1/10 Uncle AMPS 181, PMPS 192, +2 115, +3 72, +4 58, +4.5 62, +5 65, +6 82

Status
Not open for further replies.
Does this look like a failed reduction or too soon to tell? I'm okay with it either way, I just don't know enough to tell and don't want to waste time having Uncle in higher numbers than he needs to be.
 
It's a bit early to tell yet. We want to see if he's cleared the bounce from the low on the 8th. It looks to me like he takes maybe 4 cycles to clear a bounce, so I'd wait to see what he does tonight. The other thing is sometimes flat blue preceeds an interesting cycle. He was pretty flat today.:cool:
 
It's a bit early to tell yet. We want to see if he's cleared the bounce from the low on the 8th. It looks to me like he takes maybe 4 cycles to clear a bounce, so I'd wait to see what he does tonight. The other thing is sometimes flat blue preceeds an interesting cycle. He was pretty flat today.:cool:
Well, his +2 is 115!
 
Taffy is having a bounce, but of course I am still up anyhow!! Just checking in on the PJ parties. When are you testing again?
 
Taffy is having a bounce, but of course I am still up anyhow!! Just checking in on the PJ parties. When are you testing again?
That's crazy, you gotta grab that sleep when you can with FD cats in the house!
I just tested about 25 minutes ago (+3) and was thinking to wait for +4 before testing again. Fingers crossed he doesn't drop really fast between now and then.
 
I know I'm annoyed that I am wide awake...just my occasional insomnia, and I'm paranoid bcuz Taffy likes big surprises!! I just did a spot check, just to make sure he was bouncing (he is).
I hope Uncle cooperates and lets you and Wendy go to bed soon!! Oh, and Tricia...I see you came over after the other party ended!!!
 
Ah Ha, I didn't see you on the forum list. I was thinking maybe I would have to ride without the training wheels on!
It's a drag that I've had so many sleep deprived nights the last few days, but I feel grateful that Uncle is making progress. 3 drops of insulin!
I'm going to test in 15 minutes
 
We really want to keep him from earning a reduction, Barbara. He's not ready for a trial. Are you feeding him 9% normally? If not, what percentage is he getting? You might need to start feeding him a slightly higher percentage so we can safely keep him on insulin long enough to get his numbers consistently down where they should be for an OTJ trial.
 
His normal food is Darwin's raw. I'm not exactly sure what the carb content but I know it is VERY low
Somehow, I just knew you were going to tell me that. We need to find out how we can raise the carb percentage. His numbers don't warrant a trial, even if he earns a reduction tonight. We don't want to start him on one and have it fail. I never got my kitties to eat raw, so I don't know a lot about it. Let me see if I can get someone who does to respond in the morning. It's helpful that you shoot late, so that gives us time to get some feedback. BRB.
 
I wrote the email but won't hit send until we see whether or not we can hold him back tonight. I asked if there was a way to do it without using canned food. I'll send the email either way, but wanted to wait to have up to date info.
 
I wrote the email but won't hit send until we see whether or not we can hold him back tonight. I asked if there was a way to do it without using canned food. I'll send the email either way, but wanted to wait to have up to date info.
That sounds great. Thank you! Honestly, if I have to feed canned food I will do it. I will do whatever is best for Uncle.
Since he is getting 3 drops, I still have a little more to go before he is totally OTJ. I don't know how that factors in.
 
Wow Uncle! Now that was a drop for you and just when you thought it was a failed reduction.:rolleyes:

I feed Bubba raw for 1/2 of his meals a day ( he eats 8 mini meals) and the other 1/2 of those meals I give him Nature's Variety, Rabbit 5.7 % carbs and Venison , 3.5 carbs. I used to give him FF Classics but after he had a bad GI event, I switched to the NV and started giving him some novel proteins.

The Darwin's raw Duck 6.0 %, turkey 3.1 %, Chicken 3.0% just to give you an idea of carb %

The reason I do raw and canned is so that I can steer with higher carb food if I need to and also so if I run out of one or the other he'll have something that he will eat ( actually, Bubba eats anything) and so that if I need someone to feed him for me while I am away, there are those peeps who are really grossed out by handling raw meat.

Uncle is on a mission! Hope you can get some sleep today.
 
Wow Uncle! Now that was a drop for you and just when you thought it was a failed reduction.:rolleyes:

I feed Bubba raw for 1/2 of his meals a day ( he eats 8 mini meals) and the other 1/2 of those meals I give him Nature's Variety, Rabbit 5.7 % carbs and Venison , 3.5 carbs. I used to give him FF Classics but after he had a bad GI event, I switched to the NV and started giving him some novel proteins.

The Darwin's raw Duck 6.0 %, turkey 3.1 %, Chicken 3.0% just to give you an idea of carb %

The reason I do raw and canned is so that I can steer with higher carb food if I need to and also so if I run out of one or the other he'll have something that he will eat ( actually, Bubba eats anything) and so that if I need someone to feed him for me while I am away, there are those peeps who are really grossed out by handling raw meat.

Uncle is on a mission! Hope you can get some sleep today.
Hi Bobbie, thanks for all the info on Darwin's carb content. I had run into conflicting info on it so I wasn't ever sure! Sounds like the NV Rabbit and Darwin's Duck are good options for getting Uncle some higher carbs. I know what you mean about people being grossed out by handling raw meat. I still am and I've been doing it for 8 years! I've been a vegetarian all for 44 years. I take all food bowls etc into the basement and wash them in the utility sink. It's a bit of a hassle for a housesitter. Good idea to have canned food on board.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top