1/10 Wesson AMPS=399 +3=324 +4=237 +5=112 +6=39 +7=160 +8=303

What food did you give at that 48, and how much? I'd track in on the spreadsheet remarks so you know how much food works for next time. A bump to 86 is a good amount. I'd keep an eye on him for a couple hours after any high carb food.

Looks like another reduction earned too. :D
 
What food did you give at that 48, and how much? I'd track in on the spreadsheet remarks so you know how much food works for next time. A bump to 86 is a good amount. I'd keep an eye on him for a couple hours after any high carb food.

Looks like another reduction earned too. :D

He actually got lower than that and hit 39. I gave him a FF gravy 13%. I will note it on the SS.
 
Yikes on the 39! You could have gone higher than 13% carbs with that. I did HC or karo/syrup below 40.
 
Ouch on the 180. I guess next time you can ease off the quantity of HC/karo. At least he's safe now.
 
I don't suppose you were able to get a test on a meter to verify the lower numbers?
Congrats on the reduction! :)

Yes and I have found the Libre to be very close and sometimes higher than the human meter after the first 24 hrs. There is a lag between the blood and fluid, so not sure if one or the other is wrong, it just measures different things. The only exception to that is in the first 24 hours. It's about 20-50 off at first. I have read that is due to needing to soak into the fluid and that is why the number is unreliable at first.

So, I sent all of Wesson's Libre data to the vet and she called me today. She was very concerned about his low numbers and said she believes he could be in remission. She advised to drop his dose to 1U and to monitor for a week. She does not want to see numbers under 90 going forward. I am gong to try what she suggests and see what happens. If we need to increase again, we can.
 
Yes, it does look like there is some pancreatic healing going on. That means Wesson is possibly heading towards remission, but not there yet. And it's even too early to say for sure whether he'll reach remission. Far too many high numbers on his SS for that. It's not time to drop the dose to 1.0 unit yet via our dosing methods. Put a note in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet, so people know why you did such a big decrease and don't keep asking you. If you want to move to a reduction point of 90, that sounds like your vet wants you to follow SLGS instead of TR. Just update your signature so people know you have switched dosing methods.

Best of luck with the new dose, I hope he doesn't stay high.
 
Yes, it does look like there is some pancreatic healing going on. That means Wesson is possibly heading towards remission, but not there yet. And it's even too early to say for sure whether he'll reach remission. Far too many high numbers on his SS for that. It's not time to drop the dose to 1.0 unit yet via our dosing methods. Put a note in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet, so people know why you did such a big decrease and don't keep asking you. If you want to move to a reduction point of 90, that sounds like your vet wants you to follow SLGS instead of TR. Just update your signature so people know you have switched dosing methods.

Best of luck with the new dose, I hope he doesn't stay high.

I don't believe he is there yet either, but if he is headed there, that would be amazing! But, I am not even sure if remission is the goal at this point. I just want him to have as normal of a cat life as possible. The vet said cats do not have to be regulated like people. They can do just fine if you can keep them above 90 and under 300. I don't think I am cut out for dealing with these lows everyday. I will switch the SS to SLGS and we'll see how it all goes. Wish us luck :)
 
I know low numbers are scary, but if some aggressive dosing and late nights yield remission, isn't that the most normal life he can lead? The chances of a cat going into remission are best when they are treated soon after diagnosis.

Anyway, good luck with trying 1U. We are around if you have any questions! :-)
 
I know low numbers are scary, but if some aggressive dosing and late nights yield remission, isn't that the most normal life he can lead? The chances of a cat going into remission are best when they are treated soon after diagnosis.

Anyway, good luck with trying 1U. We are around if you have any questions! :)

Absolutely remission is best, but aren't these low numbers putting his life in jeopardy? And do you see he is moving towards remission? And do we ignore the vet? She is very concerned about the numbers she saw.
 
Absolutely remission is best, but aren't these low numbers putting his life in jeopardy? And do you see he is moving towards remission? And do we ignore the vet? She is very concerned about the numbers she saw.
You are not putting his life in jeopardy. Not when you are monitoring him and bringing him up quickly with food.

Like Wendy said, him going down the dosing ladder show that his pancreas his healing. Cats have the unique ability to have the pancreas heal and resume working, but to do that, it needs rest. Giving him enough insulin to keep him in normal numbers for as long as possible, enables the pancreas to do just that. It's possible he will go into remission, but it's too early to say. When we had this discussion on remission in a previous condo, we shared a spreadsheet of a cat that went down systematically in dosing to as little as one drop and then OTJ. I would suggest you take a look at the spreadsheets of cats that have gone into remission and see what their numbers look like.

My personal experience with vets, as well as what I have seen from others' experiences on here has been that vets don't know a whole lot about FD. To put your mind at rest, try what the vet suggests. It's possible 1U may be enough for Wesson and he may even go down in dosing from there. Or he may need a dose between 1U and 1.5U and then resume his descent down the dosing ladder. Some lucky cats go into remission despite their vets. LOL.

If he were my cat, I would stick to TR and go down 0.25U at a time. But I have realized this after 2 years of being here and seeing so many cats. Not trying to pressurize you, so I apologize if I come across as pushy! :)
 
Last edited:
You are not putting his life in jeopardy. Not when you are monitoring him and bringing him up quickly with food.

Like Wendy said, him going down the dosing ladder show that his pancreas his healing. Cats have the unique ability to have the pancreas heal and resume working, but to do that, it needs rest. Giving him enough insulin to keep him in normal numbers for as long as possible enables the pancrease to do just that. It's possible he will go inot remission, but it's too early to say. When we had this discussion on remission in a previous condo, we shared a spreadsheet of a cat that went down systematically in dosing to as little as one drop and then OTJ. I would suggest you take a look at the spreadsheets of cats that have gone into remission and see what their numbers look like.

My personal experience with vets, as well as what I have seen from other's experiences on here has been that vets don't know a whole lot about FD. To put your mind at rest, try what the vet suggests. It's possible 1U may be enough for Wesson and he may even go down in dosing from there. Or he may need a dose between 1U and 1.5U and then resume his descent down the dosing ladder. Some lucky cats go into remission depsite their vets. LOL.

If he were my cat, I would stick to TR and go down 0.25U at a time. But I have realized this after 2 years of being here and seeing so many cats. Not trying to pressurize you, so I apologize if I come across as pushy! :)

I am just trying to do the best for my cat. It's so hard having conflicting information. The vet does seem very knowledgeable about FD, but I agree that she probably does not see near the amount of cats that you see here. I already shot the 1U for the PM shot, so I will see how this goes for a few days and then move back up if needed. Then the vet will be happy and my mind will be at ease.

And you did not come across as pushy. I understand where you are coming from. It's different when you have been doing this a long time, you have seen alot and you are not emotionally attached. I am trying to work through this, but I need to give myself some grace too. This is hard.
 
Back
Top