, then maybe you would be getting higher numbers, but if you test enough in that situation, you also see the lows that tells you the dose would have been too high. It is very rare that we see too high numbers looking like too little.
I have read and reread the dosing guidance on the sticky note, and just when I think I have it........

I’ll drop him back down to .75 tonight, but if his numbers stay steady in the 300s, how long do I wait to increase again? And thank you again for the help.
 
Back
Top