1/11/14 Jerry AMPS 97 (Update)

Status
Not open for further replies.

HappyCat

Member Since 2013
Not very often do I get full evidence of kitty shenanigans but I did yesterday with both NADIRs above pre-shot readings.
AMPS 105 +5 112 PMPS 87 + 5 126
I've always wondered why that happens so I'll find out if history does in fact repeat itself and if I'm still learning more all the time. It seems any time I get suspicious of him he does end up earning a reduction. Those higher than pre-shot NADIRs make me suspicious and have been happening before his reductions. Good for him if he keeps getting reductions I just hope it goes smoothly. Have been working on trying to shave his dose to so he's probably ready. Always a proud moment when there's human-kitty bonding enough that you can accurately predict them. He has a wonderful kitty guardian angel on his side to help him with such fabulous results!
But in the spirit of being a cat he couldn't have picked a more inopportune time for crazy numbers. Imagine that! :lol:
I had such a duh moment at the store the other day, I had never noticed that Wal-Mart's Special Kitty is so affordable so I decided to give that a try. I need to look into nutritional information on it for him to see if it's good long term, but first came the taste test to see if it was an option and he seemed to enjoy it. He just made that switch in his AMPS today so I was expecting some wild numbers maybe with new food if it wasn't as good but as always he had to keep me on my toes. He is certainly a special kitty though so hopefully it works out. Will update his signature if it sticks otherwise it's in his spreadsheet. Wish us luck with that and hopefully a safe reduction! :mrgreen:
 
Hi Sarah! Very observant of you to notice that the nadirs higher than the preshot often precedes a dose decrease. that's what we call an "inverted curve" or upside down curve.

It does look like Jerry is ready for a dose decrease. When you see a week of numbers all under 120, it's time to try to decrease the dose and see if he holds the good numbers. I'd go to 0.5u if I were you.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

If we don't notice the 129, he's had 10 days of numbers under 120. even if we count that 129, he's still had 7 days in normal numbers.
 
Good luck with the reducie when you decide to take it :-D That's a beautiful AMPS for Jerry! Nice and green. Hope you're having a good Caturday!
 
Jerry's looking great! Like Julie said, it's time to reduce his dose.

You might want to post on Health to see if anyone has the %-carbs for Special Kitty.
 
Thanks for all the support guys! :mrgreen:
We did go ahead and do a dose decrease for his PM shot the 11th. We had 2 full days in a row of off numbers.
His final 11th readings: AMPS 97 +5 103 PMPS 106 +6 146
The 146 was his dose decrease NADIR but I'm not going to take it to heart because it's still higher than his preshot.
Today so far he's turned things around just enough, AMPS 119 +6 115. PM shot coming up here very shortly and hoping we'll finish out the day strong and have great results now and ongoing.
We're very happy to have hopefully made the connection to bring him down safely. Grateful for that suddenly occurring to me and the back up of my helpers. Now I'm bouncing off the walls with excitement because we're down to .50 units so only 2 more reductions to go!!! :mrgreen: Better late than never in figuring him out, I know he forgives me.
About all other news I have to report is I've decided against the Special Kitty pate. He's about the only kitty who doesn't turn their nose to it and I've decided with him being so close I didn't want to change things this late in the game. Good to know there's options in general and in remission which we're hoping is coming up for the happy guy.
Thanks as always for the help and keep the good luck coming our way it's doing wonders! :-D
 
might be more than good luck that's helping him have such a pretty looking spreadsheet! don't sell yourself short, sarah, you're doing the hard work. :mrgreen:

probably a smart idea to not rock his food boat at this point. you've got things working smoothly right now - keep it up!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top